We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 Hart Street
Nearby Hotels
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$267
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$111
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$248
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$276
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$159
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$653
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveler rating
854
39
1
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
854
39
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostscomplimentary winequiet streethosts james and angelawithin walking distancebreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfastfriendly hostsyogurtgeorgian houseeach morningroyal miletrain stationmodern bathroompower showera wonderful stayshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 899 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

14 Hart Street is fantastic!

The location is great and the rooms are both beautiful and comfortable. Breakfasts are delicious and abundant, and James and Angela are wonderful hosts - nothing was too much trouble.

I look forward to returning soon and will be encouraging my friends to do the same!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Simply put, it was the absolute best Bed and Breakfast experience we have ever had. All the small details makes one feel welcome and comfortable.

The hosts are very kind and knowledgeable. We felt at ease at once when we arrived.
The room had several guide books and the hosts can provide local insights and suggestions
if asked.

Architectural details are abundant within the home. We only see details like the curves doors and woodwork in the breakfast room in older homes. Also, everywhere you look there is artwork and prints. When you are not actually out and about exploring Edinburgh, one still has the ambiance of foreign adventure around you.

The rooms are exceptionally comfortable, quiet, lovingly detailed and clean. Simply look at all the pictures previous guests have posted here and you will see what I mean. It certainly helped me decide this was the place to be.

The breakfast provided is sumptuous and tasty. Soon, with the other guests, you experience the bonhomie feel like old friends.

As an aside, around the corner are several pubs. One pub has live music every Sunday night. Quiz night is Monday's. Not all travel should be spent always looking at the long dead or another tchotchke shoppe. No. There is a world of experiences out there, all you have to do is let it in.

We have already highly recommended 14 Hart street to friends and family upon our return to the states.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We visited Edinburgh in order to celebrate my wife's 30th and wanted somewhere central with an air of luxury, comfort and personality - and 14 Hart Street delivered on all fronts. I had high expectations and they were exceeded by our stay. James and Angela are, as previous reviews have stated, fantastic hosts - approachable, attentive, forthcoming with recommendations when asked, but also considerate enough to leave you to your own devices when you feel the need to pass out after a long day (or 'sleeper' train). The rooms were warm, inviting and very comfortably furnished, the breakfasts delicious and cooked to order and the location was ideal for exploring the city. If and when we return to Edinburgh, we won't consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MTParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our first visit to 14 Hart Street and we thought it was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in.

Great location, great rooms, delicious breakfast and James and Angela were excellent hosts. They were more than helpful with anything we asked and nothing was too much trouble. When we asked about printing our boarding passes for an onward flight to Orkney they bent over backwards to help us.

We would stay again without hesitation and would advise anybody going to Edinburgh to do the same.

Olive Branch Bistro (one min walk away) is also excellent.

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay Diane and Norman/Sue and Dave

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinormhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Exactly a year since our last visit to Edinburgh and we had no hesitation in returning to 14 Hart Street.
I found the high standard and comfort of the accommodation was just as I remembered. We received a really warm welcome from our hosts James and Angela and immediately felt at home and ready to start our break.
The location of this house is so central and convenient for just about everything. Being just off Broughton Street, which is almost like a village within Edinburgh, we found ourselves drawn back there after our day of sightseeing and shopping to have something to eat or drink in one of the many nice bars and restaurants. Then it was only a short stroll back to Hart Street for our night cap of Scottish Whisky, compliments of our hosts.
I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone visiting family/friends or on a city break and am looking forward to returning again. It is a Gem!
Marion

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marionmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews