We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back again”
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Ranked #1 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We'll be back again”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Location is superb, walking distance to the main attractions. You feel instantly at home, as if you've stayed there many times, although it's your first. And you want to come again, as one wants to revisit old friends. Angela and James are attentive and their advice and tips were tailored to our needs and taste. Our room was cosy, breakfast was superb, and at Angela's advice, we ate at the Conan Doyle Pub, which was a real treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KorenNegev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
96
559
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I just returned from a fabulous week at 14 Hart Street and cannot say enough good things about it! It’s an elegant and beautifully appointed townhouse B&B with warm and welcoming hosts, James and Angela, who go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful experience when visiting their lovely city. I totally fell in love with this place! My room was spacious, comfortable, and warm during the cold and snowy weather. There was lots of hot water in the shower, and breakfast was served at my convenience with a wide range of healthy and delicious choices. It’s an easy walk from Waverley train station and short distance to the tourist sites in Old Town and to the shopping and restaurants in New Town. The tray of Scotch whiskey, bottle of wine and crystal glasses in the room is a lovely and classy touch. I’ve definitely found my place to stay in Edinburgh and I can’t wait to go back! Thank you, James and Angela, for such a lovely time. Your home is simply exquisite!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFBorderCollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greta Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed recently with my partners mother on a short break to Edinburgh.

From the moment James opened the door of this magnificent house, we knew we were in somewhere special! James's hospitality was second to none, not only were we shown to two spotlessly clean rooms, he went out of his way to understand what we wanted from our visit and how he could help us make the most of the 2 days we had.

The complimentary whiskey was especially appreciated, helping to counteract the cold but bright weather! Breakfast was served when we wanted, with no time pressure and was cooked to order by James to a a very high standard.

As we had a late train on the day of departure, there was no problem leaving our cases to collect later allowing us to enjoy another full day in this lovely city.

14 Hart Street is conveniently placed for exploring the city, being only five minutes walk from John Lewis and the end of Princess Street.

We met Angela on our final day, as she continues to work as a teacher, and just like James went out of her way to make sure we had had a good time.

Sometimes you are disappointed that places do not live up to their reputation, Angela and James absolutely do every thing they can to exceed your expectations . 482 out of 509 excellent reviews speak for themselves. We can not recommend 14 Hart Street highly enough and wish both James and Angela continued success with their family run business.

Roger, Louise & Brenda

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneybagel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Absolutely adorable bed and breakfast right in the centre of Edinburgh City centre.
We stayed there for the big rugby weekend-Scotland V Wales and what a wonderful
surprise we had.Angela and James are charming hosts-nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are lovely and cosy and spotlessly clean and warm.Breakfast was superb
James cooks wonderfully and there is a selection of delicious fruits and jams and cereals.
Heaven...!!
My husband and I would both rate it 10/10 and would love to stay there again...
Book it you won't be disappointed!!
Thank you for a memorable stay Angela and James...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Once again a warm welcome and fabulous stay in Angela & James beautiful home we visited last weekend for my husbands birthday.
The room and bed so comfy, peaceful (no traffic noise at all) best shower ever !!! Hospitality tray with decanter of whisky & bottle of wine, shortbread was a touch of class. James's breakfast was delicious and hearty. The large dining room table and delightful conversation over breakfast with the other guests was a joy!!! Location so central a stones through from Princes STreet, the Old Town, The Station , The Playhouse (very close) and the excellent 80's night club just round the corner on Queen STreet called the Jamhouse topped our stay nicely. We would look no further when visiting Edinburgh, this is THE place to stay !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Angela and James - we salute you! Your home turned B&B is simply stunning. I stayed here with my fiance for just one night for a friend's wedding and it was the epitomy of bliss. We only wished that we were able to stay for longer. Much more than just a home from home. Our bedroom was beautifully furnished and carefully decorated. Our friend staying in the next door bedroom claimed "this is the best B&B i have ever stayed in" and "the best shower I have ever taken"!! Breakfast for our sore heads the next day was delicious and hearty. Thank you so much for your fantastic hosting Angela and James. Rest assured - we will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateos44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a short but very sweet stay in 14 Hart Street last week and since our return we have been urging everyone we know to go and stay there! Everything about this place is wonderful, but the memory which will linger longest is the warm welcome and hospitality of the hosts, Angela and James. We took the sleeper train from London so arrived in Edinburgh very early in the morning, but they invited us to drop off our bags and pick up a key, and also gave us a map and recommended some lovely places to visit. The location is great for exploring the city by foot, it's only a ten minute walk from the main station and is in a great part of town. Our room was large & spacious with beautiful furnishings, interesting artwork & antiques, the most comfortable bed in the world and a fabulous bathroom. A lovely touch is the complimentary wine and mini decanter of whisky in the room - very much appreciated after a long day's walking up and down the hills of Edinburgh! Breakfast was excellent, the delicious freshly prepared food served around a big table in the gorgeous dining room set us up perfectly for our second day of exploring the hills. The hosts are genuinely lovely people and truly excel at what they do - they really made an effort to ensure we enjoyed our time at their B+B and in Edinburgh, and we can't wait to go back! Thank you so much for everything Angela and James! - Jenny & Chris

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
473 reviews
23 Mayfield
#4 of 392 in Edinburgh
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing