We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Hosts with an outstanding location”
Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #3 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our recent four day stay at 14 Hart Street was outstanding. Gracious hosts and an outstanding location make this the perfect B&B when visiting Edinburgh and touring the surounding area. Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 879 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at #14 or two nights. Lovely location slightly off the chaos of the main part of Edinburgh. Very comfortable bed and room with ensuite bath. Lovely hosts, excellent breakfast. Would not hesitate to stay again!

Cathy & Mike

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kimmielou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at 14 Hart St for 4 nights in September and had a wonderful time. Rooms were decorated beautifully and very comfortable. Decent shower was also a bonus! James and Angela were very welcoming hosts, and the breakfast was lovely.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again if we were in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This historic property is well located not 10 mins walk from the true heart of Edinburgh. From the moment we arrived our hosts, James and Angela, made us feel completely at home and very welcome. They provided a wonderful bed, endless hot water, the classic Scottish breakfast and lots of good local advice. What more could you ask for? Clearly the perfect base from which to explore and enjoy Edinburgh.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Friendly and helpful owners Angela and James. Lovely room, in basement but with ground level view of garden. Small but well appointed shower room and everywhere very clean. Large comfortable bed, period furniture and many interesting old prints on walls. Would certainly come back and would recommend to others. Delicious breakfasts too! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were in Edinburgh for a conference and sightseeing for 8 days. The location is excellent for the seven bus lines that cross York Place, getting to and from attractions and restaurants was easy, especially with the seven-day bus pass we purchased initially. The house is appointed beautifully, antiques and prints abound. Breakfast was generous, whether you like hot dishes to start the day, or, like my wife, can't get enough of the varied fresh berries to accompany her yogurt. Our room looked out onto a garden, the bathroom was newly renovated, there was a "wee dram", coffee, tea, and wine in the room. A chest of drawers would have been useful. Our host, James, was as gracious and helpful as could be. Our last day's excursion out of town was his suggestion and worked out superbly, especially since the railway station is an easy walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nollik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights here -- a great choice for lots of reasons. As noted by many, James and Angela are wonderful hosts, and extremely helpful. The room was beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were great. The location is convenient -- a 10-15 minute walk to the Royal Mile, etc. Edinburgh is a wonderful city. We would stay here again in a second!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 Mayfield
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 394 in Edinburgh
856 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $638 - $813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing