We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of 14 Hart Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
14 Hart Street
Ranked #3 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at #14 or two nights. Lovely location slightly off the chaos of the main part of Edinburgh. Very comfortable bed and room with ensuite bath. Lovely hosts, excellent breakfast. Would not hesitate to stay again!

Cathy & Mike

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kimmielou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
There are newer reviews for 14 Hart Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 870 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at 14 Hart St for 4 nights in September and had a wonderful time. Rooms were decorated beautifully and very comfortable. Decent shower was also a bonus! James and Angela were very welcoming hosts, and the breakfast was lovely.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again if we were in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This historic property is well located not 10 mins walk from the true heart of Edinburgh. From the moment we arrived our hosts, James and Angela, made us feel completely at home and very welcome. They provided a wonderful bed, endless hot water, the classic Scottish breakfast and lots of good local advice. What more could you ask for? Clearly the perfect base from which to explore and enjoy Edinburgh.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Friendly and helpful owners Angela and James. Lovely room, in basement but with ground level view of garden. Small but well appointed shower room and everywhere very clean. Large comfortable bed, period furniture and many interesting old prints on walls. Would certainly come back and would recommend to others. Delicious breakfasts too! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were in Edinburgh for a conference and sightseeing for 8 days. The location is excellent for the seven bus lines that cross York Place, getting to and from attractions and restaurants was easy, especially with the seven-day bus pass we purchased initially. The house is appointed beautifully, antiques and prints abound. Breakfast was generous, whether you like hot dishes to start the day, or, like my wife, can't get enough of the varied fresh berries to accompany her yogurt. Our room looked out onto a garden, the bathroom was newly renovated, there was a "wee dram", coffee, tea, and wine in the room. A chest of drawers would have been useful. Our host, James, was as gracious and helpful as could be. Our last day's excursion out of town was his suggestion and worked out superbly, especially since the railway station is an easy walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nollik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights here -- a great choice for lots of reasons. As noted by many, James and Angela are wonderful hosts, and extremely helpful. The room was beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were great. The location is convenient -- a 10-15 minute walk to the Royal Mile, etc. Edinburgh is a wonderful city. We would stay here again in a second!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My mother and I stayed at 14 Hart Street for three nights. We booked after reading the excellent reviews (and looking at the lovely pictures) on TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. The house is beautiful: tastefully decorated and wonderfully proportioned rooms. Our room looked out on a very pretty garden. The location is also ideal. The house is on a quiet street in the New Town, but literally just around the corner from plenty of dining options. It's also a short walk (about half a mile) from the train station and many of the major attractions in Edinburgh. James and Angela are extremely gracious people. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and the opportunity to meet the other guests. The accommodation was as comfortable as being at home, but more beautiful! I highly recommend 14 Hart Street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elinordash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,855 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
494 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
744 reviews
Six Brunton Place Guest House
#10 of 393 in Edinburgh
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $122 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing