We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 14 Hart Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
14 Hart Street
Ranked #3 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2007

My husband and I stayed at 14 Hart Street in Edinburgh for four days.
It could not have been more perfect. The owners, Angela and James were so hospitable and friendly. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome while at the same time we had a lot of privacy and didn't feel we were imposing in any way. We felt as if we were staying with old friends. They even drove us to the train station the
day we left.

Their house is in a great location on a quiet residential street and we could easily walk to everything. It was about a fifteen-minute walk (maybe a little longer) to old town where there is the castle and the royal mile. There are lots of restaurants nearby the B&B, and
the shopping of new town is a ten-minute walk. (The train station and
some of the museums are in between the shopping district and old town.) One day we went on an all day tour of the Highlands (which I would highly recommend- no pun intended), and it was about a fifteen-minute walk to where most of the tour company buses leave in the morning.

The house is an old Georgian with beautiful antiques and furnishings and very clean. Everyone accuses me of being very picky on this score
and I was extremely impressed. Our room looked out on a beautiful garden but no one could see into our room. There is excellent free whisky and biscuits in the rooms, (also wine and tea/coffee supplies), and while I don't usually drink much alcohol, the whisky tasted so good after a long day of sight seeing out in the crisp Scottish air.

We didn't have our two teenage daughters with us, but if we did, it would have been perfect to have them in the other bedroom.

The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. You could have a full English breakfast with your choice of eggs, ham, toast, tomato and mushrooms, all well prepared, and there was a variety of cereals, milk, yogurt and orange juice on the table to boot. They also had a selection of newspapers to read. You are asked the night before as to when you want breakfast in the morning, which was really nice that
we had this flexibility depending on what we had planned for the day.

I couldn't recommend more highly staying at 14 Hart Street when you are in Edinburgh.

P.S. I usually stay in four star, sometimes five star, hotels, and there is no way I'm not staying at 14 Hart Street when I'm in Edinburgh again. Plus, it's a fraction of the price of a nice hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    37
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
95
551
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

A friend and I stayed here 3 nights in total on the recommendation of Gerald (of Gerald's place) at the beginning and end of a week visit to the Borders. It was an excellent recommendation for which we were both to be very grateful and am only too happy to pass on! We thoroughly, thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, starting with an early check-in, a pleasant accommodation after a fatiguing flight. It certainly had everything else I've looked for, and more, in a B&B: a lovely, charming home; a very comfortable, delightful twin-bedded room (shower only), and a number of considerate, personal touches: flowers, the excellent tea/shortbread, and drinks trays - we certainly enjoyed that glass of wine at the end of our tramps, and I actually liked the Scotch ( wish I'd remembered to ask which one it was); excellent breakfasts; and especially, our very kind, accommodating, and welcoming hosts, James and Margaret, and their housekeeper, Betty. The townhouse is in a surprisingly quiet area considering its proximity to the core, yet within easy walking distance to all the noise/bustle of downtown Edinburgh and airport shuttle location. There are many small, interesting restaurants in the area, so you'll not go hungry wandering the streets looking for a place to have dinner. Instant tellers (cashpoints) are a 5 min walk away. Parking is an issue, but we avoided this (& figuring out downtown traffic) by getting our car with a rental agency situated on the outskirts of Edinburgh that provided a courtesy pickup and drop-off from the B&B. That saved us much anxiety! As to meals, guests breakfast in a lovely room, all at the same table - a first for me, as I am used to separate tables - but what a good idea, as this encourages guests to actually interact. Lesley and I had an entertaining, broad-ranging discussion with the American couple there. The issues of other guests didn't bother us - if big-screen TV and in-room service are your thing, look elsewhere is all I can say - but you'll miss out on a real little treasure. Noise did not factor in at all, neither did the location of the bedrooms. Our room had a big window, with large bushes outside providing a pleasant green screen, ensuring our privacy and a pleasant view on waking. All in all, my friend and I would very happily stay here again. In my B&B experience, it is very reasonably priced for what it offers, and is actually the best all-around B&B I've stayed in.

  • Liked — hosts, housekeeper, location, food, lovely room, great beds, personal touch
  • Disliked — nothing worth mentioning
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Britomartis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint paul, minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

Very comfortable, just like home. Large, well-appointed, clean, attractive room. Owners are friendly and helpful as is the chaming housekeeper Betty. Superbly located on a quiet street, yet walkably close to airport shuttlebus terminal, Waverly Station, downtown, and the Royal Mile. Nice extra touch: besides tea and coffee in our room, we were also provided with shortbread, wine, and scotch. We'll stay there again and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Liked — comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansaintpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

The warmth of the welcome was reflected in the superb quality of the bed linen, towels and generosity of whiskey availability in the ample sized bedroom. Superb breakfast, enthusiastically cooked and nothing seemed too much trouble, even to the hiring of a taxi which arrived almost instantly!
BJK

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank BJKRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

We arrived in Edinburgh at 10:00 in the morning, exhausted after a trans-Atlantic flight. Our hosts, James and Angela Wilson, generously let us check in at that time. The B&B is small (only two rooms) and located on a very quiet residential street just off the hustle and bustle of New Town. It was very easy for us to walk to all the major sites. Both James and Angela were happy to give us advice on what to see, where to eat, ect.

The room was spacious and comfortable, with a good double bed, nice linens, a large, full bathroom (towels warming on the radiator), and a tray of tea, wine, whisky, and shortbread. The room was complete with television, hairdryer, and a large folder of tourist information. It was our most comfortable room of our ten days in Scotland.

Breakfast was plentiful and well-cooked, with tea or coffee, yogurt, cereal, fruit, toast, and the option of a full cooked breakfast, with eggs, bacon, and sauteed mushrooms and tomatoes. It was very good!

The price, at 45 pounds per person per night, was rather expensive by American standards, especially with the current exchange rate. However, it was priced similarly to other B&Bs we investigated, and it seems to be compatible with the current market there. We were satisfied with the value.

We will definitely keep this B&B in mind for any future travels to Edinburgh. We would also be happy to recommend it to someone else.

  • Liked — very nice room in a quiet house located close to major sights
  • Disliked — poor water pressure in the shower
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cecilebrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer Sheva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2007

We stayed at 14 hart street on Sep.6-9/2007. The house is beautiful, tastefully decorated with antique furniture, pictures and many nice things. Remarkably quiet although centrally located (within walking distance of Princes street-about 10 min.). Our room was quite large, very elegant with everything one could wish for. Our window faced a very lovely garden. The room being a floor below, we got help with our luggage. The shower room was small but very modern and functional.
Everything was very clean. Breakfast was served in a large, elegant room and was very nice and tasty. Angela and James Wilson were hospitable, nice, friendly and helpful in every way.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Quiet, Beautiful, Friendly and Centrally Located
  • Disliked — No internet connection (Lan or WiFi) in our room.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RinaAmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

My husband and I were not sure what our B&B would turn out to be, but when James opened the door and extended his friendly welcome, we knew at once that we had chosen the right place.

Angela and James own a very fine house, displaying their good taste in blending antiques and modern style furniture. We were given a very spacious room. The window opened out to a lovely view of the garden with roses. We felt very grand to be served breakfast in their dining room. My husband wanted to try seafood and Angela recommended a very good restaurant. We love Edinburgh, and our stay at 14 Hart Street played no small part in contributing to it.

After returning to Tokyo, we told our friends that we had the best B&B in Edinburgh. We definitely recommend this beautiful and warm B&B. We want to thank Angela and James for being so friendly and helpful. You have made our trip a truly memorable one.

Ikuo and Eunice Iwasaki
Tokyo, Japan

  • Liked — The atmosphere and our hosts.
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokyoites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Hart Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Hart Street

Property: 14 Hart Street
Address: 14 Hart Street, Edinburgh EH1 3RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 14 Hart Street 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your 14 Hart Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
14 Hart Street Hotel Edinburgh
14 Hart Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing