We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bonnington Guest House
Ranked #158 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended Hotel”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My family of 6 people stayed for 4 nights and it was amazing. The owner is very helpful.She helped us in booking cabs, bus tours, selecting good restaurants etc. I would recommend others to surely consider Bonnington for your stay in Edinburgh since its location is also good. The public transportation is easy available. The rooms are clean and big enough and also the breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahu_komal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    23
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We chose the Bonnington for our all-too-brief jaunt to Edinburgh Festival. The property is a stone's throw from 3 separate bus routes into the city, but sits in a less busy location where you can safely walk about at night. The breakfasts were lovely, and we had more fun chatting with the guests at the Bonnington than at any other bed and breakfast during our 2 weeks in the UK. We will definitely return on our next trip to Scotland.

Room Tip: Get good directions before you arrive. Your sat-nav (Garmin) will misdirect you to project housing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Well located, very bright and clean, tasty breakfast and comfortable charming room. A wonderful start to our two week hiking trip in Scotland. The owners were very helpful regarding restaurants, public transportation . An indispensable recommendation for coffee lovers was Porto and Fi walking distance and serving the best Italian roast coffee,

The Bonnington was near the Leith water walkway which took us "everywhere"

Room Tip: We had an ensuite for 3 with big high windows and wonderful light
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed in this guest house over six times to date. The rooms are spotless and guests are provided with extras such as sherry, water and chocolates. It is quiet and backs onto Victoria Park plus it has private parking at the side - a boon in a big city. The proprietors treat guests like family and there is plenty of information about where to go and what to see. The breakfast caters for all tastes with plenty of choice from a buffet of fresh fruit and a wealth of cereals, The cooked breakfast - The Bonnington Grill - can be as large as you like! We have always been made most welcome and feel we can book on-line or phone directly to chat about dates. Would always make this our first choice but often they are fully booked!

Room Tip: Look on-line as there are plenty of pictures. The rooms at the rear which back onto the park are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting Edinburgh .we literally turned up on doorstep asking if there was a room !we were welcomed in and had a room on ground floor , it was large ,high Celling and was spotless! We were giving plenty of local info and the bus stop was just round corner, which was great as parking in Edinburgh can be a pain . We went to the castle and Mary Scott's close which was brilliant !!
The choice at breakfast was huge, and that was without the cooked breakfast which of course we had too !!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wonderful reception, great atmosphere, coziest beds ever!
Great location thats easy to get to, loved all the little trinkets and final touches. would definitely return. A MUST FOR THE FESTIVAL NEXT YEAR.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flamestar245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a great decision to have stayed at The Bonnington Guest House during our visit to Edinburgh. It is in a quiet and lovely location with excellent access to the bus routes in and out of the city. On our first night of three, we loved our walk down to the harbour to Newhaven for an excellent seafood dinner. Just one of the many great recommendations Jill had suggested while we were being shown our room in this clean,beautiful and comfortable guest house. I loved all the special extra comforts and touches that says we care and want you to be comfortable while you visit with us. You do not often see the extra attention to detail this guest house offers. I also want to mention that the breakfast offered is wonderfully prepared and delicious. I would not hesitate to stay here again and I highly recommend The Bonnington Guest House while you are visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLCWashingtonState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.7 mi away
Gladstone House
Gladstone House
#84 of 392 in Edinburgh
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ashlyn Guest House
Ashlyn Guest House
#109 of 392 in Edinburgh
88 reviews
3.1 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#96 of 392 in Edinburgh
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Ben Doran Guest House
The Ben Doran Guest House
#165 of 392 in Edinburgh
208 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#34 of 392 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonnington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonnington Guest House

Property: The Bonnington Guest House
Address: 202 Ferry Road, Edinburgh EH6 4NW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonnington Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bonnington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonnington Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing