We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best welcome there is”
Review of Rockville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockville Hotel
Ranked #47 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in the family room, everything about this hotel is fantastic, from the breakfast and evening meal to the welcome from Des and crew, to the decor and cleanliness, we will defiantly be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M55yjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 135 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed overnight at this lovely hotel whilst visiting Edinburgh - it is amazing and reasonably priced. Fabulous location with bus stops regularly running just over the road, views from all windows. The owners and staff could not be more helpful and the food was beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Unfortunately, we only got to spend 1 night at this beautiful place when we were over from Australia a little over a week ago. We had dinner in the restaurant which was superb, we then had lunch the next day and invited family who live in and around Edinburgh and they thought the same as us.
We will be back over in September and will definitely be back, hopefully for more than 1 night this time.

Room Tip: Room number 10 has the best outlook you could ever imagine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

All the staff that we met were really helpful and nothing too much trouble. The food was gorgeous and the drinks reasonable priced. The hotel was clean, well presented and the beds were comfortable. The view out onto the ocean was breathtaking especially when standing in the restaurant with the bay window when the tide is coming in. The off road parking was also an advantage so we didn't have to worry out the car. Although the location of the hotel is a few miles from the city center, the number 26 bus goes from across the street to the center of Edinburgh in a matter of minutes. There is also a bus stop about 50 yards from the hotel on the journey back, so not far to walk. When we next travel to Edinburgh i will try to book a room in this hotel first.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d99sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Went with friends for the first time. Would definitely recommend the mussels! Looking forward to a return visit in the daylight to appreciate the stunning views across the Forth. Nice lounge to have pre-dinner drinks in with the staff being very helpful.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank lammam361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Back for a second visit to this hotel and it was just as good as before. Beautiful room with a view and very friendly staff. Had lunch there and it was very good. Stayed because we were going to the theatre and the bus from outside the hotel took us straight to the theatre in the centre of Edinburgh, great not driving in city centre.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in the hotel overnight as we were attending a wedding just along the road and we couldn't fault anything,from the food to the room,room 10 excellent view of the forth,very clean and comfortable,breakfast was filling.Have been to the hotel many times for lunch or evening meal and have never been let down with service or the food,all top notch,will stay again and will continue to go there for meals.best food around.we travel 30 miles everytime we go for a meal here and the journey is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ancr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,015 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockville Hotel

Address: 2 Joppa Pans | Seaview Terrace, Edinburgh EH15 2HF, Scotland (Formerly Rockville House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $123 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rockville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockville Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing