We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel”
Review of Rockville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockville Hotel
Ranked #45 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We are just back from a 2 nights break. What a lovely,clean hotel. We had room 3. Fab views. My husband used the binoculars to watch the birds on the rocks .couldnt fault the food at all.Only 30 mins from City. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmelmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the Rockville for 2 nights last weekend. We loved our stay there. Our room (Room 10) has amazing panoramic views. The room was clean and great value for money. The breakfasts were tasty and kept us full for hours. The service was very friendly and we didn't want for anything. We dined in the restaurant both nights and really enjoyed our meals, The owners made us feel very welcome and provided us with information on the local area. We had such a relaxing time there & hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikklekoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I went for a birthday meal to the Rockville and we were both very disappointed. It had been about a year since we last ate there and my goodness it's gone down hill. The food was disgusting, greasy, clearly straight out the freezer and into the pot. Nothing fresh about it at all. The food lay in our stomach like a lead weight. Staff clearly knew it was poor as they never once asked if we were enjoying our meal. My recommendation would be jog on if you're thinking of coming here and don't waste your money.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
12  Thank Young K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

not a good dining experience. Staff friendly but service slow. Gourmet burger was of the lowest possible quality, well lidl is just down the road. Complaint was met with complete indifference. wont be back. Shame as there arent that many good eating places locally

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
11  Thank tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Lovely hotel. Room was great, clean, fresh and had the most fantastic views. Breakfast was really tasty and plenty of it and the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Going back in September.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as long as you like the sound of waves crashing on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed in the twin room the night before my wedding with my mum, my sister and her family had the family room at the front lovely room overlooking the forth, we also ate in the restaurant downstairs and they could not have been accomodating, delicious home made food, we all had something different and everyone enjoyed. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the forth otherwise you get the road at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great hotel worth a visit. We had a seaview and it was great to wake up to the sea view in the morning.The room is nicely done- pine furniture a bit dated but overall very happy with the room.
What let the hotel down for us was the food in the restaurant at night. It was poor.Would visit hotel again but would eat elsewhere. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elamcg150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
5.3 mi away
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#131 of 151 in Edinburgh
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mackenzie Bunks
Mackenzie Bunks
#2 of 3 in Musselburgh
28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ravelston House
Ravelston House
#2 of 5 in Musselburgh
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockville Hotel

Address: 2 Joppa Pans | Seaview Terrace, Edinburgh EH15 2HF, Scotland (Formerly Rockville House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $124 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rockville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockville Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing