We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the seafront”
Review of Rockville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockville Hotel
Ranked #47 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great hotel worth a visit. We had a seaview and it was great to wake up to the sea view in the morning.The room is nicely done- pine furniture a bit dated but overall very happy with the room.
What let the hotel down for us was the food in the restaurant at night. It was poor.Would visit hotel again but would eat elsewhere. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elamcg150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 135 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

we didnt stay here but we were shown the rooms, newly renovated, ,lovely and clean

we did eat here 2 out of 3 nights we were in edinburgh, fantastic menu, great choice, freshly cooked, lovely staff with views to die for!!

Room Tip: book in the restaurant at busy times to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have stayed here 3 or 4 times in the last 3 years and on each visit the service has been excellent. The staff have been very friendly and always willing to help and always with a nice comment. Each time i stayed here I have only had one meal, breakfast, and each time it has been more than satisfactory with the fried breakfast being my favourite on the menu. The binoculars with a nice little book about the wildlife in the area is a lovely touch and especially good for children who like looking at the birds and seals. I have stayed in two separate rooms in this hotel one family room facing the road and the south end of the shore and one facing the sea, each had a wonderful view. At first in the one facing the road I was worried the noise would be and issue however once it came to night time I could not even here the cars going past and subsequently had a great nights sleep in the comfortable bed which had been well cleaned. The rooms were very spacious and kept nice and clean, and the stairs up to the room i stayed in were very nice in design also having a great view out to sea. Overall these have been great stays in a great value hotel.

Room Tip: Each room is good however the sea views are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacob193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Clean,comfortable ,spacious modern rooms .The staff are brilliant ,friendly and helpful .
Location brill .Left the car and took the bus into Edinburgh a lot less hastle .
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mand32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We wanted to try something different and away from he hustle and bustle of the city (of Edinburgh). We found it in the Rockville House Hotel. Right on the North Sea and easy enough to get to (#26 Bus). Our only complaint was the dog smell in the bed linens but the rest of the experience was wonderful!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 26point2miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at Rockville, and can honestly say it is one of the best places we have stayed in for friendliness, service, everything. You couldn't have asked for more. Wendy the waitress and the owners are so lovely, actually everyone there are, they couldn't have made us more welcome, the atmosphere is so warm and friendly. The food is brilliant, never had a bad meal in all the meals we had there, thats breakfast or dinner. My husband and I have travelled alot around U.K. and always stay in B & B's whether they be in hotels or houses, and can say that Rockville is well and truely up the top of the list. We have paid more in some places and not been happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenBill55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

I have been here three times now, and I wouldn.t think of going to any other hotel in Edinburgh. I like the fact that it is out of the centre but close enough to get into the city quickly.
This is a lovely little hotel with cosy, clean rooms. The one I had on the first floor was modern and has a fantastic view out over the Firth of Forth, as does the restaurant. Des, the owner, went out of his way to make us welcome. The food is plentiful and excellent. I have just booked for my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dusty428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,035 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,637 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockville Hotel

Address: 2 Joppa Pans | Seaview Terrace, Edinburgh EH15 2HF, Scotland (Formerly Rockville House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $79 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rockville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockville Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing