We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely little B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cluaran Guest House
Ranked #131 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A lovely little B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Cluaran. The owners were really friendly and flexible, the breakfast was delicious (with French pressed coffee and GREAT scrambled eggs), and the room was lovely. I had a single room with the bath across the hall, but the bath was clean and spacious, and I had it all to myself, so it didn't matter that it wasn't en suite. The B&B is an 8-10 pound cab ride from Waverly station, and there is a stop for the #35 bus to the airport about 10 min away. I walked into town, and the neighborhood around the Meadows is really cute and hip. It took me about 15-20 min to get to the Old Town, but the walk is nice. I highly recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamagriff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
37
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our family have stayed at Cluaran for a week every year for the last 8 years and have never been disappointed, the hosts are very friendly and helpful, the cooked breakfast is beautifully done and the location is ideal for the center of Edinburgh (a 15 minute walk over the meadows). It is also near Morningside and lots of lovely restaurants and boutique shops. At the bottom of the hill is a nice canal walk either into or out of the center of Edinburgh which we were unaware of till this year but was a great find.

The rooms are very nicely decorated and the guesthouse feels like being at home, we stay in room 3 which is a lovely large room with a high ceiling and beautiful bay window. My son loves their dog which is a very friendly Lhaso Apso which loves people and is a bred that does not seem to shed hair everywhere.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just had the pleasure of 3 nights at the Cluaran Guest House in Edinburgh. A beautiful, tasteful guest house with lovely hosts, yummy breakfast and the rooms are just a delight at the end of a long day in this beautiful city. Planning on another stay in the future for sure. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We recently stayed at Cluaran Guest House with my sister & brother-in-law. The hosts were very friendly (but not intrusive in any way) & helpful. Our room was quaint & the bed comfortable. The bathroom also had everything we needed. Breakfast was plentiful. The location was convenient for buses & restaurants. What a delightful place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaDIxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heide, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at Cluaran House for 10 nights and we loved it. It is centrally located in a lovely area and in walking distance to nearly all of the sights and popular places. The house is a charming, colourful and cosy place with art-covered walls. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We were impressed that on request we weren't only served a full vegetarian breakfast, but the landlady even made sure we got different kinds of sausage substitutes, so we didn't have to eat the same thing for 10 days. That was a very nice gesture and we feel that it sums up quite well the way this guesthouse is run. There were also little sweets at hand with the coffee making facilities and whenever we had eaten them we would find new ones in the evening. The tea cups provided were beautiful. There was also a book shelf in the room with a broad mixture of books and the quilt on the bed was very warm. We would not only recommend this place, but we would also love to come back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank V_C_yummyteacakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Just visited Edinburgh for the weekend to see friends and really enjoyed the hospitality and food at this lovely homely run guest house. Nothing too much trouble. Hope to return one day. The little extras in the room were a nice touch. Thanks again

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, South Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Cluaran for six days. Our stay was a very pleasent experience. Noreen took care of us on our first visit to Edinburgh. The room was very nice. Our onsuite was a little small but we adapted with no problem. Breakfast was wonderful.
The location was not far from central Edinburgh. Bus stop nearby and plenty good restaurants.
Can't miss on this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Martin's Guest House
#94 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#44 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Lauderville Guest House
#33 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#50 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Amaryllis Guest House
#190 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Menzies Guest House
#268 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cluaran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cluaran Guest House

Property: Cluaran Guest House
Address: 47 Leamington Terrace | Bruntsfield, Edinburgh EH10 4JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cluaran Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a sophisticated 4-star guesthouse set in a period building dating from the 1860s now fully restored with original period features and our own bespoke interior style. We are located in the famous Bruntsfield Links area of Edinburgh, next to parkland and within close walking distance to the city centre, Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile and Edinburgh International Conference Centre.All our bedrooms are individually decorated in harmonious colours chosen to compliment the original period Victorian fixtures (the house dates from the late 1860s). All rooms are ensuite and have kingsize beds apart from the single which has its own private bathroom and a three quarter Victorian antique bed. In addition, all rooms are individually decorated and have free Wi-fi; flat-screen TVs; i-pod docking stations; alarm clocks; tea/coffee making facilities and an eclectic mini library to browse. Many original features have been restored to something of their former glory e.g. the stunning stained glass panel of our entrance door and sanded original floorboards. Cornices, wooden shutters and much of the original flooring have all been rejuvenated giving a fascinating glimpse into the skilled craftsmanship of the period. Tea and coffee facilities; flat screen TVs; free Wi-Fi; and ipod docking stations are all available.Cluaran House has been the location of 4 film shoots and 1 international fashion shoot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cluaran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluaran Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing