We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-rented our "empty" paid for room and hotel manager barged into elderly mothers room at 2am (think hostel not hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edinburgh House Hotel
Ranked #358 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Good points:
It's clean, but needs a lot of repair

Bad points:
Had to sleep on the duvet to cover wire, no sponge cover left
Overwhelming curry smell in our room between 9:30-11:00 pm
Workmen till midnight, hotel manager barged into room at 2am, curry smell

Things that should never happen in a hotel that happened to us:
They gave away my elderly mothers room to another person when it was left without a suitcase for 24 hrs (they said they tried to call but we had our mobile phones with us at all times and no missed calls or messages)
Then in the new room they gave her the manager stormed in at 2am to close some water valves, unacceptable to happen to an elderly woman sleeping alone in a room. He should have knocked and waited for her to open the door, or fetched us, not just stormed in, she was terrified.
Workmen painting in hallway outside room till midnight
Advertises that all rooms are on suite but "saw too much" of half naked man in hallway on his way to communal bathroom (small towel did not cover much)

I am happy to stay in Ibis and we've never needed much luxury, but I will never again stay in a "Larerooms.com Self Classified" accomodation... lesson learned!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharelSophos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 423 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2009

This was to be our first weekend away with our daughter age 18mths and expecting our second baby so excited until we saw the state of this Hotel really disappointed.
We had to find alternative accommodation too disgusting to stay, on arrival told not to unpack as would be moved on second night.
The room was dirty, bed uncomfortable well used mattress ragged looking sheets, carpet shabby and rucked up.
The Hotel smelled strongly of curry cooking as soon as you entered it.
BEWARE when asked to pay deposit we thought unusual when we saw the place realised why.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJRChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Very conveniently situated hotel from city centre, with warm and friendly staff. Even though the building is old, the rooms are comfortable and toilets are clean. The hotel does not allow smoking in rooms but had the convenience of using wi-fi in the rooms for cheap price. By at large, I would say it is a great bargain if you are looking for a budget hotel near the city centre. I would definetely go again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiemiller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

After reading the earlier reviews here I booked this hotel with some doubt and trepidation. But I'm glad I did now. My girlfriend and I stayed here last weekend and we found the Edinburgh House Hotel a very adequate hotel for our needs. Great location (25 mins walk from Prince's street). Lovely warm, friendly, helpful staff. A warm clean spacious room. Adequate continental breakfast in a pleasant room. And a very good rate. I think a lot of reviews refer to the former owner, when this place was called Balfour House(?). The new management are a different outfit with a good attitude. I should point that on our first night we complained about our original room (too cold, no hot water) but the staff moved us to a new room immediately and apologized. We're giving them the benefit of the doubt, since they addressed our complaint this straight away, saying they weren't aware, with no fuss. And the rest of our stay was without fault, both myself and my girlfriend agreed. The new room as I already mentioned, was very adequate. In summary this is a 3 star hotel so don't expect luxuary, but if you want a serviceable hotel in a good location with staff with personality this place is a good option.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_Guy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

This hotel the Edinburgh House, previously the Balfour Hotel is the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. It is a health hazard, fire risk, the rooms are either too hot or too cold, the carpets and the stairs are unsafe. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES SHOULD ANYONE VISIT THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anonymous2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Mireia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: da evitare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PietroMax33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#109 of 395 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Leith House
#339 of 395 in Edinburgh
94 reviews
Corstorphine
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
The Corstorphine Lodge Hotel
#207 of 395 in Edinburgh
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 Pilrig Guest House
#202 of 395 in Edinburgh
48 reviews
Leith
Hanover House Hotel
Hanover House Hotel
#144 of 395 in Edinburgh
80 reviews
Edinburgh Sixteen
#107 of 395 in Edinburgh
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh House Hotel

Address: 90-92 Pilrig Street, Edinburgh EH6 5AY, Scotland (Formerly Balfour House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $35 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing