We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel to stay a few days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbot's House Hotel
Ranked #360 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Hofors, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to stay a few days”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed a night at this hotel. Came straight from the airport in the morning but got the key and could leave the luggage at the reception for a visit to the castle. Left to early for breakfast. The bathroom left a lot to desire. A bathtub with a shower handle without a shower curtain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    40
    39
    33
    71
See reviews for
35
59
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Davisburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at this B&B for one night during a trip to Edinburgh. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. However, the room left a lot to be desired. It was in the basement and smelled a lot like urine. The toilet in the room would not flush and the bathroom was not clean. There is not very much soundproofing and I was woken up by other visitors a lot during the night. In the morning after breakfast my key no longer worked in the door as the lock had gotten stuck. In the end, one of the people working at the B&B had to break the door to get me back into my room to get my suitcase.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krysten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Corby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of the Fringe Festival. It was a lot cheaper than almost anywhere else in Edinburgh, so we had reservations but it turned out to be absolutely fine. The hotel is situated around Leith Links which is about 2.5 miles away from the centre. We walked in one day and it took about an houre. Much better was the bus stop across the Links which got us into the city in 10 minutes. We arrived 3 hours before check in and the room wasn't ready, but the guy gave us a key and let us leave our bags in the room, which was handy because we then just went and spent the day wandering about the city.

The room didn't have an ensuite (although some rooms do) which was annoying but we knew that when booking and the bathroom was literally outside our door, so it wasn't too bad. The room was clean and had a comfortable bed. It also had a kettle with tea and coffee and TV with freeview. In the morning we had a free buffet breakfast with toast and cereal etc. They also offered a cooked breakfast for £5. We were at the back of the hotel with only one room next to us, so it was pretty quiet where we were. The room next door did decide to start banging on our wall one night for some reason when we were sleeping and absolutely silent. Apart from that we had a really peaceful stay. I'd recommend this hotel as it is very cheap, but I would suggest booking early to ensure you can get a room with an ensuite bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA-1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have stay through my life in a lot of B & B. This was by far the worst I've come across. To call the room I booked a family room is a crime.

The room is a good size with plenty of beds. That's not the problem. Its damp not ventilated at all. The window opens but you can’t lock it. As the window open into the car park at ground level I call the room a cellar. The toilet / bath room is for a family room extremely small. That does not have to be a problem. But it being extremely smelly and dirty is a problem.

I do not have a problem that the room is plain and ugly, just that it's not a healthy place to stay in and it's being called a family room. This implies that it's fit for children. IT"S NOT.

The problems did not end there. In room 1 there was a man screaming. This worried my wife and more so my children. I went up to the proprietor and he went down to see. After hearing the problem he tried to get the man to open the room. He did not, so he went to get the spare key. By this time I was fed up with the situation. I went off to find alternative accommodation. This I found nearby. I went back to Abbots house to find that 3 police officers had arrived and my daughter in tears. Whilst I was gone the screaming man had come to the door of the room 5 demanding my children to open the room. Threatening to kick down the door.

I can’t blame the proprietor for this problem, as he is not to blame for the man’s mental problems. But I can complain about the way he handled the situation. He was rude from start to finish. I'm convinced this isn't the first time they have had complaints about the rooms. People will complain if they get a family room that is not fit to be a family room.

They where not willing to refund the booking.

Room Tip: If you go left outside Abott's house across left the field there are several B&B. The one we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Well i have never been to a place like it.
1, A double basic room.. it was less then basic it was horrific
Sheets a tad stained so had to double the duvet and as that was no so stained.. No mattress protector and the springs on this very old mattress sticking out.
2, the noise from flushing loos taps running kept me away till late. Then again the noise from the drug house next door work me up at 3am. Dave the local druggie wanted his medication. I know his name because the police were there and every one was shouting.
2, The shared bathroom. well i have never had a shared bathroom before and im open to the concept. But im sorry to say i really didn't want to share with the two cockroaches i saw in the shower . So i just had a quick wash in the broken wash basin. I have never been so happy to get into my car and leave.
for £67 a night you should be ashamed. And how dare you call your self a hotel. And for all them people that said it was wonderful must be working for this place.

Room Tip: if the other rooms were like mine DONT GO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giddyalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When we booked here, we thought it was overpriced but we thought we should be close to where we needed to return our rental car. Well Leith is not a good part of Edinburgh! The neighborhood is run down and seedy. We were told before booking that there was off street parking (the main reason we chose this place!) but when we arrived there was only room for 6 (the manager said it would hold 6) but 4 cars were parked willy-nilly and there was no more room. The manager refused to ask anyone to park better and there wasn't any painted spaces anyway. This car park was for a 37 room hotel! So we arrived and they put us in the basement! There was only one small window at ground level. The room was dank and hot. The bathroom was in poor shape--the toilet wobbled when anyone sat down and the fawcett in the sink was so loose I thought it might break off completely. When we went to the room, not only was it in the basement, but to get to it was like going down a rabbit hole with stairs down, hallways turning, doorways everywhere. Anyway, we immediately asked for another room, but the manager said they were full and there were no rooms to move us to. He refused to address any of the conditions either, saying he had called a plumber.

The bed mattress was thin and the bedside light on one side did not work. The atmosphere felt so oppressive that I had trouble going to sleep. I felt trapped. Everytime someone came in, they had to go through numerous "fire" doors that the noise was awful.

Breakfast was ok, but was extra and not worth the 5 pounds per person charge, Coffee had not been started when we came down for breakfast, even though we had told management when we wanted breakfast and they were happy with the time we requested. Not only was it slow in coming, but it was not being refilled even when others wanted some.

I would not recommend anyone stay at this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlingigi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our room was in the basement,or lower rooms pending how you want to look at them,with the window at pavement level.Good size room for just the 2 of us,but a bit stuffy in the evenings on hot days,beds were also a bit hard,ask for extra pillow ( which never arrived )so with the heat,bed and noise from the plumbing i did have a hard time sleeping.Food to me was very good, well cooked and presented,Found the staff very friendly and had time to talk to you,which makes a change from other places.Since we only stayed for weekend found it value for money.
Would like to make a small suggestion or to,hot days have some fans in the lower rooms and extra pillows on the beds as found your pillows to soft.Many thanks and wish you all the best.

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms,maybe less noisiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#91 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Crioch Guest House
#129 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Pillars House
#87 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Leith
Swan Lake Guest House
Swan Lake Guest House
#193 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's House Hotel

Property: Abbot's House Hotel
Address: 10 Links Place, Edinburgh EH6 7EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbot's House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Abbot's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbot's House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing