We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Budget Hotel but don't expect alot of sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbot's House Hotel
Ranked #360 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean Budget Hotel but don't expect alot of sleep!”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel one night over the May Day weekend. The reception is really just a front room & the entrance quite grubby but don't let you put this off. We arrived 10 minutes early for our room as we had lost track of time which seemed to annoy the girl on reception who was quite stressed....although she did become friendly enough in the end but I wouldn't expect a warm welcome if we stayed again in the future!!

The room itself was basic....bed, tv, wardorbe, tea & coffee facilities. The en-suite was clean enough. We basically dumped our bags & headed out all day & night.

After a decent night out we were awoken really early with noisy neighbours....the walls are paper thin so don't expect a good sleep plus check out is quite early at 11am on a Sunday so we struggled.

Overall, clean & cheap....couldn't expect much more for what we paid. :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janemmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    40
    39
    33
    71
See reviews for
35
59
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Forget all th adverse reviews. Recently enjoyed a one night stay at this hotel.

The girl on duty in reception was very friendly and helpful, showing me around the public rooms and my room. Although I only had a single room, it was plenty big, well furnished,warm, clean and comfortable. It appeared to have been recently re-decoratedand a new carpet fitted. It had a flat screen freeview TV and a well stocked hospitality tray. It also boasted a reasonable sized en-suite, moden and fully tiled with plenty of really hot water.

Breakfast, which was unbelievable for this money was served in a large, spotless, airy dining room. No complaints there.

The bad points? Only a couple, and nothing serious. Firstly, the hotel is not in the prettiest area of Leith (if there is such a thing) and secondly, there was a little noise from the street but to be fair, this stopped fairly early.

All in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driver1john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g32 7ea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

my patner and myself stay over night in the abbot hotel , the room we got was very clean bed clean and towels also very clean staff very friendly the room we got was in the new part of the building it had its own private toilet and shower room very mordern room with new bed and new furnishing i would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrakennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I originally had mixed feelings about booking this hotel, but as we needed 4 rooms for 8 people in varying combinations, there really wasn't much choice. We had two rooms in the original house, and two rooms in the additions that all of the other reviewers seem unpleased with.

The family room in the original house was gorgeous. nice ceiling, and really nice carved wooden headboards. The attached bathroom did not have a shower, only a bath, but there was a shower just around the corner.

We also had a single room in the original house, with was a standard room, with a bathroom down the hall.

The rooms in the addition were great. They were newly furnished and freshly painted. The carpet on the stairs was clean and fresh, and all of the linen was pristine. The mattress in the double room I slept in was very comfy.

We had a great stay, and it's nice to see properties renovate to offer better experiences to their guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherdupressoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We actually booked The Adelphi Hotel but since this was closed, we were placed in the Abbotts Hotel few metres away. We were given 2 rooms on the lower ground floor (basement) with just a small window which opened on a disgusting side street at the back of hotel which was used as a parking and for rubbish skips. We could not open the curtains as there was no privacy at all as people used to walk and play football + shouting near our window which we had to keep open because of the excessive heat and no fresh air.

We had booked three months in advance, so we pretended to have at least 2 decent rooms not the worst !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATM137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Frankfurt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Halbwegs gut gelegen und von außer nett anzusehen. – Das war´s aber auch mit positiven Bemerkungen: Zimmer unter dem Dach aber kein Lift; Zimmer und Toilette nicht gereinigt: Spuren vom Vormieter :o( Dusche notdürftig geflickt; Nachts sehr laut.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dram-a-lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-tyne...UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We werea group of 4 workfriends who went to Edinburgh on 24-04-10 for one night. From Waverley train station to the abbots house hotel was roughly 2miles, It cost us £6.80 which we thought was an absolute bargain between 4 of us! It toomabout 10 mins tops to get there...
On arrival to the hotel which is a gorgeous building, wewere greeted by Dave a guy from New Zealand who was very friendly, he checked all our details were correct and showed us to our room. We booked a family en-suite room which slept 4 people.. It was HUGE!! There was ample room for us there!! The en-suite was nice too, although it was missing a shower which was the only let down really? Although thre was a bathroom down the corridor with a hugeshower in! There was tea, coffee and biscuit facilities in the room which was nice. The view out of our window was green bowls areas and a park which was nice.
The hotel is just a small 5min walk from a lovely riverside/canal type thing, which had some lovely bars/restaurants for an afternoon of a few cheeky drinks! After a drunken night in Edinburgh city centre, the next morning with an expected hangover we had the choice of having breakfast...Only 1 of us had toast but it was a nice offering as we were feeling worse for wear haha!
I would definately recommend this hotel to others and will definately be returnng...

OVERALL A 10/10 STAY AT THE ABBOTS HOUSE HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneypenny69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#91 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Crioch Guest House
#129 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Pillars House
#87 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Leith
Swan Lake Guest House
Swan Lake Guest House
#193 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's House Hotel

Property: Abbot's House Hotel
Address: 10 Links Place, Edinburgh EH6 7EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbot's House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Abbot's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbot's House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing