We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JUST LOVED IT”
Review of Balmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmore House
Ranked #335 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
1 review
“JUST LOVED IT”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very welcoming, value for money b&b. Fantastic service, beautiful stay with feather pillows. Everything you ever want from a stay. Definitely the place to be for your Edinburgh stay. Overall worth visiting Edinburgh just for Balmore House

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryonyfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    107
    74
    38
    58
See reviews for
78
103
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the end of February for 3 nights, it was a great B&B. we arrived early and asked of we could leave our bags with them until it was time to check in and they were more than happy to let us do that. We were checked into the annex across the road, it was a lovely room with a separate bathroom across the hall. Breakfast was served until 9 in the morning and there was a great choice, the full English was lovely and so were the pancakes.
It was only a short walk to get into the centre of Edinburgh from this B&B with lots of attractions near by.
I would defiantly recommend this B&B if you are looking for somewhere cheap and easy to get to if coming to Edinburgh.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our stay: 3 nights half-term break. Came up on the train from London Kings Cross to Haymarket and walked from Haymarket to the guesthouse (15 minutes walk) crossing the Union Canal. I'd advise people to get the train to Haymarket rather than Waverley. We had two full days and if your time is limited, I'd advise the following things: The Castle, walk to Holyrood Park and climb Arthur's Seat (but be careful when its wet. It is slippery), Camera Obscura, The Real Mary King's Close.
Great location: Quiet location and only 20 minutes walk from the city centre. Quite near to the Meadows park offering a nice scenic walk into the city towards the university.
Great value: £70 per-night for a family room that accommodates 5 people, breakfast included and great reviews. You cannot go wrong!
Good accommodation: Balmore House is a series of different houses on the same street with the main house having the breakfast room. We were located in the main house in Room 11 which is a large family room and accommodates up to 5 people (2 double beds and 1 single bed). It is a good size room and is very clean and tidy. Small gripe: when we entered the room, the room smelt a little (damp/unlived smell). Also the shower smelt of damp. I borrowed a room freshener from the staff and the smell in the room went after first day and did not come back. The smell in the shower room remained for the duration of our stay. Probably needs a clean with some bleach. The only other gripe I had was the shower temperature. The water was luke warm at best. However, rooms are well heated and the heating is controllable. WiFi is included in each room free of charge.
Great Staff and Owner: The staff are very friendly. The owner is extremely pleasant, smiley, greets you each day at breakfast and asks you if you are having a nice holiday. The Hungarian worker who served us breakfast and cleaned our room had a warm nature about her and was very friendly. It is nice to have a multi-cultural staff.
Amazing breakfast and very efficient: Cooked breakfast included! The system to book breakfasts is effective. You indicate your choice from 6 different cooked breakfasts (includes vegetarian option and also an option with salmon) the night before on a sheet, and just leave it in the reception area. Cereals, fruit, juice included also. Breakfast room is at the back of the main property in a glass roofed annex. Cooked breakfast is served between 8am-9am. Make sure that you arrive at 8am to get seated as breakfast can get busy.
Summary: I would have given this rating "Excellent", but gave it "Very Good" because of the room/shower smell and the luke warm water in the shower.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkaura1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Perfect hotel for family and leisure stay. Location convenient for shopping and leisure tours. Staff kind and very friendly. The Owner Mr. Bahman personally talked and assisted us during 6 days of our stay, guiding us on tours, shopping, dinning out etc. He made suggestions too that saved us pretty much on transportation. The staff were quick to help in all our needs.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are recommended for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed for three nights over the Burns weekend the guest house was full. We stayed in room 27 which is in the house across the road on the top floor. The room is quite small but was very comfortable and clean, the ensure shower was amazing, the view is not that great the back of other buildings, the staff are very friendly and helpful. You have to go to the main house for Breakfast in the conservatory which was lovely well cooked, tasty and very quick. The location is good you can walk to the centre or there are plenty of buses.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellyg1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed in this accommodation for one night. We were not in the main house but over in the annexe. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had to go over to the main house for breakfast in the morning which was very busy but the breakfast was perfectly adequate and well presented. I would recommend this accommodation for its central location. The owner was delightful and could not do enough for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapper102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Balmore House is a great place! It has a good location, quiet street, the architecture is really cute, the rooms are spacious and what I found most impressive was the bed! It had been a long time since I had such quality sleep!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#46 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Balmoral Guesthouse
#102 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh
West End
Valentine City Centre Guest House
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#47 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmore House

Property: Balmore House
Address: 34 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmore House Hotel Edinburgh
Balmore House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing