We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and convenient but a little overpriced ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Balmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmore House
Ranked #374 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
“Cosy and convenient but a little overpriced ?”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This was a lovely little place - two places, actually, We stayed in the Bowmore house across the road. Staff were quietly welcoming. The room was neat, clean, comfortable and had ample storage space. The ensuite was small but very clean. Pre-ordered breakfasts in a lovely sun room were a tad simple for the overall price of the place, but tasty enough. Some traditional Scottish fare would have been appreciated. The street is quiet and close to both fast food places and restaurants. The walk to Edinburgh Castle was less than 15 minutes. Not a great value but would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanusiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    103
    71
    38
    55
See reviews for
76
99
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Fantastic little guest house. We received a very warm welcome when we checked in. There was a parking space available for us as promised at the time of the booking. Room was to the rear of the property on the first floor. The room was lovely, really good size, nice and clean, lovely furniture and decor. Shower was fantastic and we loved the walk in wardrobe. Large TV in room and pleany of tea and coffee etc available. Nice and quiet and had lovely un-disturbed sleep. Breakfast was served in the conservatory. Food was lovely plenty tea, cofee, toast etc.

Fantastic accomodation, with great staff and in a really good location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve1980_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Stayed here two nights, like another reviewer we were actually put in the 'Bowmore' annex across the street (not a major problem). Staff were welcoming at check-in, the twin room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great. City centre is a 10-15 minute walk away.
Maybe the only negative was that the breakfast was only available from 8 to 930, it would have been nice to have the option of more of a lie-in. More of a range of tv channels would be useful too...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConorO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I am travelling so much that I prefer well-run private guesthouses to corporate hotels. The owner of Balmore House in Edinburgh loves people, his job and his house and he makes people feel welcome and at home.
The breakfast is lovely with scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and the rooms are quiet and beautifully furnished in a soothing colour scheme.The house is in a quiet sidestreet.
I needed several taxis arranged and that was handled with great care by the guesthouse.
A corner store and fabulous restaurants are within walking distance and one can walk to Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile in 15-20 min.
I look very much forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraAshleyVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I just came back from a four day visit to Edinburgh and really HAVE to recommend this B&B. From the first moment on we were made feel welcome. It was like being family. The hosts were friendly, our room in the top floor of the annex called Bowmore was spacious and quiet. All rooms were en suite, we had a big flatscreen television, free WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities which were restocked daily and generous. The breakfast was of good variety and quality, including an offering of warm trimmings like salmon (also vegetarian!), sausages, mushrooms and egs. I will come agagin!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

My title says it all really! Just got back last night from our anniversary weekend in Edinburgh and I'm really really glad that I chose this hotel to stay at as part of my Husband's surprise, could not have been a nicer stay! Upon arrival a pleasant young woman welcomed us, introduced us to the friendly owner who congratulated us on our anniversary and took us over the road to the annex where we were staying (the hotel is 2 buildings, but both sides are lovely, not a problem at all!) Well our room was just wonderful, and I am pretty fussy, so that says something! Very spacious, modern with a HUGE comfy bed and tastefully decorated with a modern little bathroom and a good view of the street. Lovely, and just what we needed!

If I had to pick a negative, and I would find it hard, it would have to be that its a little out of town, a good 15-20 min walk, but the walk is a nice one, so not much of a negative really, and at £60 a night, we couldn't grumble.

Lovely hot showers, comfy warm bed, excellent spot-on full cooked breakfast, friendly and atentive owner and staff and a wonderful stay that will always be in our memories, we will be back in a couple of years and requesting the same room at the Balmore for deffinate!! =D

Will add photos when I upload of our lovely room

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huggybeejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Extremely noisy, the room was shabby - everything seemed to have fallen apart. As an example when I opened the consertina doors between bedroom and bathroom they were all rotted - drawers would not close, wardrobe door would not close. Nothing good to say. Left early

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
752 reviews
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#44 of 444 in Edinburgh
949 reviews
Balmoral Guesthouse
#96 of 444 in Edinburgh
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh
West End
Valentine City Centre Guest House
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#50 of 444 in Edinburgh
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmore House

Property: Balmore House
Address: 34 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Balmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmore House Hotel Edinburgh
Balmore House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing