We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aaran Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$503
$407
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$227
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$151
$126
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$251
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$168
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$185
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
95
28
7
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
28
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseb bcity centrebus and trainappointed roomsfour poster bedclose proximitywe've stayedbottled waterbreakfast was excellentcomfortable beddouble roomgood sizeportobelloguesthouselinksfringe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 134 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2009

My husband and I spent our 2nd anniversary at the Guest House and were very impressed with the standard of entire house. It far exceeds the quality of any hotel at that price. Theresa was very hospitable and it made our stay all the more enjoyable.

There is a lovely beach and promenade 5 mins walk from the guest house and buses to the city centre are just outside and frequent.

If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely stay at Aaran!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiqueScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed two nights at Aaran Lodge. The house is lovely and well kept, but we felt we overpaid for what we recieved (110 pounds per night plus 3% charge for using a credit card). It is a good 20 minute (or more) bus ride outside of Edinburgh city center and there are no shops or restaurants within walking distance (except for the hotel right next door). Also, I was slightly annoyed to find that while we were out for the day, the person who cleaned our room moved things around to where they "should" have been. I had to search the room for my glasses and other items. Because of this and other things, I did not feel particularly welcome in this house.
Also, part of the driving directions on their website was incorrect. In the sentence that says "Go straight over then left at the next junction onto Milton Road East" The word 'left' should be changed to 'right'.

2  Thank ASeattelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

nice hotel - very well decorated - friendly people - still close to the center of Edinburgh - good place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendrik-Antwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Having spent a week travelling around Scotland this was certainly an excellent start to our trip. A lovely decorated house with nothing left out. The rooms were of a very high standard and Theresa and her staff were very obliging in every way. the breakfasts were delightful and very hearty indeed. Although not near the centre the bus was very frequent leaving from just outside the guest house. Parking was avaliable all the time. A very good find and would highly recommend it to anyone and will certainly return again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagherafeltBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

This beautifully decorated B&B is located outside of Edinburgh city center, on A1, and in mixed residential/ commercial center (car/bus always necessary). Georgeous interior decoration.
Unfortunately, staff is not efficient. The intern and manager engage into long sequences of statements and excuses about how busy they are ..., a bit of a bother.
Restricted breakfast (by quallity and one has to ask for about everything twice).
The 'calm' room booked turned out to be very noisy (location and lack of any sound-proof from other rooms, in particular above).
This B&B could be fabulous if service and sound-proof improved. For the time being, I won't go back...

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank scotland099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews