We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possible the best B&B in Great Britain”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aaran Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aaran Lodge
Ranked #112 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Possible the best B&B in Great Britain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is possibly the best B&B you will ever find. The rooms are absolutely magnificent - large and furnished to a 5 star standard. The owner has done a magnificent job in providing top draw accommodation. Continental breakfast is excellent and the overall cost is really very reasonable. Parking is right outside the front door and a bus stop for buses into central Edinburgh a few metres away (central Edinburgh traffic is a nightmare and has been for a while with the new tramline works causing chaos). It doesn't get any better than this.

Room Tip: We had two roomes - one on the ground floor and one on the first floor. They were both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    26
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
67
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have just spent two nights at the Aaran Lodge whilst visiting family nearby, a very relaxing and pleasant experience. I cannot fault it, wonderful service, good food and spotless comfortable room. I think it is the best guest house I have stayed in and hope to return. Thank you Theresa and Alec for making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Wow just spent 2 nights at Aaron lodge 30 milton rd.The best Guesthouse we have stayed in it says 4 star but should be 5 stars it puts other 4 stars to shame,the attention to detail is first class,food excellent and staff friendly and made you most welcome

Room Tip: we stayed room 4 had fourposter bed other family menbers had room 7 both excellent and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denholm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Everything about Aaran Lodge is good. The decor, the fittings, the rooms are comfortable. Just watch out for the expectation to check out by 10:00 a.m. - this was a bit early for us!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is a very nice guest house. The rooms are of a very high standard. My only moan is about this shower. It was ok. I like a power shower and my room didn't have one. Everything else 10 out of 10 with very friendly host's

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just had 2 nights at Aaron Lodge. The accommodation has nice decor and very clean the bedrooms very comfortable with comfy beds. It lived up to the expectations from the web site. What didn't was the breakfast firstly having to ask for items such as another glass of juice or extra butter to go with the extra toast and the cheap sausages spoilt the otherwise very good breakfast. We usually like to relax and take our time over breakfast but did not feel comfortable doing that here which was a shame.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

I found the decor , furniture, large rooms and owners immaculate. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Owners attentive to your every need.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilboscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel
2.5 mi away
Aaron Lodge
Aaron Lodge
#32 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockville Hotel
Rockville Hotel
#36 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aynetree Guest House
Aynetree Guest House
#149 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#142 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mackenzie Bunks
Mackenzie Bunks
#2 of 3 in Musselburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaran Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaran Lodge

Property: Aaran Lodge
Address: 30 Milton Road East, Edinburgh EH15 2NJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaran Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Georgian Townhouse provides luxurious four-star accommodation, en-suite rooms tastefully decorated and furnished to the highest standard and fully equipped with large satellite t.v., internet access. Located near beach golf, close/easy access to city center. We offer double, twin or family rooms suitable for up to 5 persons; discounts for children and longer stays, free parking, friendly family run: this is why our guests return time and again so book today and have a wonderful stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aaran Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaran Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing