We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Royal Circus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
One Royal Circus
Ranked #196 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

this is the best B&B I have stayed in the past few years! Beautiful designed rooms, excellent breakfast, even Scottish and Continental and great facilities inside the building for our use. I was there during the Fringe festival for four nights together with my family and we will definitely come back again. Thank you Mike, Susan and your staff for this great experience!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hermdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    5
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
54
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My friend and I spent a wonderful couple of days here and LOVED it. I plan to take my husband next time for a romantic couple of nights! Everything was brilliant. The location (5-10 minute walk from the city centre). The building - awesome but oh so comfortable. The ambience, grand but intimate too. The breakfast rooom and lounge providing a wonderful start and finish to the day with it's view across the crescent gardens. And the staff couldn't have been more helpful; providing bespoke and freshly made cinnamon croissants - even when the first batch had gone and we were the later breakfast guests, more were made. Loved it, loved it, loved it. And hopefully it won't be too long before I'm back - with husband in tow :-)

Room Tip: Our room was great; I doubt there was a bad one in it. One of the joys was that although it was a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at One Royal Circus while taking our son to Edinburgh University. Since he is on a four year course, I will be taking every opportunity to return in order to stay here again! We were welcomed by Carrie, who showed us around the house and said to make ourselves at home - which we did! Great room, lots of space and very airy. Great combination of traditional and contemporary design and good bathroom. Took quite a long time for the water to come through hot, though, so don't give up - it does arrive! We had a room in the Upper House, next to the Drawing Room and Bar area - very handy for the complimentary glass of wine after a day sightseeing. We sat on the lovely, comfortable sofas in the beautiful Drawing Room and my husband worked for an hour and I browsed through the coffee table books - while enjoying our drinks. It was like home from home!
Next time I would ask for a higher level room in the Upper House, as breakfast is laid up in the Bar area when it is busy and we were disturbed by the noise a little earlier than we would have liked - but insignificant when compared to the overall experience. Breakfast was truly a delight - most delicious bacon my husband has ever had, he says - and he's VERY picky! All beautifully cooked to order by the multi-talented Carrie.
Nespresso machines in the bedrooms and also in the Drawing Room are an indicator that the owners know their market. It was a pleasure and I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Higher Levels in Upper House and perhaps over the front - although over the back is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliaEastSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really could not recommend this accommodation highly enough. We chose to stay here for our wedding night on the recommendation of friends and family and we were so impressed with the level of service, luxury and comfort.

The room was wonderful, with an extremely comfortable bed and an outstanding bathroom and lounge area.

There is a lounge for guests with a self-service bar and a baby grand piano for use by guests, as well as a games room with a pool table. The interiors of the rooms are just stunning.

The breakfast was wonderful and was cooked in front of us.

We only wish that we were able to spend more time at the hotel to fully appreciate all of its luxury and comfort (as we had to leave to travel down to London to start our honeymoon the next morning) but our experience of the hotel was really outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This upmarket B&B, not far from the centre of Edinburgh, was the perfect refuge from the Festival and Fringe crowds! A feast for the eyes, sumptuous furnishings, wonderful bedrooms and a delicious breakfast (from the menu). This is a place for young or older couples who want a secluded escape. No comforts spared! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Quite simply, the best hotel experience I have had. To call it a hotel doesn't really do it justice, as it felt more like our own private mansion. Beautiful interiors, well presented room, great food and service...Not to mention, baby grand piano, stunning first floor guest room, pool table...

If you are looking for a boutique hotel in Edinburgh, look no further.

Room Tip: We had room 2, which was quiet, spacious and overlooked the rear garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smitne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

One Royal Circus has to be seen to be believed. It's elegant, sophisticated, classy, stylish, and unbelievably comfortable. It's in a perfect location, with restaurants and shops nearby. The atmosphere is relaxed, with kitchen and bar privileges open to all. The full breakfast was delicious, and yes, haggis was offered, and yes, it was delicious. I sincerely wish we could've stayed longer than two nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MArthur0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#67 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Millers 64
#78 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
New Town
A Georgian Residence at No. 11 Moray Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Royal Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Royal Circus

Property: One Royal Circus
Address: 1 Royal Circus, Edinburgh EH3 6TL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Royal Circus is a stunning Townhouse located in the heart of Edinburgh's New Town. It combines the Georgian architecture of William Playfair with modern amenities and is a short stroll from Princes Street and many of Edinburgh's best galleries, bars and restaurants. A regular celebrity haunt this 5* property offers the discerning visitor a home from home in the heart of a great city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1 Royal Circus
One Royal Circus Hotel Edinburgh
One Royal Circus Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing