We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Crioch Guest House

Crioch Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crioch Guest House
Ranked #146 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Frodsham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My sister and I stayed for a long weekend.
The guest house was wonderful,very warm welcome,excellent bedrooms, superb breakfasts and lovely convivial atmosphere. Quite close to the city centre and we walked in or took a short bus ride. Very close to the waterfront at Leith with excellent restaurants and the big draw is the Royal yacht there. We will definitely go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmorpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
13
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cordoba, argentina
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great B&B Everything`s Excellent. The owners Dora and James very nice and friendly people!! Excellent beds, super clean place, great breakfast, ask for the croissants!!! Spanish and English Soken. Had a wonderful stay al the Crioch!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merymeryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This B&B is run by a very sweet and genuine couple. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was nice and the bus ride to Edinburgh city centre only take 15 mins. The bus stop is right outside the house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyboofaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

On first overall introduction . Quite outstanding & reasonably priced. Clean, well-maintained. Street parking, Reliable bus service to town centre.
However, the surprise, was the insistency of removing shoes, by the front door (irrelevant of wet or muddy). Not come across this before.
The proprietor, very polite & helpful, although did not meet Mrs. Proprietor, which I'd have preferred, at least once. The rooms were cleaned & tidied, daily. Breakfast was readily available & nicely presented, but lacked quantity, both choices and on plate,felt bit "Oliver"ish, asking for more.
Finally, directly outside of bedroom, on corridor, was bright light, on all night. Due to gaps round door, & bed facing the door, was not a good option for total unwinding.
To sum up, this is still a fair balanced accommodation. o.k. for the price.

Room Tip: Ask proprietor, key questions, prior to booking, to avoid too many disappointments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just stayed at The Crioch Guest House,Leith Links for two nights - good value for money,central for the city without being too close.Bus stop right outside the property with a very decent regular service into centre if required.
Hosts very friendly without being "in your face" & on hand if there was anything we required.
Recommend to friends and family for future stay in Edinburgh.
Thanks Ruth & Chris - Manchester

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at that place several times as it is now my favorite for my business trips. Wonderful couple, most kind and helpful, do everything right and offer all help (including booking taxis etc) . Very pretty accomodation, comfortable, clean and quiet! And the breakfast is just great!

Room Tip: Has no swimming pool or fitness centre :))))
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed in the crioch b&b a few times whilst working in and around Edinburgh and I must admit I've never known cleanliness like it, it's absolutely spot, I actually look forward to working away in Edinburgh now just so i get to stay at crioch. I would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Edinburgh, and last but not least the full Scottish breakfast is to die for and is perfectly cooked. Thank you for the pleasure Dora and James.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#108 of 149 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Malmaison Hotel Edinburgh
#93 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,771 reviews
Mackenzie Guest House
#132 of 392 in Edinburgh
76 reviews
Culane House Hotel
#143 of 392 in Edinburgh
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crioch Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crioch Guest House

Property: Crioch Guest House
Address: 23 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Crioch Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crioch Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing