We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, nice and friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dorstan Guest House
Ranked #75 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Dorstan Guest House was a quiet and friendly stop in Edinburgh. It is about a 40 minute walk to Royal Mile/Castle---but the bus stop is a block away (though sometimes you do have to wait). In looking for a triple, this was about the best we could find. It is old...not new soap or shampoo the next day...but it was quiet. Not even very hot even though we were there during heat wave (for Scotland). Breakfast was good--had option of haggis, even! It was a Scottish breakfast--with porridge if you wanted, too. Walls were thick--and little noise throughout house or neighborhood--for us, that was a huge plus. It is not a "happening" spot--but that was perfect for us. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merkles1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at Dorstan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit. You did mention a couple of things we would like to respond to!

We must have given you the wrong directions to the Royal Mile as it should take about 20 minutes at a reasonable walk! We recommend guests use the bus - it is unusual to have to wait for more than 10 minutes for a bus as we have four bus numbers on our route. The Lothian Bus £3.50 all day ticket provides great value for getting around Edinburgh.

We are also pleased not to be in 'happening area'!! But in a lovely quiet residential area with pleasant Victorian buildings. We get a lot of 'refugee' guests from hotels in the centre of the Old Town who find it too noisy at night throughout the year! As you did, guests prefer our nice quiet area and a 10 minute bus ride to the Old Town.

We provide individual soap bars and body wash bottles in the rooms and replenish with new ones every day. But we would not necessarily remove an only slightly used soap from the washbasin or less than half used body wash bottle from the shower. However, on your suggestion we will remove the half used body wash bottles.

If as a guest you need anything please just ask!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have been staying at Dorstan Guest House over the years and will no doubt continue to do so in future. I must go to Edinburgh often and Richard and Maki have always been wonderful hosts making me feel at home. The location is excellent as you are very close to the centre of the city yet away from the noise of the town. You can enjoy a good walk in Holyrood Park, go for a swim at nearby Commonwealth Public Pool, there is private parking as well as free parking on the road and you have a very good bus connection. At a stretch, if you feel active you can easily walk to the Royal Mile and be there in twenty minutes. There is internet connection and you start your day with a delicious breakfast. Strongly recommended. Will go there again when next in the Scottish capital.

Room Tip: if you are on a tight budget you can have a room without a bathroom and the shared facilities are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vrwfainbinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Dorstan Guest house while experiencing Edinburgh. We loved Richard and Maki's warm and friendly hospitality which made our stay very comfortable. A small parking lot is included in the property so we could leave our car behind and make the short walk to the bus which took us right into the city. We were pleased to find such a charming place for such an affordable price! The room was very clean and the breakfasts were fantastic. Definitely a place to recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerdaDaValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel and can highly recommend it! Very comfortable room, great service and fantastic breakfast. Great location too, a short bus ride into the city centre. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McStuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

my partner and I stayed here recently for 4 nights in a double ensuite room and we found it very comfortable. we had a very friendly welcome and the room came with plenty of tea and biscuits, as well as soaps/shower gels in the bathroom. towels were changed every day and although the room was a little dated it really didnt bother us at all. there was a lot of choice at breakfast, which came quickly every morning and richard was more than happy to suggest ideas for the day. almost every day we walked towards the royal mile, this took about half an hour but was a pleasant walk.

we really enjoyed our time here and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely hospitable and well informed on the city and attractions. The rooms are a little dated but I think quite fitting for the feel of Edinburghs old town. Most importantly they were clean and tidy. There was plenty of choice for the breakfast and whist the quantity a little too much for me, my husband was more than happy! Overall, very good value and would definitely stay there again :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Full credit to the owner for a friendly welcome, with tea, etc and a lovely breakfast served by the host's gentle partner but oh dear, very tired and shabby accommodation. My room was grubby with shabby furniturel; the family's clothes were in one of the drawer units. The duvet was of a poor quality. The patio doors in the sitting room/kitchenette looked out onto the bins which were overflowing with rubbish. I could not access the wardrobe as the bed was so close to it. The small, narrow bathroom with a sliding door that just did not fit the opening, really required some updating. The bathroom window was grubby, with no blind or curtain. There were no little extras provided at all, though I did receive a tiny bar of soap on my last evening which I did not understand. I do feel that the charges for this B&B are way too steep and should be more in line with hostel charges. My stay at the Dorstan was memorable for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thatsamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
94DR
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#70 of 393 in Edinburgh
218 reviews
4.9 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#67 of 393 in Edinburgh
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#193 of 393 in Edinburgh
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#14 of 393 in Edinburgh
362 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#40 of 393 in Edinburgh
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorstan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorstan Guest House

Address: 7 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $50 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorstan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dorstan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorstan Private Hotel
Dorstan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing