We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #27 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Location: Great location, 5 minute walk from Royal Mile and 10 minutes from Edinburgh castle. There are at least two grocery stores very close as well as restaurants. Lots of people walking around so it always felt safe, even at night. The hotel is down a small street, but is easy to locate by the KFC restaurant on the corner.
Rooms: Very clean with a large bathroom; tv, free internet, desk,closet with safe. The bathroom door has three see-through sections, but as it is not facing the bed or desk area it's not a big issue.
Service: Upon arrival, we were informed we would have to wait a few hours to check in, but they do have a luggage room behind the front desk. They don't really watch you put anything in or take anything out, so I wouldn't leave any valuables. We were given our key just before check in, and all staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Excellent service
Overall, this was a great hotel at a great price. We always felt safe in the area and it's a short taxi cab to Waverly station, where you can catch the bus to the airport. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandisAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    606
    187
    61
    31
See reviews for
135
1,056
74
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We absolutely loved the hotel, it was everything we hoped it would be. Upon arrival we were informed by the very friendly reception staff that we had been upgraded to a Skyline room. The room was immaculate, large and really attractive, with amazing views over the rooftops to Arthur's Seat and the Firth of Forth.
The location of the hotel is perfect as many have already said. Before we went I was concerned looking at the map that it would be quite a long walk to the main attractions, bars and restaurants, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that everywhere was easliy within walking distance, we didn't need a taxi the whole time.
We enjoyed breakfast in bed the first morning, but as it is quite pricey for what you get we went to the Black Medicine Coffee Co the other mornings which I would highly recommend.
This hotel is great value and the gorgeous room made for a very special stay. We would absolutely return there next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiraeth29th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

It is great to find a hotel which is everything it claims to be. Great location, clean and comfortable rooms, obliging and courteous staff. We did not opt for breakfast but it looked inviting. Fee internet to rooms although large upload files appeared to be blocked so not good for uploading reasonably sized photographs top on-line albums but that's just a minor quibble.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkaboutAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I have just returned from a loveky weekend in Edinburgh with my boyfriend. We stayed at this hotel based mainly on reviews. The location was really good esp for the Royal Mile and the hotel itself was nice and clean. We arrived very early on our first day and our room was ready which was great! Reception staff and helpful but not very friendly.

On our first morning we ordered our breakfast to our room....the choice on this menu was not great so we both ordered the sausage and bacon roll and fruit. It turned out to be a small bap with one rubbery sausage and one rasher....the fruit consisted of tinned orange and grapefruit....overall this was not fulfilling and v disappointing! The next morning we decided it would be better to go to the buffet was basically had the same tinned fruit and rubbery sausages! The breakfast was included in our room rate luckily as otherwise you are expected to pay £10 per person for this nasty food!

All in all though the hotel is very good and I would certainly recommend it on the basis of location and nice rooms, however I would suggest you would not pay for breakfast here and insteag find a lovely place on the Royal Mile for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinSIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed at 10 Hill Place for 2 nights. We arrived early and our bags were put into a locked room and we were given a time when our room was likely to be ready. We went out for a bit, returned on time, and our room was ready. The rooms, as noted elsewhere, are modern, which may not suit everyone. It's not my favorite style, but I thought the room was done up well. And it was quiet, always a concern for me (light sleeper). My only complain about the facility is the lack of choices on TV, but then again, I didn't go to Scotland to watch TV! Good service, excellent facility, lots of pubs and restaurants nearby, excellent location for exploring old town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Great place to stay. Very nice, clean, the biggest rooms I've seen in traveling around Europe and the UK. We would totally stay here again. Its about a 10 min walk to the Royal Mile, nothing major. While there walk to Waverly Bridge, buy the Royal Pass an see everything! We would surely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jscottk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My husband and I (early 30s) stayed at this hotel in May 2009. The hotel is modern, new, clean, and very reasonably priced for the quality of the hotel. It is located in between the Royal Mile and the University, on a quiet side street. It was close enough to walk to the Royal Mile and related attractions (5 min walk), but far enough removed to get more authentic (aka non-touristy) food and experiences. We stayed for four nights and found our room extremely comfortable and enjoyable. Our only complaint was with the shower (the shower door did not keep the water from spraying out and the shower head kept sliding down), but it sounds like the management is aware of this wide-spread problem, has ordered parts, and did their best to create a temporary solution to help us.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ren0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,319 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as "conference hotel of the year 2015" Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing