We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience in a not very safety hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #20 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 22, 2014

First of all every day after the room was cleaned the lady left the door unlocked.
Fire alarm triggered by mistake at 5.20am by a member staff.
Bed sheets are too small for the bed.
Electric safety checked due for about 4 years like you can check on the pictures.
How can be a suppose 4 star hotel with a 4 year missing electric check?

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel by any means
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gonçalo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. I do wish to address your points about safety in our hotel. We are fully compliant and highly diligent with all matters relating to health and safety. I sincerely wish that I was given the opportunity to discuss in person your concerns, I would have gladly shared with you the relevant documents showing our electrical tests and records. I as any other hotelier would have merely wished the full opportunity to address and put right anything that was not as expected.

The pictures that you have posted are of a towel rail, a fixed electrical appliance, which for some reason has a portable appliance test sticker attached to it. I cannot explain why this appliance would have such a test sticker attached to it especially as it would be from 4-5 years ago, many years before my time. Portable electrical appliances, those that are moved from place to place frequently are required to be tested annually, portable electrical appliances which do not move frequently are required to be tested every three years. Towel rails do not fall in to these categories. Any towel rail that was not operating correctly would be reported by the housekeeping team. Any potential serious electrical fault could be identified by the relevant breaker switch continually tripping on the distribution board serving the room or during the fixed wire testing which occurs every five years.

I do wish to fully assure any readers that our electrical safety records and test certificates are fully up to date. Portable appliance testing for the hotel is scheduled to take place during the month of May, in excess of 600 electrical appliances will be tested. Our fixed wire electrical testing is not due until April 2017.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Good value, placed perfectly in the city and just a stones throw from the royal mile, clean bedroom great sizes and comfy beds at the end of a long day of trekking, very handy with the car parking facilities also! definitely would stay here again

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JonQuiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We are most pleased to receive and read your review. Thanks for your great comments relating to our location, space, comfort and cleanliness of your bedroom. You say that you will definitely stay again - what more could we ask for!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A pleasant, clean, modern, 4 star hotel situated a short stroll from Royal Mile. Staff are very friendly & helpful & take good care of their customers. Had a delicious dinner in the restaurant; fillet steak with dauphinoise potatoes was superb & the Amaretto ice cream delicious! Breakfast was great with lots of choice and plentiful coffee.
Room was small, but well decorated with a comfortable bed. The bathroom clean and modern with a good powerful shower.
Would stay again if in Edinburgh.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks ever so much for your great comments, the team too will be delighted to read your review. You say that you would stay with us again - what more could we ask for!!

Do be sure to contact us directly to make your next booking.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have been to Edinburgh at least once a year for the last five years, and we have never been inclined to stay anywhere else. Ten Hill Place has always been clean and modern, and we have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The rooms are light and airy with all the mod cons you could reasonably want, and we have never been disappointed. In our experience the hotel has always responded well to both praise and criticism, and we have had little reason to offer the latter. We will be returning to Edinburgh later in the year, and Ten Hill Place is where we will be staying.

Room Tip: For a bit of extra luxury try the Skyline suites. We stayed in one of them once and it was wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We are all highly delighted to receive and read your review, thank you very much. I would wish to thank you for your previous custom and very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We chose to stay at this hotel because of it's proximity to the Festival Theatre, which is just around the corner. Definitely a thumbs up for the location - The Royal Mile is only a 5-10 minute walk away with Princes Street another 5 minutes on. In the immediate vicinity there are lots of shops, bars and restaurants.

The hotel itself was very clean and the receptionist checking us in was very friendly, although the one checking us out was a little grumpy.

We had pre-paid for an upgraded room - which essentially is just a larger room. We only stayed for one night so it wasn't really worth it for us - but I'm sure the extra space would be great for longer stays. The room was well appointed with hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and a small bottle of water on arrival. The bathroom was a bit odd, in that the door is glass and only frosted in parts - so anyone else in the room can see in. The towels have clearly seen better days - ours were rough and frayed around the edges - but they were clean. Complimentary shower gel and shampoo were also provided. The shower could do with a good clean.

The bar area is a little lifeless but is comfortable enough and the prices are reasonable.

At breakfast the choice and quality of food was great. Staff weren't very attentive, we had to ask for plates to be cleared away and they weren't forthcoming with coffee top-ups. Fried and poached eggs are made to order which is great and they bring them over to your table. Sadly by the time the eggs arrived the rest of the hot food was cold.

All in all, this is a good base and is reasonably priced for what is on offer. I would stay again but I don't think it would be my first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your comprehensive feedback. We are most happy to read the many positives and do of course take on board your other comments for review and improvement. I do hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel again.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Very helpful staff on arrival. Bright and modern room that was clean and welcoming. Very comfy bed and lots of piping hot water. As this hotel is just off the main thoroughfare, street noise was not a problem at all. A short walk to plenty bars and restaurant and a healthy stretch of the legs to Princes Street. Excellent value for the money. All in all, a very pleasant stay and would return

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank M J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and in particular commenting upon the friendliness of our team members and hotel cleanliness. The team will be best pleased to read also.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our children had booked this hotel for my husband and I for a Christmas present so I don't know what the price was. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, we had a very large spacious room .It was very clean and immaculately decorated, there was free wifi and a tv. There was tea and coffee facilities, fresh towels and an iron ( which we didn't use). The hotel is situated right in the centre of the city so everything was literally on our doorstep. There was limited parking spaces but we managed to get one for a price of £15 per day. We only stayed one night but we are planning to return for the full weekend. Ps the breakfast wasn't bad either.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

It is highly pleasing to read your review. We are highly delighted to read that you wish to return for a whole weekend. Do be sure to contact us directly to make your next booking, we would be very happy to oversee your arrangements personally.

Chris & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,438 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,889 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $97 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place is one of Edinburgh’s most desirable city-center hotels. Our stylish hotel boasts a number of awards including conference hotel of the year 2015 and hotel chef of the year. We have 77 bedrooms, and are consistently praised for our very friendly staff and going that extra mile to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. As a result, we have many customers that visit us repeatedly. We are a matter of minutes away from all Edinburgh city-center attractions by foot and are close to all local transport links if you want to venture that little bit further. Our wine-bar and restaurant provide the best quality Scottish produce with a vast plethora of Corney and Barrow wines. We are Edinburgh's charitable hotel and donate profits to The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh. Money spent at the hotel improves patient outcomes and saves lives the world over by delivering much needed surgical skills to all corners of the globe. Why not consider us the next time you visit Edinburgh? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing