We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #28 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Ten hill place is without doubt one of the best value for money hotels in Edinburgh. The hotel sits nestled in a peaceful quaint little street away from the traffic noise yet only a stone throw from the royal mile. We stayed in one of the four skyline rooms on the top floor so expected something a bit special and we weren't disappointed. Ten hill place is immaculate throughout and is living proof that modern doesn't have to mean cold, its stylish contemporary decor is comfortable and inviting. Front desk staff were helpful and polite as with the rest of the staff who were always available to offer assistance. Breakfast was plentiful and varied and cooked to perfection. Simply can't fault this hotel, we even managed a few drinks at the bar without getting our pants pulled down which makes for a nice change. You have to try the brass monkey pub around the corner in Drummond street, weird and wonderful!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ians48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your great comments they are most appreciated and the team will certainly enjoy your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    620
    190
    63
    32
See reviews for
138
1,078
75
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My Fiancée and I stayed for 2 nights and must say, the staff and facilities were just what you need for exploring what Edinburgh has to offer. The rooms are very clean and modern, the location is excellent (5-10 minutes walk to Royal Mile) The breakfast is very much appreciated to fuel you for your morning exploring. Would highly recommend and will definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Burners81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your wonderful comments and feedback, they are sincerely appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in this centrally located during the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. It was in a fantastic location for events. We found the hotel clean and comfortable to a point. Our mattress was broken and this was rectified quickly and efficiently but not once did any member of staff apologize for the uncomfortable nights sleep or sympathise in any way. We found the staff aloof and distinctly unfriendly. I filled out a feed back form stating my feelings but heard no more from them. Customer service distinctly lacking!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella-van-Eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Sorry to read your comments from your stay with us back in August. Your feedback and comments are fully noted and will be shared with the team here at the hotel.

I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Ten Hill Place for 7 nights in October 2013. Our room was clean and well appointed. The staff members were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The marvelous breakfast buffet and the hotel restaurant were added bonuses in addition to the location. Everything was perfect. I would stay there again and would highly recommend this quality establishment to anyone. Bravo!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJoArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments and feedback. The team will be delighted to read them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, Fri-mon 21st oct. We upgraded on arrival to a skyline room whereby we got a small suite. The room itself was clean and comfortable. We have stay in quite a lot of hotels and whilst this was a good price it lacked the extra niceties of a suite. The toiletries were sparse and whilst I'm not a massive one for them, this time I really could have done with some hand cream but all we had was some citrus shower gel, shampoo & soap. The tea bags appeared cheap and we ended up with tea leaves in our drink all the time. The coffee was average sachets. They could take a leaf out of some other hotels whereby their top rooms have Nespresso machines or at least ground coffee. We had 4 coffees from the lobby.... All Luke warm too!

The worse bit about our room was the flood light which was right outside our bedroom window. When we called to ask if we could have it switched off at midnight or 1am, the answer was no, it remained on all night and lit up our room!

Upon checkout, I was very surprised not to have a "thank you for staying"... No one seemed to care and no eye contact. Staff had greyed shirts and looked like they needed a hair brush!

So if you want a clean yet basic hotel this is for you, but personally I think you could do better!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EllenCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THP M, Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your comments and feedback. Please be fully assured that we take on-board your comments and we will be sharing them with the team to make the necessary improvements.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Chris & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Lenaarts (Belgium)
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our citytrip to Edinburgh. In short, our room was great, comfortable. Staff were also friendly, good breakfast (this was an extra cost, though). And near the city's Old Town. If I ever travel back to Edinburgh, this would be my hotel of choice

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasDukeOfHazzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Perfect in every way!we had a great time location brilliant meal at the hotel was gorgeous couldn't fault any part of our stay at all. Room spotless house keeping was A1 staff friendly and helpful decor was tasteful and room size first class would recommend highly

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcoop73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,361 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,126 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,069 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as "conference hotel of the year 2015" Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing