We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #25 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Some of the most pleasant, helpful, courteous and lovely staff ever (particularly check in) - and my wife and I have stayed at many nice hotels the world over. Modern hotel, nice rooms, close to centre (10 mins walk). Great value for money. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you thank you for your lovely comments about our staff. They will be forwarded a copy of this review. We do hope you come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    600
    184
    60
    29
See reviews for
130
1,040
73
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This is our fourth stay at this hotel. Once again we were very pleased with the experience. Dinner, tapas style in the bar, was a good option most nights and we can highly recommend the lamb dish and steak from the restaurant menu. We stayed four days and housekeeping was a little ad hoc some days with bathroom and tea/coffee/biscuit supplies not being topped up. Not something that particularly worried us. Would definitely recommend Ten Hill Place Hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank XOX140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our chef is very passionate about this food and we are about to launch our autumn menu next week. Housekeeping comments have bee noted. We look forward to seeing you here again in the neat future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just back from the hotel again, lost count of the number of years we have stayed here. It is ideally situated for a short visit for the Festival. Always have found the hotel clean and the buffet breakfast sets us up for the day. The only thing I can comment on-2 people in the room however after the first night, housekeeping only leave 1 bottle of water and 1 packet of biscuits. Mentioned this to reception Monday evening on our way out and the missing items were replaced whilst we were out. Next day same thing and only 1 towel was left. Kevin from reception had to bring up coffee for my daughter and I mentioned this to him again. He immediately left, brought back more water, biscuits and towels, saying that it is standard practice only to leave one of each item however as we had raised it the day before, we should have had 2 of everything replaced. Was leaving the following day so no idea what would have been left. He also offered us a complimentary drink which we did not take advantage of as we were rushing out to a show. So full marks to Kevin on his prompt action. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitchjayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Delighted you are promising to come back again next year. Your housekeeping issues have been noted and your comments will be passed onto Kevin - thank you for mentioning him in your note. See you in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you have £250.00 a night to spend on a hotel then there must be better places to stay in Edinburgh for the money than No.10 Hill Place. No dressing gowns, no views from windows, faulty plumbing (cold water only one day, scalding and uncontrollable supply the next), no daily replacement of towels, no topping up of bathroom tissues, very limited room menu after 10.00pm, no mini bar and the hotel recommended secure parking is a long way away (we found somewhere closer and far more secure ourselves).
This hotel is located in a quite 'seedy' part of Edinburgh so anyone considering a visit should perhaps think twice about this as a choice of hotel to stay at. Whilst the main areas appear clean and fresh to look at (more Travel Lodge than Ritz) our bedroom (windows) and in particular the bathroom were poorly finished showing a degree of cost cutting, or perhaps just a lack of an eye for detail (I'm architecturally trained incidentally). Tile pointing, painting around the windows, sloppy silicone pointing were all too obvious to see and didn't give a good impression at all.
On the plus side, the breakfasts were fine and we did eat there one evening when the meal was very good. However, a white wine that my wife ordered arrived 'flat as a pancake' and tasting as if it had been watered down, although I wouldn't say that this was actually the case. They did however apologize and replace this with a new glass at no cost.
Nope, this isn't a 4 star hotel and should in my view be re-rated more accurately at perhaps 2.5 stars maximum with room prices to match the rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryPippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Ten Hill Place Hotel and clearly there are comments you have made which we need to take on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The location is good and possibly the best thing about this hotel as we found the accommodation disappointing. The classic rooms are tiny and the furniture is battered and tired, for example an old style TV cabinet, now has a flat screen balanced on top of it, this should have been replaced. The room servicing was also poor, the bedroom had not been hoovered properly and the bathroom sink was dirty. The glass bathroom door is also a strange addition but if you want a good profile view of your partner on the toilet this is the place for you. The common areas in the hotel are more student union than the 'quiet sophistication' that the hotel claims, but the reception staff were efficient. We did not eat in the restaurant, but having had a long journey, ordered room service on our first night. This was a mistake. On our initial call to room service, we were asked to call back as they were busy and having complied, they took nearly one hour to bring the tray and when they did so they hadn't even brought a knife and fork. There are nicer hotels in Edinburgh, in the same price range that are just as well located and we suggest that you opt for these.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lahmouna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I am sorry you did not find the Hotel to your satisfaction and all your comments have been noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

If you're like me and a bit of a clean freak then this is the hotel for you. The rooms were impeccably clean and spacious. Although for some reason our room had a glass door to the bathroom so your other half can watch you on the toilet!? Not sure why this was put in but it was an interesting feature and made us laugh. Certainly brought us closer together.

All in all it was in a good location but I think maybe a little over priced due to the time of year. Expected a bit better breakfast for 12.50!? Table service might justify that price but the buffet system certainly didn't.

All in all would stay here again although perhaps it's a little expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemlaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and your candid feedback!! Indeed the bathroom doors do polarise opinion, and we have taken steps in some rooms to frost the see-through parts, which we will roll out to the rest of the hotel in due course.
Our housekeeping team will be proud to hear we have surpassed your expectations, and it is always nice to know thier efforts are noticed by our customers.
I feel our breakfast does represent good value for money, and I'm sorry you felt this wasn't represented during your stay.
I hope you enjoy your time in our city during the Festival, and I hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyro, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The room was spacious and very nice. The service in the reception was very good. The bed was comfortable, although some people might find it a bit on the hard side.
The hotel was situated very well in the center of the town. We had a walking distance to the Castle and Holyrood palace, and the National museum was right around the corner.

The breakfast was ok, but we only eat there the first morning. The other days we ate at the city cafe close by (red building around the corner), which served excellent breakfast all day, and it was half the price at the hotel. The first night we stayed in town we ate dinner at the hotel. Would not recommend this. The food was boring and tasteless.. But there are plenty of good restaurants close by. Especially Ti amo just around the corner.

Would definetely stay at this hotel if I where to visit Edinbugh again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for your kind comments about our team which I will be sure to pass on.
I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your expereince in our restaurant, we usually receive wonderful feedback about it from non-residents and guests alike. Our Head Chef has produced another fantastic seasonal menu from the freshest of local ingredients and his team work very hard to ensure this is delivered consistently. However, food is indeed a subjective topic and I am sorry it did not suit your taste.
I am pleased our location was ideal for you, and I hope that you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#35 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as "conference hotel of the year 2015" Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing