We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #26 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
“Terrible!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

After a long day of traveling we arrived around 9pm to find that our room was given away. The front desk said that the hotel was overbooked, but interestingly enough we had prepaid for the room weeks ahead of time. In their defense, they did call us a cab and set us up a room at another hotel in that was not as nice, didn't have internet in the rooms, and was not as conveniently located. Also, there were three employees of the hotel standing their rather than helping us with our heavy luggage out to the taxi.

We did stay in the Ten Place Hotel two nights before and the rooms were nice, but had to check out since we were taking a two-day Highlands excursion. It was upon our return that we got the bad news. So, the hotel was nice, but I cannot recommend since they overlooked our prepaid booking!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review, and your kind comments regarding your room on your intial visit. I do offer my apologies however that your return visit was complicated by our hotel being overbooked. Thankfully this happens rarely but sadly leaves us with little option but to seek accommodation for our guests elsewhere. It is not a course of action we take lightly and in all cases is a last resort. We do of course seek accommodation of the same standard or higher, and make an effort to limit inconvenience as far as we can.
I hope that you will consider our hotel if you return to Edinburgh in the future, I hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    592
    183
    60
    30
See reviews for
129
1,021
73
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, NZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one evening in July on our first night in the UK. Pleasant room and friendly staff. Short walk to the central city and Edinburgh Castle. Breakfast was adequate if not spectacular. Coffee standard disappointing. Not much parking space in the area. Good value.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Would like to know what the issue was you had with the coffee as our brand has always been very popular. Please e-mail me directly on m.walker@surgeonshall.com as we take all comments seriously and we would be interested to know what you felt was wrong with the coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Thought this would be a nice hotel, but was highly dissatisfied when we checked in, this is NOT a luxury hotel, room has dated cheap,furniture, the mattress is OLD, and lumpy. Room is large but not comfortable. I would not recommend this to anyone who,is looking for a 3star or better. The plus side is good location and a friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I appreciate your comments on our Hotel and our friendly staff. However, with regards your comments on us not being "luxury" - we have never claimed to be so. We are a good 4-star Hotel offering comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We have only been opened since 2006 and it is therefore difficult to accept our furniture is now described as "dated". Our mattresses have already been renewed and we have never had a complaint stating our mattresses are "lumpy" before. In fact quite the opposite most of our clients comment on the comfortable beds in our rooms. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in march when decided to go on a last minute get away. Hotel is not to far from the town about a 15-20 minute walk. Hotel was clean and the hotel staff were friendly. Breakfast was pretty poor though. Had a problem with being charged twice and it took s while to get back which wasn't good at the time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Delighed to hear your liked our Hotel. However I note you had issues with our breakfast and charges. If you would like to e-mail me directly at m.walker@surgeonshall.com with further details I will ensure your comments are passed onto the appropriate departments. We do take all complaints seriously and can only do this if we have the full details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel and well situated for the Royal Mile, Grassmarket and Edinburgh Waverly station only 10 mins walk. The room was very comfortable and nice decor. We ate out as there are lots of eating places nearby. We will return as this was an overnight on our way to London.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon at Ten Hill Place Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
650 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel is very good located - close to city center and a lot of attractions. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Reception service is very nice and helpful. But it seems that management is wrong e.g. I booked hotel trough booking.com and I got a total price and I guaranted it by credit card, when I wanted to pay by the same card at the hotel I was told that they have to chargé me 5% for that and it is a rule settled by management. Of course I refused but it spoilt the whole good impression about hotel. Generally I could reccomend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. I am sorry if you felt the credit card charge was unjustified. We are charged by our bank for all credit card payments, and this is mentioned on our website and in our guest directory. We would have been very happy to take debit card payment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for our daughter's degree ceremony as all of the other hotels in Edinburgh appeared to have tripled their tariff for graduation week. It's situated brilliantly for the University and the Old Town and contrary to some other reviews the rooms were large and spotlessly clean, and the staff really helpful. We have stayed before a couple of years ago and if anything the hotel has improved, with the new bar a welcome addition. Definitely recommended - the only complaint is the price of breakfast, which at £12.50 is too expensive.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul1859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do have a number of families staying with us during Graduation Days as we are located near all the University buildings. Your kind comments will be passed to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as 'conference hotel of the year 2015' Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing