We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and very central location and for a good cause”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #28 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and very central location and for a good cause”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is about 12 mins walk from Waverley Station and the Royal Mile so very central. Good value and nice rooms. Breakfast is very tasty, lots of variety and great cooked items including Scottish porridge and haggis. Room nice and big and comfy bed. The only downside was that the temperature of the shower was too hot, the sink cracked and the reception staff could be a little more cheerful and welcoming. The staff at breakfast however, were very charming. A really nice place to stay in a great city and the profits go to the Royal College of Surgeons to do philanthropic work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrLawBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and the service at breakfast. I’m sorry you felt the reception staff were unwelcoming, customer service is prioritized highly here and we take it very seriously when guests feel they were not met with the customer care they expect. We have taken your comments on board, and hope you will join us in the near future. We are pleased you noticed that our profits go to the charity-registered Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, to aid them in providing examinations and education for surgeons from all around the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    620
    191
    63
    32
See reviews for
138
1,079
75
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Needing accommodation in Central Edinburgh close to Waverley Station for an aviation conference the following day I found my first stay in this commercial enterprise of the Royal College of Surgeons to be everything I required. Close to the Playfair Building and the University of Edinburgh , especially its Fine Arts Institute , and within easy walking distance of Princes Street, the National Galleries and Museums, the extinct volcano which is the Mound (how many of us know that ?) and the High Kirk of Edinburgh aka St Giles' Cathedral, this comfortable hotel is even within walking distance of the Commonwealth Pool for those minded for this type of aerobic exercise - an experience which I thoroughly recommend. My bedroom & ensuite bathroom fully covered my needs on arrival at 10 pm, I having completed consulting that day in Wiltshire at 1 pm. Tea-making facilities in the room were fine and the morning view from the window an interesting one . Scottish kippers for breakfast were an added bonus as was the company at table of an trainee surgeon who was sitting his professional examinations later that day. My own success at these had been almost 30 years earlier and I assured him that the assessment process was scrupulously fair. A good start to the day after a quiet and comfortable night. Staff attentive and informative. I shall return.

Room Tip: I suggest upper floors .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickcooper186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind comments! We are indeed very close to many of the main attractions in Edinburgh, and do feel that being able to walk to many of these adds to the experience of staying with us. It seems like you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us; our guests’ satisfaction is our highest priority. We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely room but a bit cold when I arrived. Quiet. Mattress two singles put together. Sheets clean but didn't smell fresh. No tea or coffee making facilities. Another review mentions the incredibly bright green fire alarm light on all night. Customer care of staff very good, I enjoyed the breakfast. Somehow this hotel misses something though - rooms need to seem more welcoming, sheets needs to smell nice, heating needs to be on when you arrive when it's cold. And I couldn't find the TV remote ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments, they are noted and will be taken into consideration. We are pleased you were happy with the customer service and our breakfast selection. We do feel that details matter, and can change a good stay into an excellent one, therefore all your feedback is valuable to us, and provides us with an opportunity to improve our service. As far as the heating not being on; this is due to our green policy, which involves turning off heating for rooms not in use. Of course it is understandable that this may be an inconvenience, but as we are very committed to the green policy, we are not able to keep heating on in our unoccupied rooms. However, we are constantly making an effort to improve our service, and will work to provide a solution to the heating issue. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ten Hill Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. Stayed here for one night when attending a conference and was a bit disappointed. The hotel is situated in a good central location next to the Royal College of Surgeons. I was given a quite large bedroom and bathroom which was comfortable enough, although getting rather tired and worn. The room was at the back of the hotel and it was very noisy in the street outside late at night with what sounded like students having a party. A poor breakfast in a busy cramped area, generally minimal hotel facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street at the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastrodontUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We appreciate your comments, they will be considered in our continuous evaluation of the service offered to our guests. As we are located centrally in the city, there is always a chance that there will be noise around the hotel which we are not able to control. However, we understand that after spending a long day at a conference rest is a priority. These comments on TripAdvisor help us improve our services, and if you are ever back at Ten Hill Place feel free to inform the staff about your concerns while you are with us, and we will make an effort to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013.

Pros: Good location, 10-15 minutes walk from city center. Nice big rooms, comfortable beds and good shower. Clean. Nice bar. Coffee and tea service in room.

Cons: Bad first impression-When we walked in we got quite a surly "welcome" from the man at the front desk, who said barely two words to us. No greetings, no information about the hotel. Put our room key on the counter and walked away to do something else. Breakfast at the hotel not included. In our room, the bathroom door was made of frosted glass, which my husband was not a fan of. It was semi-see through. As such, he felt uncomfortable and went down to the lobby to use the bathrooms there. This may not be an issue for everyone, but it was for us. Also, the smoke detector in the room had the BRIGHTEST green light I've ever seen on a smoke detector...when we turned off the lights, it lit up half the room! It could definitely have done with a dimmer light. We had to climb on a chair and tape a piece of paper over it to dim it, as it was keeping us awake. Last, this hotel has a weekly fire alarm test at 11AM. I think it was on a Tuesday? Anyhow, we had a late evening and were sleeping in when this alarm went off. It was piercingly loud and scared us half to death. Luckily we called down before making any moves, and were told it was an alarm. What would have been great, would be if we had been told about this at check in so that we expected it and were not taken by surprise while sleeping.

Bottom Line: Price, location and general amenities good. Lacking in finer details that could have made this a nicer stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear about your positive points, i'm happy we were able to deliver this for you. I must apologise however that you felt your welcome was less than should be expected - my team are well aware of the standards that must be acheived at the hotel. I am sorry that this was not the case during your arrival.
The green light is the indicator that the emergency lighting system in the bedroom is working - it is a small LED bulb and so shouldn't be enough to disturb your sleep. We have recently invested in LED fittings throughout the hotel and replaced all emergency light fittings too, helping both our statutory obligations and reducing our footprint on the environment.
Our fire alarm system is tested on a Saturday at 11am, and we do provide information in the folders in guests bedrooms to let them know. Had this taken place on a Tuesday as you descibe, this this was likely an evacuation. The fire alarm system is there to protect our guests and staff, you will understand that it must be maintained, and observed, as such.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come back and see us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Hotel was true to word, walking distance to all, Princess Street and Central. We stayed here as near to family too. The room was not as exciting as it is described, no fridge, coffee facilities where in wardrobe. The bathroom was nice & large, but did not like the fact the door was glass & see through.
The bed was the best bit, big and very comfortable. We had one drink in bar at Hotel, 1 double Vodka/coke & 1 beer £18 !! so never bothered again.
Lots off cheep places to eat & drink, café end off the street, pubs everywhere.
I love Edinburgh and this has not put me off as I only slept there, catered elsewhere.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are executive, more expensive,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enamckinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here and in Edinburgh. I am a little concerned as to the prices you quote - we pride ourselves on extremely reasonable bar prices, we do not subscribe to the usual hotel bar pricing which you would expect to be high - I can only assume that this price was a mistake, and I'm sorry we couldn't fix it for you while you were here. We offer great food and drink prices, we even offer around 22 wines by the glass in our Ten Wine Bar which is certainly as good as any other hotel in the centre. We are lucky to be situated in such a vibrant area with so many options for our guests - means we have to be competitive! Again I'm sorry we couldn't have fixed this while you were here. I hope that you will come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel location is spot on, accessible to all main tourist attractions without the need of a car. Room was only small but very clean and fresh, same with the bathroom and towels. Staff pleasant enough.

Bad points include, room was in lowest level, what seemed to be above the air conditioning unit (so loud) along with the cars flying up and down the cobbles, made it impossible to have a decent nights sleep.
Car park was full, so got a map to a NCP, awful up hill walk back to hotel with luggage.

Can't say I'd return, just due to noise of cars and car park situation. But it wasn't the worst by any means.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FifiD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm happy you found your room to your liking and that our team were pleasant and helpful.
It is the case that our ground floor rooms, although set back from the side street on which we are situated, do get most of the traffic noise from any passing cars. We are set on a cobbled Georgian square so this perhaps adds to the traffic noise from outside. I am sorry you felt that this spoilt your stay - I am sure my colleagues at reception would have been happy to move you to a higher floor if you had been able to let them know - I hope that you would return to visit us, and let us know that you'd like a higher floor, or a room to the back of the hotel, which would suit you better.
We do have an agreement with a local NCP car park where a discount is offered to our guests, for use when our own car park is full - it is however a 10 minute walk back to the hotel as you state, it is usual that our reception team would advise our guests to leave thier luggage here first, i do apologise if this wasn't the case.
Thank you again for your comments, i'm glad you found our hotel to be handy and you liked your room, and I hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,358 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,121 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,068 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Property: Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as "conference hotel of the year 2015" Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing