We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

On first appearances the hotel is excellent - boutique style rooms, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, and although a fairly quiet restaurant, good food, with very attentive service. The downside was to find one dirty towel and no clean towels in our room, we mentioned it to reception on our way out, came back to find we had clean towels but had acquired a wine cooler with two dirty wine glasses! The bed-side table was also a little dirty as well, and as somebody else has already mentioned, the green light kept the room illuminated over night. However, overall I would still say the hotel is great value for money, and we will come back on our next stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

thank you very much for taking the time to post comments on your stay with us. The green light is an emergency lighting system in case of a power failure. Your comments on the housekeeping have been passed to the appropriate department and will be brought to the attention of the staff. I am delighted you did however enjoy our stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel 5 minutes walk from the castle, and 15 from the bus station. Room was immaculate, although a green light illuminated our room at night, but we still slept soundly. All staff we met were helpful and attentive, especially Alex our waiter at dinner on the Friday. Breakfast was great, dinner was lovely although not many choices. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rangers1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We appreciate your comments on your stay. The green light is for emergency lighting in each room in case of a power failure and we hope it did not cause too much of an inconvenience. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and your kind comments on Alex will be passed to him. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Location - 5 minute walk from the the Royal Mile, 10 minutes to Princes St. Really nice Hotel with large rooms. Complementary free wifi. The breakfast buffet was really good with lots of choice. We also had evening meal which was very nice. Not a large selection, but well cooked and presented. Found staff to be friendly, and helpfull

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamieAnneAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We will let the staff know you were very happy with the food and the service your received. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised to be able to check in a couple of hours earlier than we should have and could relax in our room . had just expected they would look after our overnight bag, Very nice and knowledgeable staff on the desk. Our room was well designed, although I can't think who would wish glass doors on the bathroom. Stripes of clear and opaque glass, which isn't every one's cup of tea,. Unfortunately the bed was far too soft for us, and we didn't get much sleep because of it. Free wifi was a bonus. The breakfast buffet was really good with lots of choice. The hotel was perfect for our concert at Queens Hall, and was in a very quiet side street within a 5 or 10 min walk of Princes St, given this a three ratu=]ing because the bed was so uncomfortable & i'd expected better from 4 star accomodation. It may suit others though, just not us !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elspeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We note the comments on the bed - we usually receive very positive comments on our comfy beds, but we appreciate we cannot suit everybody. It does sound however as if you enjoyed everything else about yoru stay which is great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Really nice room, standard double was a nice sized room with a very comfy bed. The decor is lovely and the bathroom is very spacious. Complementary free wifi was an added bonus. They were also very accommodating as we arrived very early and they allowed us into our room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MWalker13, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. The complimentary wi-fi has been a very welcome addition to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in Edinburgh, but a first visit for this one. Safe to say it wil be my last.

Upon arrival at the hotel I was greeted with an unfriendly receptionist who was blunt and unhelpful. Upon finding my "superior" room, I was greeted with a room the size of a postage stamp with barely any room to swing a cat.
The bathroom was poorly equipped with a small shower and a dirty sink- and only two towels for my entire stay, the waste bin in the room had also not been cleaned beforehand.
I went to book a taxi through reception, to find that the phone was faulty.
Upon returning to the hotel at midnight, the reception was empty, which did not reassure me to the security of the hotel. The room was exceptionally loud with street level traffic and people easily heard (I was on the third floor)- in addition, a green LED light on one of the fittings in the room kept it illuminated all night.
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for leaving your comments - I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations. I am unable to ascertain which room you stayed in, but I feel our superior rooms are indeed spacious and well equipped, our bedrooms carry all the features of any other 4 star hotel. It may be that our housekeeping team had done us a dis-service in that particular room, but as with everything our hotel team and managers are here to ensure all of our guests have a super stay, and to put right any concerns our guests may have. I am sorry we did not have the opportunity to do so on this occasion.
Thank you again for leaving your comments, hope that you will indeed return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely stay in a fab hotel. Was a special occasion as my boyfriend was speaking at the parliament and this was the perfect hotel to make it wonderful. Paid for upgrade and although we thought 40 quid was a little pricey, the room was beautiful and large. Came back to hotel after midnight and the night watchman was happy to act as our barman until the wee hours! Breakfast was gorgeous and stay very memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, General Manager at Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

It sounds like you had a super stay! We are very proud of our Skyline rooms and i'm glad they added to your experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,558 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection

Address: 10 Hill Place, Edinburgh EH8 9DS, Scotland (Formerly Ten Hill Place, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $108 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh - one of the capital's premier city centre hotels. Voted as "conference hotel of the year 2015" Scottish Hotel Awards. Set in a quiet Georgian square with airy public places to each of our 77 smart bedrooms, the mood of Ten Hill Place Hotel is one of quiet sophistication, and one we believe sets us apart from other Edinburgh hotels. So if you are looking for an Edinburgh city centre hotel, be sure to make Ten Hill Place your first destination and an address we hope you will come back to again and again. During your stay why not visit our Number 'Ten Restaurant' recently awarded 1 AA Rosette for our current menu or '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & Barrow, with live Piano music Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings both are located on the ground floor and are the perfect places to enjoy a meal or drink with friends or family. 'Number Ten Restaurant' our Rosette award winning restaurant, enjoy friendly service whilst being tempted by our locally sourced a la carte seasonal menu served from 5pm to 9.30Pm. '10 Wine Bar' by Corney & barrow. The wine bar menu available during from 12pm till 9.30Pm offers a wide range of teas, coffees, snacks, sandwiches, lights meals and traditional dishes to enjoy. The bar displays a large range of specially selected wines by Corney & Barrow, draught and local bottle beers, malt whiskies, Gins, vodkas and spirits for you to sit back and relax with. Ten Hill Place cares about the environment and has a Gold Award for Green Tourism from VisitScotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Hill Place Hotel
Ten Hill Place Edinburgh
Hotel Ten Hill Place
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing