We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Day stay for the 2013 Open Golf” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park
Ranked #36 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 Day stay for the 2013 Open Golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Highly recommend the quality of service, facilities and overall experience.
Spent 2 nights in Wigwam, 2 in Caravan and a further night camping. Busy due to the Open and weather but staff really were excellent in helping us out.
The site is very clean and the Stable Restaurant serves good well priced food. Toilet and Shower blocks all clean and nicely presented.
Would use again.

Room Tip: Try the wigwam for real value! Even a flat screen TV on wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    116
    42
    23
    18
See reviews for
124
122
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park - costing £22 per night for a couple in a 4 man tent

The site itself is well-run with a fully-manned reception and shop as you arrive.

The pitches are very close to each other and it can be a bit of a squeeze, but they obviously just make the most of what they've got.

If camping / caravanning isn't your thing you can stay in one of their wigwams. We didn't personally stay in one but they look great!

The shop has everything from tinned and fresh food to children's games and cleaning products.

It took us about 20 minutes to get from the site to Edinburgh Zoo and about the same time to get into the city centre.

Facilities wise the shower blocks are close to pretty much any pitch you get given and there's a dish washing stand with hot water. Both are clean and well kept.

There's also a games room with pool table, air hockey and several arcade games.

The fantastic 'Stables Bar' is on site which is great if you're in a tent and want a cold drink. They also serve hot and cold food and the prices and service was great.

Tip: don't use the post code in a sat nav to get you there - it takes you to a track round the back of the site which has no access.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnniePops87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindelfingen, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The location is great for getting in and out of Edinburgh and seeing the surrounding area. However, we found it a bit disconcerting that our tent pitch was in the middle of a field, where everyone just pulled their car in and out, right through the middle of peoples camp sites. The woman's shower block had a constant puddle of water running under all the toilets. And I found that shower was very inconsistent. I had a boiling shower, a decent one and then an ice shower and the faucets did not work well. My husband said that the men's shower block was decent and there was no water problem. Given that this was the most expensive camp site we stayed at in a week of camping around Scotland, I was a bit disappointed with the quality.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

WE Sayed in a wigwam with our 2 year old grandaughter and we sure will return. the wigwam was ready when we arrived and was in a quiet spot with another 3 which were surrounded by a wall so she was free to play. the toilet block was one of the best i have seen. clean spotless plenty of hand wash and toilet roll The shower cubvcles werent large but you could manage. I bathed my grandaughter in the baby bath which was available in the disabled wet rooomwhich had plenty of room anda baby change. the food in
the pub was lovely and tasty. the staff were very helpful and provided infomation to bus times and local places to visit.we didn't use the kitchen or the tv room but it was there in case of badweather. i couldnt fault it .
squirrels and rabbits made my two year old grandaughters holiday along with 2 very large cattle and horses to look at
the bus stops outside the site and a day ticket is reasonably priced at £3.50. the buses regualr and very clean although you do need the exact fare.
am looking forward to returning again and we may not have such good weather but am sure the palce will still be as good

Room Tip: wigwam 1-4 if you have toddelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shalaw444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a wigwam with my husnand and 5 month old daughter.Wigwam was spotless and had everything you needed, the site itself was lovely and well kept. Toilets, showers and kitchen areas were spotless too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

A lovely and informative welcome, great facilities, including decent shower rooms.

The pitches were relatively well spaced out, however many were on fairly acute angles which couldn't be righted by blocks.

The bar was lovely and open late, with a well stocked shop.

The buses were frequent into the city and not far to walk or in duration once on them.

Internet was expensive and terrible (barely got any signal at all to even check e-mails).

I would definitely stay here again if visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsinamuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortonhall_Park, General Manager at Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. As a top reviewer your views are highly valued and I am delighted that overall you had great experience and you would definately stay again. I do note your comments regards the WIFI along with those of other guests. We are aware that due to a limited broadband width that the system has not been 'great' and has a limited signal around the park. We do listen to our guests and I am delighted to anounce that in the next few weeks the system is being replaced and will be much quicker and will cover almost all the park including our 'Festival' field tenting area. I look forward to demonstrating this on your next visit. Many thanks for your comments once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at mortonhall for 4 nights in a motorhome was very good a little noise from wigwams at the weekend but whenever there was noise they seemed to sort it out quite quickly restraint was also fine good access to Edinburgh via bus service at bottom of the road shower blocks etc were all good and clean would stay again

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KenAudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#118 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Linwater Caravan Park
Linwater Caravan Park
#1 of 1 in East Calder
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Doris Crook Bed and Breakfast
Doris Crook Bed and Breakfast
#278 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Northfield House Hotel
The Northfield House Hotel
#165 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Mortonhall Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Frogston Rd 38 Mortonhall Gate, Edinburgh EH16 6TJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south side of the city and set within a 200 acre country estate lies the beautifully maintained camping and caravan park. Our Thistle award Caravan Holiday Homes accommodate up to 8 people(easy access van available)whilst our new Wigwams, which can accommodate up to 5 people, offer camping in style. Tourers and campers always welcome with various pitch options available. Very accessible to the city centre and all Edinburgh's attractions and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mortonhall Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Edinburgh
Mortonhall Caravan And Camping Park Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing