We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patisserie Valerie - George IV Bridge

Patisserie Valerie - George IV Bridge
Ranked #41 of 62 Dessert in Edinburgh
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Lovingly handmade cakes
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quick breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Had a quick croissant and coffee before going shopping. Service very quick, food delicious and quite a good varied menu.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    75
    39
    22
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Croissants not like in France”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Our breakfast disappointed for 2 reasons. Porridge with apricots and sultanas sounded good but when I asked where the fruit was after a few mouthfuls, a very nice and apologetic waiter explained it was pre-prepared like that. Gone was my idea of someone out the back chopping up the dried fruit for us to enjoy. The croissants were so stodgy and heavy we could not finish them, nothing like French ones, in fact they are much better at Sainsbury's! A sorry breakfast at £22 for two.

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had only desserts and drinks here. Desserts are delicious. We had no problem with speed of service though we did not have a meal as such. On another day we went to another branch near Grey Friars Bobby because we liked this site on George IV Bridge so much.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Delbert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast, Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We popped in for a quick breakfast and both of us ordered coffees and porridge. The coffees came quite quickly and then we waited, and waited, and waited for the porridge. After 20 minutes we asked if we had been forgotten about and the waitress nipped downstairs to find out what was taking so long. 5 minutes later we finally had our porridge with an apology from the waitress and the explanation that she didn't realise that she had to go downstairs to collect it herself (surely we weren't the first people to ever order porridge!).

The porridge was nice enough although they had run out of the maple syrup option on the menu.

Not sure I'd be back- there's loads of other coffee shops in Edinburgh to try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
205 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Prettier to look at than to eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We couldn't get into another cafe, so we decided to give this one a try. The window display is the best that the food gets. We had quiche that was not quite as tasty as a popular supermarket frozen brand in America. The pastries were unremarkable. The exterior and interior are rather charming but not so much to be worth the prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Valerie - George IV Bridge also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Patisserie Valerie - George IV Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing