We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent room, great location, would love to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanover House Hotel
Ranked #156 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lovely, spacious room and bathroom, soft linen, comfy beds = good sleep! Jasmin was a really friendly and helpful host, she had no problems with us checking in 2 hours early. Unfortunately we had to leave quite early the following morning and weren't ready to eat a big cooked breakfast, but it looked like Jasmin was cooking it herself and she said people often comment on how good her breakfasts are so we're gutted we missed out! Would definitely go back, great location, nice and quiet but easy walking distance to shops, castle etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu_bbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 79 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in Hanover House last September, for four (4) nights.
Jasmine was a kind and caring host who 'went the extra mile', was very informative, helpful & prepared a special diet for me.
Hanover House was spacious and quiet, yet close-by to all transportation and amenities.
Have recommended this B & B to several other travellers.
MF, British Columbia, Canada.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed as a group of ten celebrating a fiftieth birthday and were made incredibly welcome by the host, Jasmine, from the start. She sorted some party trimmings for us as well as sorting out car parking. The building is a lovely Georgian property on a handsome street which is only ten minutes walk from Princes Street. The rooms, bedding and bathrooms were clean with ample towels. The breakfast was excellent and nothing is too much trouble for Jasmine. The haggis was fantastic!
Thank you Jasmine for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_JDerbysire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hanover House in late April of 2012. Jasmin was easy to communicate with leading up to our visit and was pleasant and helpful throughout.

Hanover House is a family run B&B not far off the Edinburgh city center. At about 1/2 a mile from the train station it's a 10-15 minute walk. If you've more than a single case take a taxi as there's some up & down hill action. There was a mixup with another guest the day of our arrival so my wife and I ended up in a triple instead of a double. It was bitter cold during our time in Edinburgh and with the high ceilings the radiator wasn't much up to the task, particularly at night when the heat automatically shuts off (As it did in nearly every place we stayed in Europe). Jasmin lent us an electric heater that kept the place toasty warm. View out the window was of the block's back gardens, but as we spent most of our time sightseeing we didn't care much.

It's a good location for touring the city center on foot. We did Holyrood (Just under a mile away), the National Monument, the High Street, Greyfriars, and Edinburgh Castle (About a mile and a half). There's a few places to eat nearby. I would particularly recommend the Theatre Royal Bar.

The breakfast was average and they're located in a quiet residential area, so we got a good night's sleep. I'd recommend Hanover House to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WyldWeezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was stranded in Edinburgh after missing my train, and was fortunate to be sent to Hanover House when our usual hotel had no vacancy. It was quiet, very clean and reasonably priced, and Jasmine's kindness made it a comfortable experience. Breakfast was good, and while the room was perhaps a bit small it had everything that I needed, including a heated towel rail to dry my damp socks. It's a short walk to the train station, even closer to the bus terminal, and less than 10 minutes to the Royal Mile. The bed was a little too firm for my preferences, but I still slept well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeralTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've spent the new year in edinburgh. We know that in these time of the year is very hard to book a place to stay,especially if you decide few days before the date. The price was a bit higher then we expected compared to the quality of the rooms(a bit old,with some cracks on the walls). Altough,it's very central and the breakfast is great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carvalhorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a very welcoming place that gets the basics right. It is close to the city centre and Calton Hill. Although the room was small, it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloydBexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#102 of 151 in Edinburgh
683 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
No. 11 Brunswick Street
#29 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Dene Guest House
#22 of 394 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
#117 of 394 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanover House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover House Hotel

Address: 26 Windsor Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Leith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $103 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanover House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hanover House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing