We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valentine City Centre Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$105
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$248
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$276
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$159
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$653
$508
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
102
96
44
37
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
96
44
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrelocal transporthaggislovely guesthouseposter bedbed and breakfaston arrivalcooked breakfastfull scottish breakfasttop floorset us up for the dayshort walknice breakfastthree nightsthird floorlocation is idealspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 300 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Alright, this is really a perfect deal for a couple of days or even a week in Edinburgh!

1. Location: hotel is located near a bunch of different bus stops and about a 10-15 minute walk through nice neighbourhoods to grassmarket and old town

2. Room: Stayed with 3 men in one room. Quite small, but very comfortable. Betts had gread mattrasses and the shower was also in good shape. Plus, we had a great view of some of the historic buildings

3. Breakfast: I have never had such a great breakfast (a la carte!!!) and such a friendly service for this price! It is simply a great start for the days and a must have!

4. Price: Regarding location, comfort and service I hold the optionion that it is unbeatable.

Enjoy guys and have a great trip!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for such a detailed and positive review. Our location is unenviable as the closest guest house to Edinburgh Castle, but that is not enough by itself of course and we would hope that we can make people feel at home and offer options to make a traditional Scottish Cooked breakfast, complete with Lorne Sausage, Haggis and Potato Scones!! Some of our rooms are very large and some much smaller and individual room pricing reflects that, but in our 200 year old listed building it is fair to say that room sizes are generally such that no one with a fear of open spaces need worry!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This a comfortable and well-priced guest house, close to the Edinburgh attractions. Good breakfasts are served. The owners are very helpful giving advise about getting around the city to view all the attractions. The 25% discount at the nearby Italian restaurant is great, as it's a very good restaurant.

Room Tip: We had the room with the four-poster bed and an extra large en-suite -- number 13, I think. This did cost a bit more (about ten pounds per night extra, I think), but the large en-suite was great, and we slept well.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Room 13! There are too many superstitious people around for us to have one of those! Our numbering jumps from 12 to 14. Thank you for a great review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. You are right that the best rooms are not much extra and we think offer very good value as being a guest house rather than hotel there is a limit on what we can charge competitively. We monitor prices constantly to ensure we remain the lowest priced guest house accommodation in the City Centre of Edinburgh for our most modest rooms and then prices range upwards from there in a fairly fixed manner.

We have a number of discounts that we can tell guests about with local businesses, but shhh! other guest houses in the area will be jealous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Fantastic guest house in the Center of the city,owners great and friendly , recommend this place best I have ever stayed in. Great Scottish hospitality by the owners. Really clean soft beds room warm, free internet, I am really pleased I found this place,I will be back hear again for sure . If anyone complains about this place they must be impossible to please.

Room Tip: Room on second floor overlooking back garden quiet and peaceful , can't comment on other rooms as have only been in this one but I am sure there all great.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you so much, not only for a perfect score, but such lovely comments. We do try very hard -though keeping the free wifi running that you mentioned in our 200 year old thick-walled building can be a challenge and we're now up to 4 transmitters to get a strong signal to every room. You were staying in one of our more modest room types which makes the review all the more pleasing. We are very fortunate that we have a relatively quiet street despite being one of very few guest houses within Edinburgh's City Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately i could not recommend this guest house. Although the welcome was friendly the room was not. We booked the ensuite and found the shower cold and not working, breakfast mediocre with cheap products, when we said about the shower not working, the reply?.....oh dear, that will be 69 pound please. If they had even taken off a tenner due to lack of onsuite i probably wouldnt be writing this review. Guest house is in a good location however in poor condition with no parking (10
pound for 24 hours down the street). A cheap hotel reflected in the decore an cleanliness. 2 star all the way

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archibaldigoumenou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your review, we find information like this invaluable as it is a great opportunity for us to help future guests. You did report that your shower was cold as you were checking out and hurrying out the door- most guests expect pricing to be mentioned at this point! If instead you had told us at any point during your stay then the problem could have been solved, we checked the shower immediately and hot water came out - that particular room has an electric shower - if it is not switched on (power button marked 'on/off') then cold water comes out, and we can only assume this was the problem.

An even more stark example - you are correct, on-street parking is very expensive, you could have put your car in our nearby car park for nothing, but not only did you not book a parking space, you didn't tell us you had a car with you!! even when our spaces are full we have a discounted arrangement at a nearby large secure car park which is cheaper than the figure you quote.

We do try to do everything we can to make our part in everyone's stay in Edinburgh as good as possible, but reading minds we have yet to master!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a really nice stay at Vallentines and were made to fell very welcome by all the staff. The breakfast was one of the best we have sampled which was cooked to order from a good selection of ingredients and generous portions. The room, room 12, was more than big enough with plenty of storage and an on suite. It is not far from the main attractions, about 10/15 mins walk and the area it is in is not bad with a few shops, bars and eateries nearby. We would definitely recommend Bennets Bar which is next to the theatre at the traffic lights, they serve excellent home cooked food and have over 170 whiskeys all at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjp22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for a perfect score review, and from a Senior Reviewer! We do try very hard to offer a wide range of breakfast items and ensure there is a significant Scottish element for visitors from Porage to Potato Scones and Haggis, but it is nice to be told when this hits the mark. Thank you for the kind words on all the aspects mentioned. Bennets is a lovely old bar at the end of the street, featured in the Rebus TV series a number times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews