We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, really friendly staff and toast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valentine City Centre Guest House
Ranked #147 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, really friendly staff and toast!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a number of days in May. We found the staff to be really helpful and friendly.
It's a great location with Edinburgh's main attractions only 15 minutes walk away.
There's a regular bus service (the number 10) to and from the city, that stops right outside.
With a bus link to the airport only a short walk away.

Breakfast is served for two hours with plenty on offer, ranging from cereal, toast, porridge and full cooked breakfast.
The great room we stayed in had an ensuite, tea/coffee making facilities, TV ,stereo and a four poster bed to boot!!
A number of great eateries reside within walking distance, My Big Fat Greek Kitchen and Karma Sutra (Indian restaurant) to name but two.
Look forward to staying there again on our return trip to conquer the Edinburgh marathon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back for the challenge of the marathon - porridge and bananas will be at the ready!! The two hour breakfast slot is longer than most offer, but we just don't think it is fair to try to force so many different groups of guests into a 45 minute window, and with guests coming over a longer period it helps to ensure there are always seats available and we can continue to cook entirely to order without cooking times getting longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    88
    37
    31
    18
See reviews for
34
153
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights (2,3 & 4 May 2013). Its very easy to get to. We got a bus direct from Edinburgh Airport and it dropped us off 10 minutes walk from Valentines. As we were scheduled to arrive late, Rob had sent us instructions on how to get into the 'safe-box' in order to get the keys to get into the building.

The building itself appears to be have been converted into a B&B and has several rooms located over 3 floors.
Its about 10 minutes walk to the Old City and about another 10 minutes walk to the New City...this makes it particulary appealing as whilst you are not in the middle of the city, there are no issues with noise coming from the street at night time.
The room was clean, well heated and the en-suite was fine. Rob was very knowledgable and recommended places to eat as well as pointing us in the right direction for 'sight-seeing'.

The breakfasts are excellent and you will not need to eat anything until well into the afternoon, early evening--YES, the breakfasts are HUGE and DELICIOUS!

There is a cinema just a few minutes walk away as well as a Tesco Express, and pubs and restaurants are all very close by.

I am not 100% sure if there are any lifts in the building (I mention this because we were on the top floor and there were a LOT of stairs to negotiate,...worth considering if you have a disability or such-like).

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend Valentines.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmoresons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for the strong review. The coded 'key collect' box is very much a last resort as we prefer to meet and greet all guests, but with some flights now landing very late it does provide an option and we're told it takes the pressure off to arrive by a certain time when there are delays or food is a priority after landing late! Thank you for the kind words about us and the breakfasts. We're glad you mentioned the stairs - we have bedrooms on first, second and third floors, but being in 'B' listed 1813 building we cannot fit a lift or make alterations to enable disabled access and are for that reason exempt from regulations in that area and unable to offer accommodation to those with mobility problems, we do of course offer to carry luggage up to any bedroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Valentine City Centre Guesthouse and couldn't have wished for better. Our hosts were extremely friendly, the four poster bed room we stayed in was pure luxury and the breakfast was very tasty. The location was excellent for getting to the old and new town and there are great bus links if you want to go a bit further afield. We also found it to be great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattbamyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for a perfect review!! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay so much. We think our location is quite special as you point out, close enough to the heart of the city to be walking distance to the main attractions, well networked elsewhere by an excellent set of local bus services, and yet just off the busiest streets to not be too 'Downtown New York'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only can say thanks to Rob and Vicky for three fantastic days we spent in Edinburgh. We felt like home. We will definitaly come back in the future. Really welcoming and friendly people. The guest house is very close to the city centre, you can reach it easily walking (aprox.10 min). but you always can take the bus wich stop just in front of the house. There is a lot of places around to have dinner, including chains restaurants like zizzi. Overall a great place to stay in Edinburgh with out breaking your bank.
Best Regards,

David & Natalia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for writing such a strong review - a perfect score! Your kind words mean a lot to us and we would love to see you again. Zizzi's has such a lovely spot at the end of the canal just a few minutes from us, it is a popular choice with guests and as a result we have managed to negotiate a very large discount with them for our guests!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

had a really really lovely time in edinburgh and at this guesthouse for 3 nights with my girlfriend. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very very welcome and felt very at home throughout the stay. ensuite room was lovely, great mattress, hot shower etc, no grumbles at all. and the breakfasts...AWESOME!!!!!the choice was massive, looked forward to my monster fry up every day, loved it. it really is fantastic value, the location is ideal, only a 10 or so min walk to the grassmarkets area and royal mile. cant fault the place at all and i will be recommending them. Thanks guys, you were ace!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adampops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
A perfect score from a Senior Reviewer means a lot to us. Thank you so much for that, though above all we are happy to hear you had a great stay, and that we helped contribute to that. Vicky has to take the credit for the breakfasts, all cooked to order, but I help where I can!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at Valentine Guest house for 4 nights last week and had a great stay ! Very friendly and helpful people, great breakfast choice, nice and clean room. It was very nice to come in at night and be able to make a nice cup of tea in the room. Not expensive and close to the centre. I would certainly recommend it !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carine198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for a very positive review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The tea and coffee facilities in the rooms are fairly standard in Edinburgh, but we keep everything well topped up every day as one of our own pet hates is being supplied with a tiny number of little milk portions! Thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I recently booked this place on thier pictures of their Guest House..On arrival we were told the property we were staying in was across the street, I had no problem with that, as the guest house looked, clean and very inviting..I was shown into this other building, it was dirty from the onset, looked cold and very dingy..Was shown to My room, i was not impressed at all..The room was dirty, cold and was not even animal friendly never mind human friendly..The two beds had seen their days, there were hairs in the bed, the pillows looked and smelled about 20 years old..The place had dust every where, so unclean...There was a shared bathroom, that could have been down with a deep deep clean, hairs in bath and in the sink, it was disgusting, never in my life have i ever seen anything on this scale..The thing that saved me was I had to leave and return home on the same day, even if I hadnt had to leave, I would not have stayed there a minute longer..They are offering this as part and package of the Valentine Guest House,not sure how they are getting away with doing this.. Keep your money and invest it on a hotel..

Room Tip: Save your money and book a hotel..Stay here at your own risk..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
It is always disappointing to have a negative review, but comforting when there is a clear explanation for it and indeed when it is so out of line with other reviews. This guest selected a one night weekend stay through booking.com, the site makes it very clear that there is a budget option and describes the location of the annex. At £20 per peron including unlimited breakfast during a busy weekend this does represent unbeatable value for a room with a double and single bed with complementary tea/coffe and free wifi, but as has happened before we cannot force guests to read information beyond the price. The review starts "On arrival we were told the property we were staying in was across the street" this should not have been a surprise at all yet clearly was and the guest was unhappy before reaching the room. The remainder of the comments we would suggest be read in the context of this start,and it seems pointless for us to dwell on the extreme comments made. As stated the guest received sad news and therefore was unable to actually experience staying nor our highly praised breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#45 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#49 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Braveheart City Centre Guest House Edinburgh
Star Villa
#146 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Broughton Hotel
The Broughton Hotel
#17 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentine City Centre Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentine City Centre Guest House

Property: Valentine City Centre Guest House
Address: 19-21 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valentine City Centre Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valentine City Centre Guest House is in Edinburgh's City Centre, the closest guest house to Edinburgh Castle. A listed Georgian Townhouse with many original features, it has accommodation on four levels, and is within easy walking distance of all city centre attractions (10 minutes stroll to Princes Street, 15 to The Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle). Situated adjacent to theatres, restaurants, cinemas, pubs, and shops, this family run accommodation has a wide range of rooms to suit all budgets from a luxury 'five-star' room to economy doubles as well as a six person group room. Each morning over a generous two-hour period, a much praised full Scottish breakfasts is served, cooked entirely to order. All rooms have free WiFi and digital TV, and despite the city centre location, free off-road parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valentine City Centre Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentine City Centre Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Valentine City Centre Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing