We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valentine City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
102
96
43
37
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
96
43
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcity centrelocal transporthaggislovely guesthouseposter bedbed and breakfaston arrivalcooked breakfastfull scottish breakfasttop floorset us up for the dayshort walknice breakfastthree nightsthird floorlocation is ideal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 299 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at Valentines guest house with my aunt Maurine who was visiting from Australia we both had a great time,
Vicky and Rob were very help full and friendly.
Great choice of breakfast , My Aunt Maureen was pleased as they had a good vegetarian breakfast menu .
Would recommend anybody to stay there.
Great location for all parts of Edinburgh
We will be returning there again
Rona & Maureen

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words - we remember you well and you were lovely guests, so glad to hear you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me and my sister booked to stay at the Valentine guest house for 2 nights, and we had a really great time. As soon as we were greeted we were given maps and shown the routes to places we wanted to go, and given a few other suggestions of where we could go (without being pushy). Everybody was really friendly and helpful, and were available at pretty much any time if you needed anything. The rooms were clean, warm, homely and exactly as described. The location was also really good, only a short walk to new and oldtown, with plenty of transport links nearby. Thanks for making our little holiday even better!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Many thanks for your highly positive review - it can be very hard to avoid overloading guests with information on their arrival, but everyone seems to find that getting something beyond the guide books and ensuring you have the layout of the Old Town clear is of benefit for your visit to Edinburgh and we're glad to hear you felt we get this right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My self Liz and our four children have just returned from a fantastic weekend in Edinburgh, staying for three nights at the Valentine. Myself and my family can't praise enough, Vicky,Rob and Sam for the welcome and the service given, the room, food and location were beyond our expectations when we booked. What more could we ask for, well put it this way, we were that impressed, we pre-booked a weekend for this coming December. We can't recommend enough this guest house for your stay in Edinburgh.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you so much for such a positive review and we're looking forward to seeing you back here at the end of the year. The family/group room seems to work well for 4/5/6 family or friends, the large private shower-room just next to the large bedroom gets positive remarks as it gives just that extra bit of privacy. It felt like family friends were leaving at the end!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very friendly greeting, lovely room in a building with character. Good choice of breakfast and all tasted great, with unlimited tea, coffee, fruit juices and toast. All staff very friendly and helpful, but left you in peace if that what was you wanted. Good location for both new and old side of Edinburgh and small shops around for any bits and pieces needed. Buses run straight from outside and a taxi from the station was only £5 - £6. Had a lovely time and would happily return.

Room Tip: We had the largest room and it was gorgeous!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review. The 5 star four poster room (we have another four poster room too now, less luxurious but cheaper!) represents great value as we are a guest house and not a five star hotel! There can be few such well-appointed rooms in Edinburgh City Centre and we are often asked if the price quoted is per person when it is per room!! Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had the chance of staying at the Valentine B&B in January 2013 and all I can say is that it is the perfect accommodation anyone can find in the city centre. It is a family-run B&B with a friendly atmosphere. The owner himself met us at the airport, helped us with the luggage and accompanied us on the airlink bus to the hotel. It is clean, with central heating, a delicious breakfast. The price is more than reasonable and it is a 5' walk to Edinburgh Castle. For someone on a tight budget it is definitely a great option.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob W, Owner at Valentine City Centre Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Glad to hear you had a good time, we do have an online booking system for instant bookings, and we work with Booking.Com too, but an email enquiry allows us to tailor our offer best to your needs and can work out better all round if you have the time to wait - so glad that in your case our response was prompt, we must admit that is down to luck and worst case there could be a gap of a few hours. Thanks for such a postive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews