We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE!!!!”
Review of Ocean Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Apartments
Ranked #32 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“TERRIBLE!!!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

When we first checked in we were told there was no spaces for our car in the secure car park. (One of the reasons we had booked was due to a free car park) Due to this we had to park on a narrow street.

Our first morning there my partner had to have a cold shower! The apartment slept 5 people yet there was not enough hot water for 2 adults?!

Secondly the noise from the above apartment was terrible. We had two young children staying with us that would not settle on the Friday night until the noise stopped at 10pm. On the 2nd night our whole apartment was woken by the noise from the apartment above, that started at 12.30am, after an hour we had enough and the police was called! After they arrived the noise eventually stopped! Yet our daughter was now awake and refused to settle for the rest of the night. Why put families and group parties in the same blocks?

The carpets within our apartment were ripped, lights weren't working, there was mould in the bathrooms!

This would be the worst stay we have ever had in Edinburgh and will not be staying with ocean apartments again! TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay HERE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    131
    40
    21
    11
See reviews for
159
92
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay here. Super check in and super staff. The apartment was lovely a 2 bedroomed 2 bathroom. Very clean. Bus stop outside, about 30 mins from Princess Street. Asda nearby if you want to shop. Would definitely stay here again. Also near the Royal Yacht which we visited.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Area is great. Next to the apartment is sea and we had a nice walk. Car parking is provided. Also you can take bus to city centre. It takes 15 minutes by bus and the nearest bus stop is around 3 mins walk from the apartments block. I liked the house. It's pretty good with self-catering facility. We had wifi as well. Stuff were great and I think price was reasonable. Good luck :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JahirRafiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This stay was awesome. As soon as we arrived, the gentleman at the desk came outside to help us with luggage!!! That was the beginning to a fabulous stay in a wonderfully clean and highly stocked apartment. The value was phenomenal. We had a two bedroom apartment complete with a hot pot, microwave, tea, coffee, serving dishes, cooking and eating utensils, cookware, easy access to the bus system, I could go on and on…. I would recommend Ocean Apartments in a second!

Room Tip: When traveling to the Glasgow/Edinburgh area, bring your own washcloths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank threegirlsmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Positives - Good sized, good light, good area to jog around (for walk lovers)

Negatives - 1. requested for a microware bowl and the response was that we only provide microwave bowl cover but not the bowl. It costed me just 75p to buy from Asda across the road but the apartment people were not ready to invest that 75p. I left it for them to use later.
2. When I requested the front desk to do me a favor and scan few documents (or let me scan) I was told that we don't do that for any customer. Bravo!
3. The location is not very convenient from city centre although if someone is looking for a near the ocean experience and quiet place to stay then not a bad choice. Not enough restaurants and if its raining then you might end up either just cooking or ordering a homedelivery.
4. I called in 3 days after vacating the apartment as I had forgotten a book. I was told that they will check and call me back which they never did. I called back to enquire and I was told that housekeeping did not find anything. In my experience if a guest forgets something then the housekeeping retains it for few days and also inform the guest through the contact information available. None of those was done and my belongings were disposed immediately on departure. How rude and unhelpful is that!
5. The sales team never responds to emails unless you are doing a new booking with them.
6. I had to leave 2 days earlier than end of my booking about which I requested at the front desk and even though I had booked directly with them I was told there is no refund at all if you leave early. I obviously tried to contact sales but to no response.

Room Tip: The best view would be in block B facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdarshAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Spacious and clean self catering apartments. Very comfortable and cosy. Everything you could need for a long weekend/a weeks stay.
The location is slightly out of the hustle and bustle of the city centre, which we felt was advantageous. Easy access to the city by bus.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have regularly stayed at Ocean Apartments when visiting Edinburgh. They offer good value and are ideally placed next to Ocean Terminal which offers good shopping and restaurants. Leith walk is a short distance away and taxis to and from central Edinburgh are easy and quick. This is not really a hotel - more serviced apartments which are tidy and well appointed although some do require upgrading/decorating as I fear they sometimes get heavy use (especially some weekends). When offering 'room rates', one must expect that (especially at weekends) there will be an element of young revelers piling into rooms when visiting Edinburgh and sometimes not considering others. That said, mostly all is quiet and well run. Complimentary wi-fi is a bonus as often one must pay extortionate fees at cheaper hotels for the privilage. tea, coffee, biscuits are complimentary both at reception and within the rooms. Staff are polite and friendly. Secure under ground parking is also a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Staycity Aparthotels West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Old Town
Aparthotel Adagio Edinburgh Royal Mile
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Apartments

Property: Ocean Apartments
Address: 2 Western Harbour Midway, Edinburgh EH6 6PN, Scotland (Formerly Western Harbour Apts)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Apartments are modern, stylish contemporary serviced apartments that offer the comfort and standards of a hotel room with the space and flexibility of a private residence in Edinburgh.Cost effective and comfortable, these apartments are a perfect accommodation solution for business travellers, families and groups.All apartments have a fully equipped kitchen, spacious lounge, dining area and two bedrooms. Carefully selected facilities are available to make your stay comfortable and stress free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Western Harbour Apartments Edinburgh
Western Harbour Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Harbour Apartments Edinburgh
Ocean Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing