We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alba House, a special experience!”
Review of Alba House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alba House
Ranked #37 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at Alba House for 5 nights from 1 December 2013. We based our choice on the excellent reviews and were not disappointed. The house is impressive, comfortable and homely. The location makes for easy access into the city either by the many buses that pass every few minutes or a 35 minute easy walk to the centre. What makes the experience special however, is the caring, friendly and attentive host, Cath, who genuinely cares about her guests, and wants them to enjoy her home and her beautiful city. If you are considering a visit to Edinburgh, Alba House should be your Bed and Breakfast of choice. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 181 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at Alba House for 4 nights to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Cath and her husband Jim couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. Our room overlooked the back garden and was lovely and quiet. The room was very clean and the king sized bed particularly comfy! Cath's breakfasts are more than enough to set you up for a day of sightseeing in Edinburgh. Whilst parking at Alba House is free, the bus service is excellent and the stops are only 100 yards from the House. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay:)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 for 2 nights. The location was great and the room very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and would definitely stay here again. The garden was delightful to sit in for a quiet afternoon drink. Our host Cath was very helpful with where to visit etc. Free parking was also a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recommended by another nearby hotel, I took a gamble and stayed at Alba House for one night on a recent business trip. What a winner! From the exceptionally warm reception I received from host Cath, to the mammoth breakfast I stuffed down prior to leaving, I had one of the most most enjoyable overnight stays in many years. My room was spotless, with all the usual tea & coffee facilities, a fabulously comfy bed, great TV, free WiFi and the most superb bathroom. I really can‘t praise this guest house more highly :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had the privilege of staying for 2 nights in this beautiful home in Edinburgh. Great location and right on the bus line. The host, Cath is wonderfully engaging and made our stay perfect. Lovely dining room with a delicious breakfast. She is from Edinburg so she is in the know of practically everything. Even helped us find an address for a distant relative. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the beds were incredibly comfortable. Could not have asked for more but I'm sure if we had she would have found a way to provide it. Would recommend to couples, families and singles. If you're a dog lover, she has 2 adorable Scotties that we fell in love with.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room which is on the street but not too noisy. Loved the view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonTom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for three nights in August. Lovely house with spotlessly clean spacious rooms and free car parking which is a real bonus in Edinburgh. Perfectly located on bus route into city centre. Great breakfast cooked to order and Cath was the perfect host. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the house as you do hear the traffic noise in the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cougarcat269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

lovely place excellent facilities, the owner cath serve a lovely breakfast.about 2 mile from main city centre with easy acess through buses across the road.cathy was always helpful stopped there 19th to 22nd august .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
AmarAgua Guest House
#40 of 395 in Edinburgh
422 reviews
Garfield Guest House
#41 of 395 in Edinburgh
359 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 395 in Edinburgh
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Guest Room
The Guest Room
#44 of 395 in Edinburgh
195 reviews
Sherwood Guest House
#35 of 395 in Edinburgh
304 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#54 of 395 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba House

Address: 29 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $106 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alba House is a beautiful detached listed Victorian Villa, situated in the Craigmillar Park Conservation area of Edinburgh. We offer comfortable, great value bed and breakfast. Alba House is a ten minute bus ride south of city centre and close to Edinburgh University and Einburgh Royal Infirmary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing