We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great welcome and stay”
Review of Alba House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alba House
Ranked #36 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2012

we stayed here on the 3rd and 4th feb, cant fault this lovely hotel from the lovely warm greeting from cath to the lovely rooms and breakfast, it feels somewhat rare to find someone who genuinely cares about your stay and gives you help on every aspect of edinburgh you could want to know from travelling around to sightseeing rooms are spacious and spotless thank you cath was a privilige to stay at your home

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miffas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 179 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

We booked the Alba House as we wanted accommodation with free parking and this fitted the bill with bus stops just up from the B & B. We had a lovely warm welcome from the host Cath, who gave us a business card with the address and bus no's to get to the property. She spent time telling us about the good restaurants and places to see, and you felt that you only had to ask and she would be willing to assist in making our stay very enjoyable.

We never used the car once we arrived as the buses are so frequent and cheap, £1.30 each way, or £3.20 day ticket.

The breakfast was very nice and freshly cooked, she even went out and bought my partner some English mustard as she only had French.

Yes you can book cheaper accommodation, but value for money, and a friendly service, then I would definately book Alba House again, hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: We had the large room at the front of the house, you are on a main road so there will be traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handbagmadPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed at the Alba just this week. I had the gorgeous contemporary room at the rear of the house although I had a choice of rooms to choose from. It was decorated to a very high standard with the most wonderful 'dinner plate' sized shower head and power shower. Cath the hostess was brilliant, she gave my partner and I all the local bus info to get into town, put the radiators on in our room as it was bitterly cold outside and within minutes we had warmed up. The house has some beautiful period features and is well worth a stay, darned good value actually, and the brekkie was very nice too. I would definately stay there again and have this evening recommended this establishment to some friends going to Edinburgh soon.

Room Tip: If you want a quiter room, ask for a room at the rear of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Cath was a helpful and gracious host from the moment we stepped through the door. Within minutes we had a good sense of where we were relative to the main attractions of Edinburgh, and how we could most easily reach them by public transport. We had one of the funkier modern rooms upstairs. Despite being winter, we were toasty warm in our quiet room. Breakfast was tasty, and we were even given some gluten free goodies despite not having remembered to pass on this requirement in advance. We both highly recommend Alba house and Edinburgh itself as a great holiday destination.

Christian and Danika

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Alba House is a thoroughly comfortable, quiet and peaceful b&b. Breakfast is generous, with very good coffee. I had a room on the top floor that had three lovely skylights, including one in the bathroom, right above the tub -- lovely to have it open while having a bath. Free wi-fi, very easy to use. Great in-room radio. Cathy encourages guests to look round the lovely garden, and there are chairs, etc. for an outdoor picnic if you wish. This was a 45 minute walk or ten minute busride to the University where my conference was held.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Alba House. Cath, our hostess was wonderful - so friendly and helpful! Lovely, spacious accomodations and delicious breakfasts. We stayed in the front room downstairs and found it to be most comfortable and restful. Great location for transportation with a bus stop nearby. We had a car but did not use it. Cath had the foresight to print bus numbers on Alba House's business card which was very helpful. (Cath also gave us some terrific restaurant recommendations - Amarone and Wild Elephant.) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alba House and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Lovely old house...reasonably looked after. Some of the decorating was slipshod...which is a shame with such a lovely property.

We stayed in the Four Poster room. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was large with two side chairs, a wardrobe, and a desk. We paid an average of 75 pounds per night.

Breakfast was average...lots of choices for cold foods...but the hot choices were a little disappointing. I have to say we have found with every bed and breakfast at which we have stayed in Great Britain...when they do a fry-up there's never any grease. Obviously you don't want your plate swimming with grease, but a little adds flavour and the meals tend to be rather bland.

Our room was ensuite and it had about the best shower I've ever had...very powerful...although they did run out of hot water one day when I had a shower in the afternoon.

Fairly clean, but we stayed 6 days and our room wasn't vacuumed even once...so the floor was looking a little crumby by the time we left.

Peeling wallpaper and paint in the bathroom and mold in the shower and on the blind in the bathroom.

We would stay again as it was more than adequate and the lady who runs it is very friendly and helpful. It is also right on a main bus route so that the buses run every few minutes to take you to downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AloraDanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldtimerEdinburgh, Owner at Alba House, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to review her stay with us.Feedback, both positive and negative, is always useful.
I'm sure she will be pleased to know that we have a rolling programme of refurbishment over the winter months and the room she was in is top of the list.
I must, however, take issue with the comments on the servicing of her room. It is rather disingenuous to say that the floor was not vacuumed (actually it was!). I would like to point out that this guest was unwell during her stay with us and kept the do not disturb sign on the door until late afternoon most days. I did apologise on the one day we were unable to get into the room and was informed that she was quite happy to stay indoors as she felt unable to go out.
Perhaps for future trips it would be useful to know that most small establishments do not have 24 hour staff and it is courteous to let your hostess know if you intend to be in the room all day, so that arrangements can be made with regard to cleaning the room.

As for the lack of a greasy breakfast - sometimes you just cannot get it right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Gladstone House
#88 of 394 in Edinburgh
109 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#11 of 394 in Edinburgh
504 reviews
Sonas Guest House
#32 of 394 in Edinburgh
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
780 reviews
Dene Guest House
#22 of 394 in Edinburgh
359 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 394 in Edinburgh
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba House

Address: 29 Craigmillar Park, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $103 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alba House is a beautiful detached listed Victorian Villa, situated in the Craigmillar Park Conservation area of Edinburgh. We offer comfortable, great value bed and breakfast. Alba House is a ten minute bus ride south of city centre and close to Edinburgh University and Einburgh Royal Infirmary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing