We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most welcoming place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aynetree Guest House
Ranked #169 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most welcoming place”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Aynetree Guest House in July 2012, we went to Scotland for the honeymoon. It was a bit difficult to choose the place to stay butwe are sure that we had made the right choice.
The house is nice and cosy, Brian and Anne were veru helpful, we even recieved a bouquet of flowers when we arrived. The room was not too large but also very cosy. We had one with private bathroom. From the one hand you should go out of the room and come down for a few speps, but on the other hand the bathroom was so nice that we even made several photos! Breakfasts were very good. The only trouble was to come to the city centre by bus but it was not a big deal. We recommend Aynetree Guest house for everyone who values comfort and warm atmosphere!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_Drozdova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Maria, thank you for taking the time to write a review after such a long time. I loved the pictures that you took of our stairway. We do not have any pictures available of this area and it shows guests who book the double room with the private bathroom the route to the bathroom and how many stairs that there are. Thank you for that. I hope that you have both settled down to married life. Anne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    66
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
46
122
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I came up for the rugby at the week-end and had a great time at the Aynetree Guest House. The place is ideally located for the city with the car park a great bonus. The bus connectioon to the city on Saturday morning was quick and we walked the last part to the stadium. Although it was only 2 nights we packed a lot in (pubs etc.) The place was clean and warm, breakfast was big and the 2 owners were really helpful. We have already said that we shall be back in 2 years time. Thanks Bryan and Ann

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 and had no problem facing the front of the house. Had some sort of double glazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
I am so glad that you had a good time and congratulations to Wales for winning the 6 nations. See you in two years time. Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Aynetree Guest House is a beautifully run B&B with hosts who obviously love their job, and enjoy telling people about the wonderful city of Edinburgh. We booked this B&B online, and were responded to very promptly by Brian, who is a wonderful host. He even sold us tickets for entry to the Castle, which helped avoid long lines at the entrance. He happily filled us in on all the best tourist sites, and made sure we had al the information we needed to use the public bus system. (Our bus trip was wonderful, with a young Scottish mother, singing nursery songs to her gorgeous son - her accent was delightful. I also liked the tartan upholstery in the bus!). We had the room with a separate bathroom along the landing. The bathroom was very well appointed and modern, but the sloping roof and shower over the bath (with no screen) made it a bit difficult for us to enjoy our showers, as we are both very tall people - minor problem, but one which could be addressed. Our room was very comfortable and clean, with tea/coffee facilities. We disappointed both Anne and Brian by declining the full Scottish breakfast (how do people eat so much so early in the day??!), but enjoyed the smaller breakfast we ordered. We would thoroughly recommend the Aynetree Guest House - very friendly, welcoming and pleasant. We didn't manage to get a park at the front of the Guest House, but our car was safe in a side street next to it. While you're in Edinburgh, make sure you go to the Taste of Scotland Show at The Stables, Prestonfield - amazing! Would definitely stay at Aynetree again - wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you're tall, don't take the room with the separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kid_U_Not58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed the guest house and your trip up North. Yes, the trip is supposed to be very good and the bus picks you up from our guest house which is great and saves bus fare or a taxi into town. As for the bath tub in room 4 which is a bathroom separate from the room. I would not recommend this bathroom to anyone wishing a shower as it is only a hand held shower and good for running over your hair. It is really for people who want to have a bath and funny enough it is popular enough as many people like to soak on a bath after a day walking around. I hate baths, for one, and I can undrerstand the difficulty in trying to use it for any other reason than hair washing. This is why is it very important to read the room description when booking a room. Unfortunately, we cannot put a separate shower in this room as it has a sloped ceiling. We have looked into this as it would be better for our guests to have a shower and a bath in this room. Sorry about that. As for the tickets to the castle. We are the only guest house in Edinburgh who can sell tickets to the guests (same price) and avoid up to one hour wait in high season. There are the large hotels who sell them but we are the only guest house. We have many a guest who have thanked us for saving them an hour or so. You simply hand the voucher to the man at the gate (walking past all the people) and walk on in. I suppose you could pretend that you are a VIP. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a place; what an experience. We stayed at this guest house over the new year period and found it absolutely brilliant. Anne and Brian are wonderful and looked after our every need from providing a brochure on what was happeing in the city to having a late breakfast on new year's morning. The location was ideal because the free late bus after the bells went straight to the guest house as my wife was a bit 'under the weather'. The place was a bit dear; but what can you expect at that time of year. Apart from that, the house was above our dreams. As for Edinburgh - we would come and stay here permanently if I could afford it. The new year experience; the people; the culture is superb. Shall come back some time in the future. Best wishes for 2012 - Tony

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Tony, I am so glad that you had a great time at the New Year. You certainly had loads of energy and covered a lot of ground. Your run up Arthur's seat was done in record time. You made me exhausted just talking to you about it! Such energy. I am away for a lie down..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2012

From arrival to departure absolutely everything exceeded our expectations. Leaving the car and having the bus right at the door was a big bonus. The room was fairly spacious and in excellent condition, very clean, lovely and warm and comfortable bed. Breakfast couldn't be faulted, delicious food served with a smile and a laugh. Best of all, Anne and Bryan, nothing was too much trouble for them. One big disappointment, having to leave - but we shall be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are both so glad that you enjoyed Edinburgh and our guest house. I really do hope to see you both again. Anne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A really really lovely guest house! Myself and my partner stayed for two nights to enjoy a long weekend on our first visit to the city. We were pleasantly surprised to find the bus stop right outside the driveway, and it was only around a 20 minute ride into the city.

Brian was a great host, and very helpful to newcomers like ourselves. He recommended all the right places to visit and advised very well on bus routes, etc.

Breakfast was wonderful! Very well presented, and enough to fill you up for the morning!
We stayed in the petite double room, situated on the ground floor to the back of the house. It was a little uncomfortable staying right next to the breakfast room, but served it's purpose! Bathroom was a good size (although one thing I would say is the tiled floor was unbelievably cold!) The room itself was on the small side but decent enough for two nights.

Overall a very pleasant stay. Very clean, friendly and good value.
Would definitely stay again and upgrade to one of the larger rooms!

Thanks Brian.
We hope to stay again in the future!

Emma & Matthew

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Emma and Mathew, thank you for the great review and it would be great if you both returned to Edinburgh as two days does not do it justice. The petite room is great value for money and especially good for very short stays. In fact, it is the most popular room in the house (due to the price). In winter the floor in the bathroom would be cold, I suppose, as it is tiled. The wooden floors are fine. A good idea would be to put on the overhead heater in the bathroom for a while to give it a bit extra heat. This would perhaps help. Unfortunately, this is all that I can suggest for by using slippers. I hope to see you again and room 1 and 4 are my favourite doubles if you return. Have a great christmas and new year. Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Another two night short-break stay at the Aynetree Guest House - 4th year in a row, this time with our parents. Handy place to leave the car and get the bus. The breakfast beats all other B&B's that we have been to around the UK. The quality of this establishment is excellent under the stewardship of Ann and Bryan. Attention to detail, cleanliness, friendly and helpful information. See you in late 2013. Merry Christmas. Hazel xx

Room Tip: Over the years I think we have stayed in most of the rooms - all at a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Hazel, it was great to see you both again and I hope to see you next year. Same date I suppose. Have a great christmas with your family. Anne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
2.7 mi away
Culane House Hotel
Culane House Hotel
#139 of 392 in Edinburgh
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aaran Lodge
Aaran Lodge
#105 of 392 in Edinburgh
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#154 of 392 in Edinburgh
24 reviews
4.0 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#174 of 392 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#23 of 392 in Edinburgh
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aynetree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aynetree Guest House

Property: Aynetree Guest House
Address: 12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynetree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Victorian detached guest house, with private parking for 6 cars, situated near the city centre. 5 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms except one which has a private large bathroom all modernized and refurbished in June 2006 to a high standard. The dining room has a coal fire which is used during chilly nights. Although central to all attractions including Arthur's Seat and the Palace of Holyrood; the house is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aynetree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynetree Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing