We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Edinburgh Experience”

The Ayden Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ayden Guest House
Ranked #178 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Ayden is a top class Guest House. The house was warm and welcoming as was Anita.
The breakfast was lovely, I had the fruit and yoghurt with honey. Delicious. My husband said his cooked breakfast was great too. Anita packed us a lovely breakfast for our journey home as we were leaving extremely early on our last morning.
We had the large family room at the front. Even though it was just my husband and I, the room could easily accommodate 4, it was huge. The en suite was a good size too. The toiletries were topped up as required. The tea tray was also replenished daily. The room was serviced daily. We were amazed at the lack of traffic noise being at the front.
We found the Ayden to be in a good location. My husband and I like to walk and did so every day, however the buses were very frequent and £1.50 each trip or a day ticket for £3.50. It was an easy 20 min walk to Port Leith where the Royal Yacht Britannia is on display, this was well worth the visit. As you had to go into the shopping centre to get onto the Britannia, we enjoyed a lovely dinner in the shopping centre (can't remember the name of the restaurant, but just along from Debenhams 2nd floor) They had so much choice and open 'til late.
We managed the hike up to Arthur's seat, well worth it for the view. Edinburgh Castle is a must also. We also visited various museums and walked around the town and soaked up the atmosphere. We were exhausted every night so slept soundly in a wonderfully comfortable bed.
On Anita's suggestion we took the No. 41 bus from Waverly Bridge to Cramond, just £1.50 again each way. We missed walking across to the Island due to the tide, but had a lovely coffee in the tea shop and had a long walk along the prom. It was approx. 20 min bus ride and made a lovely change from the city.
As our flight was very early we picked up the N22 night bus from the top of the road which took us all the way to the Airport. We had bought a return ticket on our journey into the city which was £6 return. Well worth it.
I would love to return to They Ayden if I come to Edinburgh in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDeeDeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 94 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at The Hayden on 4 occasions and it is always lovely. The rooms are spotless, well-equipped and beautifully furnished. The whole house is a peaceful haven with lovely extra touches, such as classical music at breakfast and scented candles in the hall. Anita and David are very friendly and work well together as a team. The breakfast is good too. After many years of staying in the city centre alongside stag and hen parties, we would not go anywhere else now.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelma1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

In standard, Ayden is on a par with Fraoch (two doors up, see previous review), but is more traditional in its decor and all the more homely as a result. Anita and David's friendly and attentive approach makes me feel more of a house guest than a paying one. The charming briefing at breakfast from young son Marcus on his upcoming schoolday only adds to that feeling of being part of the family as opposed to being a customer.
Beautiful rooms, great breakfast, lovely people and free on-street parking or - from Waverley - a 20' walk (10' cab ride if the weather's bad or you have lots of luggage); well, what's not to like?
I'm a semi-retired expat Scot back in Edinburgh on business every month and Ayden has become my default venue.

Room Tip: All rooms look of an equally high standard. My only tip is that, unlike many of the B&Bs on Pil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Yes, this place is wonderful. Fabulous rooms, delightful hosts, superb breakfast and the most comfortable bed I have found in a B&B or hotel EVER. Just perfect! (Well - it would be even better if it was ½ a mile closer to the city centre, but then there wouldn't be free street-parking and it wouldn't be so quiet at night.)

This is a truly great B&B - this is exactly how it should be done.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AIian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We recently stayed at the Ayden Guest House for 3 nights. Location is good as it's a 20 mins walk into Edinburgh. Anita and David were very welcoming and friendly. Our room [ No 3 ] was massive. It was clean, comfortable, warm and nicely decorated as was the rest of the guest house. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it. Try the veggie haggis, it was delicious. Would reccommend this guest house to family and friends and would love to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue63Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Aydn guest house is beautifully decorated and ideally located to get around Edinburgh. The breakfast is amazing and Anita and David are friendly and extremely helpful if one has any questions and queries. We are not even considering staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EsKaWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We've been to Ayden Guest House for three nights and enjoyed our stay.
Anita and David are very kind and helpful, the room is very clean and the location in Edinburgh is good. RECOMMENDED

Pros:
Very Clean rooms
Good location - 20 minutes walk from the Royal Mile
Kind hosts

Cons:
Small rooms
Basic Scottish breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galileo_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,614 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayden Guest House

Address: 70 Pilrig Street | EH6 5AS, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Ayden Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing