We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guest house in fantastic location”

The Ayden Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ayden Guest House
Ranked #155 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great guest house in fantastic location”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Ayden for the bank holiday in May. It was our first time in Edinburgh so we wanted a convenient base to explore the city. From booking onwards, Anita and David could not have done more to help us, responding promptly to emails, making sure we knew exactly how to get there from the airport, giving us info about local attractions and routes into town. The room we were in was absolutely immaculate, and huge - a real home from home (well, better than my home actually). The breakfast is included in the room rate and was delicious...served with a smile and some humourous anecdotes from David. We even requested extras for the breakfast which Anita went and bought in especially. I would really recommend this guest house, it's location is a 15-20 min walk from the Mile so close enough to be convenient but far away enough to provide a secluded retreat. I have recommended it to several friends since, and wouldn't hesitate to go back there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaclarekidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
56
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The house is very nice, the room very confortable and the bed superb! Just stayed one night due to lack of availiability in other B&B where I stayed the first two nights.
It is very clean, nice rooms, with beautiful courtins and linnens.
Anita, the host was very kind and prepared a nice breakfast.
I wish I had more time to spend here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We recently stayed at The Ayden Guest House in Edinburgh when we were attending the recent Bon Jovi concert at Murrayfield Stadium.
Anita the owner greeted us at the door and made us feel very welcome right from the start. She took the time to talk to us and showed an interest in our visit. The guest house was lovely and our room was very clean, spacious, was furnished to a very high standard. The ensuite was very clean also with plenty fresh towels and complimentary shampoos/conditioners and soap. We were given menus when we arrived to pick what we wished for breakfast, a good selection on offer for all tastes. In the morning we went down to the dining room which was also very bright,airy and clean. Breakfast was served very quickly as we had given the menu selection in the previous evening. Breakfast was lovely accompanied with toast and tea or coffee, and also fresh orange juice available to help yourself to. The Ayden was very reasonably priced in comparison to the prices the larger hotels were charging for the same night. The Ayden also offered free on street parking which I know in Edinburgh is very rare.
We would highly recommend The Ayden Guest House if planning a trip to the capital. It is close to the local attractions, and offers a friendly welcome to its guests. We will definately stay here again and have recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooziq26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed in the ayden as we were in edinburgh for our anniversary weekend, lovely friendly people david and anita very helpful.
Room at the top of the house was lovely very clean and bed very comfortable with a lovely spacious shower and all in all we had a great stay, bus stops right outside house and its £3.20 for a day ticket to ride all day back and forth the city,but only 20 mins walk to end of princes st up leith walk.
Only small niggles we had were that tea/coffee/sugar/milks in room were not replenished after one night meaning my partner had to go and ask for more which is not a real problem just think this is something that could have been avoided.
Also the breakfast were quite sparse and were given brown bread toast without being asked for an option which we dont really like,so if you are looking for a big hearty breakfast to set you up for the day then go out for breakfast.
All in all a very clean and friendly establishment and a great city with loads of attractions and nightlife.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuv1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My partner and I recently stayed at the Ayden Guest House for 4 nights during our visit to Edinburgh. Having looked at a lot of hotels in the Edinburgh area we were shocked to discover just how much they were compared to even places like London and Manchester and therefore opted to stay in a guest house as a more reasonably priced alternative. We certainly don't regret that decision having just arrived home.

The Ayden is fantastically convenient for public transport links to get into Edinburgh centre or to the Ocean Terminal shopping mall. For those driving there appears to be free on street parking too which is at a premium in the town. From the front door to the bedroom doors the decor is tasteful and the ambience is peaceful. David and Anita couldn't do enough for us as guests, myself turning up with an injury sustained after booking and my partner being lactose intolerant. Nothing was too much trouble including the offer of alternative rooms, extra pillows, storage of the lactose free milk and a genuine smile and good nature in offering them all.

The room we had was at the very top of the house and was quiet considering the road that runs outside. The bed was soft with excellent quality linen, the tea tray loaded with various teas, coffees, biscuits and mints, the bathroom stocked with a generious array of toiletries with flannels and even cotton wool balls provided - all touches that you'd be lucky to get in some of the nicer hotels in the town centre charging twice their nightly rate. Breakfast is taken in the dining room which just as it appears on their website and the classical music that plays whilst you eat is very relaxing indeed. Good quality products seem to be the order of the day. Premium branded cereals, excellent coffee and a freshly cooked breakfast were a fine way to start each day of exploring.

Having had questionable experiences in the past with guest houses I can say that our stay at the Ayden has renewed a lot of my damaged faith in staying in them. On a side note I would like to state that such glowing reviews are pretty tough to get out of me. I'm not praising this place out of anything other than genuine enjoyment especially considering the fact that I have no desire to visit Edinburgh ever again - it's not a city I enjoyed at all. I would however recommend The Ayden in a heartbeat to anyone who was headed that way, especially gay couples like ourselves who all too often find themselves unwelcome outside the big chain hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavabubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid June 2011. The B&B is well located with a bus stop directly outside the front door with regular buses in and out of the city, though it would only take about 15 - 20 minutes to walk to the top of Princess Street. The house itself is very attractive and our room was very big and comfortable with nice bed linen and an immaculately clean bathroom. David and Anita were friendly and very helpful, taking the time to write down names and numbers for suggested restaurants and bars. Good value for money and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukguy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engadin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Ayden bed and Breakfast is a perfect location to explore the scottish capital. From Princess Street you can catch a bus Nr 11 and get a ride almost to the front door. If you want to explore the Town by foot you get to the princess street within 15 min easy walking and to the old town within 20 min.
The rooms are bright and have big windows. Although the bus stops in fornt of the house is is quite. Our room was very tidy and very nice furnished. For breakfast the guest can choose a menue beside cereals and toast.
The hosts are very friendly and helpful. They borrowed us their tour guide for our trip to the Isle of Skye.
The Ayden Guesthouse will be our choice for the next trip to Scottland.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemongras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Conifers Guest House
The Conifers Guest House
#151 of 444 in Edinburgh
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#8 of 444 in Edinburgh
747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#52 of 444 in Edinburgh
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#105 of 444 in Edinburgh
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canadale Guest House
Canadale Guest House
#137 of 444 in Edinburgh
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#82 of 444 in Edinburgh
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayden Guest House

Property: The Ayden Guest House
Address: 70 Pilrig Street | EH6 5AS, Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Ayden Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing