We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very pleasant Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed midweek for one night, on their current deal of B&B with dinner included. Cannot really fault the level of service we received from all members of staff.
I had booked an "executive" room, and paid a little extra for it.
The dinner was excellent as was the breakfast the following morning. If I sound a little underwhelmed by the whole experience, it's probably because i've come to the conclusion now that "Boutique" hotels are not my style of Hotel. I probably enjoy staying more in a traditional Hotel, where they have simple light switches on the wall, NOT control panels.
Didn't really take away from a lovely overnight stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyoldvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    319
    108
    38
    21
See reviews for
107
934
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here with other family members recently and found it to be a very well appointed, buzzy and friendly hotel in a great central location. In the hectic pre-Xmas rush, the Tigerlily was booming from early morning to early morning, but in our third floor room we heard no noise from the bar/restaurant downstairs. Staff were always helpful and keen- breakfast service was a little slow- and a special mention for concierge, Ryan, for whom nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few weeks ago. Can't remember which room number it was but it was first floor. Rooms were great. Very modern and stylish plus I loved the shower and bathroom. A wee bit pricy for what it was but it's I'm Edinburgh City Centre and all hotels are. Had room service which was delivered by a young polish gentleman (I want to say his name was Lukas?) who was good. He even came back to collect the tray immediately when I called down. Had great cocktails in the bar with friends and there was a great atmosphere! Would probably go back for drinks and a bite to eat - probably would use the rooms again on the basis that it's an expensive room for the use of the bed and shower only.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank g4zg4z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed for one night last night. Had room 33, on top floor so avoided a lot of the noise others mention in previous reviews. The room itself was spacious and at first sight very pleasant - bed was huge and very comfortable, turn down service appreciated, so was on track for a better rating (albeit pricing is nonetheless, to my mind, exceptionally overinflated). So, what let it down?? A few things to be honest:
1. Room needs a little maintenance - the loo seat is coming loose, the floor tile grouting coming away near the door, the window - which has a fabulous view - has a sill that is a danger, think someone has leant on it to admire said view and it is coming away from the wall, so don't lean on it or you'll end up on the floor
2. The "salon quality hair dryer" of the room description was a slightly tired old Babyliss
3. My main reason for losing a star or two though, and this I think is very poor - checked out this morning just as another couple were doing so, gave room number and the girl on reception immediately picked up her walkie talkie and said - presumably to housekeeping - "that's room 32 and 33 gone" - then back to me with a perfunctory " did you enjoy your stay?". Mmm, would be better if you could keep treating me like a customer until I'm away from the desk and then refer to me as a room number............

Oh, and we had the same problem that someone else had on a previous review, despite being on a gift voucher they tried to pre-authorise me for the room rate as well but managed to stop this before it happened. Once is an accident, twice starts to feel like policy, shouldn't be a mistake your customers have to keep pointing out to you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananafish25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We were sorry to hear that your stay was let down by a couple of issues.
We have alerted our maintenance department to the repairs needing done, thank you for highlighting these.
We have been aware that our hairdryers need replaced and are now in the processof replacing them with new GHD hairdryers.
The reception team like to inform the housekeepers as soon as the rooms become vacant as a matter of efficiency. We have, however taken on board your comments and will in future not do this in front of the guest.
Please accept our apologies on these matters, we sincerely hope that you will not be deterred from visiting Tigerlily in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Being from Essex, and travelling up to Edinburgh it's always nice to see our hair style of Slick Rick's peppered through the bar area.

Decor is bang on, cocktails are awesome, although Living Room a few doors down just takes the crown for the 'Old Fashioned'.

When it's crowded it's quite hard to get to the bar, and you get the odd prat flashing his wonga chasing a bit of skirt, who's only interested in a divorce and a decent handout. More fool him.

I suggest visiting Christmas time as they make full use of the old original fireplace and chuck a few logs on and the tree's giving it large with it's fairy lights. Even though it's a high profile bar, it still hints of that home from home feel.

The wife and I always stop in for a few drinkies.

Room Tip: Have a bed in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lows82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Now are 3rd visit to this great hotel. We got a special rate through secret escapes which made it even more worthwhile. The room was fantastic despite only being a standard deluxe. service amazing, location perfect and restaurant is brilliant. Would recommend this hotel and any room option for a stay in Edinburgh

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pittsy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are very pleased you have now visited Tigerlily 3 times.
We pride ourselves on great customer service so it always nice to hear that we have delivered in this area. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Jodi Primrose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for a wee christmas treat, and what a treat it was. It is luxury all the way, having arrived in edinburgh in the morning we dropped our suitcase off at the hotel, this was not a problem and it was placed in our room for our return.
Our deal included cocktails o arrival, dinner and breakfast, all of which were excellent. Having breakfast delivered to the room at no extra charge, while browsing through the complimentary newspaper finished of a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.
The room was large and spacious, immaculately clean and everything in it was top quality. This has got to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to hear that your recent stay at Tigerlily was a success. We are very pleased you got to enjoy the gorgeous food in the restaurant and the amazing cocktails. If you would like to book another hotel deal then please join our mailing list on our website to receive exclusive offers.

Kind Regards,

Jodi Primrose
Reception and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing