We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable on every level”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impeccable on every level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in Tigerlily on the 5th September for one night, and we are seriously sad that it was only one night! We actually stayed three nights in Edinburgh and booked Tigerlily via Secret Escapes, but by the time we came to book only one night was available to book at Tigerlily; this left us to experience other 'luxurious' hotels in Edinburgh, and I tell you what, don't even bother with the big guns, Tigerlily beats them on every level.
As we approached the hotel we were greeted by a member of staff, who immediately welcomed us on suggestion that we were staying in the hotel and took us to the reception. At reception we were greeted by friendly staff, who informed us that we could borrow DVDs at our leisure (it's the small touches!). A porter took us up to our room and showed us around the entirety of the room and where we could find everything that we needed, I have never felt so at home in a hotel!
The design of the hotel is unlike anything else, it is so new and fresh; personal touches in a small boutique hotel. The small touches in this hotel make all the difference (we stayed in a luxury double room?) such as the GHD straighteners, Babyliss hairdryer and White Company cosmetics! The movable TV was another favourite. I feel like I had been neglected in all other hotels! The bed was very comfortable also, just perfect for our needs. We went out to explore the city and when we returned the turn down service had been in, amazing staff, you wouldn't have known they had been in, all of our personal items laid in exactly the place that they had been in before! The shag pile rugs on the floor were also a lovely touch, no cold feet that night!
After settling in we then went to the bar for a few drinks, the service again, amazing and cocktails were an amazingly reasonably price.
After borrowing a DVD we settled in for a good night's sleep. In the morning we awoke to a rainfall shower and a breakfast (as part of our room package). We both had a full Scottish breakfast, which was very tasty. The service and the design of the restaurant were unlike any other, so modern but also so welcoming.
We checked out at 10am, but upon checkout were offered the opportunity to leave our bags with the hotel until later, which we would have welcomed with open arms if we had not made prior plans.

I really cannot stress the true experience provided by this hotel! The service was amazing, and completely blew the Caledonian out of the water. All guests were treated equally rather than feeling ostracized (The Caledonian).

We enjoyed our stay so much that we intend to return in late January for our anniversary & this time shall also visit Lulu's underneath!

We really could not have asked for any more on our visit to Edinburgh, thankyou.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerlilyManager, Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Many thanks for your great feedback! I am so pleased to hear that your stay was really lovely from start to finish. Like you said it's the small touches that always make stays exceptional especially in your case. We take great pride in all the little and big amenities that we offer our guests both in the hotel itself and inside the bedrooms.

Our website has a direct link to all future offers so if you keep in touch and up to date we will hopefully see you again soon in the near future; please do not hesitate to contact us for further information,

Thank you again,
Emma Guttridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    319
    108
    38
    21
See reviews for
107
934
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had the most wonderful 3 night stay here. Was booked by me but was a treat from my husband and we both loved everything about Tigerlily. The staff greet you well and took our suitcase up to the room and the room itself was beautiful. Nicer than the pics and a pleasure to sleep in. We heard no noise at night and slept really well. Lovely touches everywhere and a great shower and TV. We ate dinner twice at the hotel and it was very good both times. Excellent in every way and we would stay here again if in Edinburgh.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerlilyManager, Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your recent comment on Tigerlily (Hotel+Restaurant) experiences, it is great to hear that you had a fabulous time with us here and enjoyed your food too.
We also aim to deliver great quality service, from our meet and greet at reception to the concierge welcoming you up to the rooms assisting with luggage to the restaurant and cocktail making!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, keep updated with any future offers on our website or contact us directly,

Kind regards,
Emma Guttridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Having previously stayed at both the Scotsman and Balmoral hotels i found Tigerlily to have been a better experience on every level.
The staff went above and beyond in order to make my stay a pleasant one.
A beautiful large room with every facility required.
Clean and tastefully decorated.
Restaurant superb and cocktails to die for!!
A special thankyou to Emma who was just lovely..she could teach many people in her field how the job should be done, courteous, kind and considerate!.
I will definitely recommend this Hotel and will be staying here for all future trips to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msprentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerlilyManager, Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello,
A big thank you for your recent trip advisor comment, all of your kind words have been passed on and greatly appreciated.
We hope to see you again soon and if you wish to find out about any future offers please do not hesitate to get in touch directly with myself or with the hotel reception; My direct contact is emmag@tigerlilyedinburgh.co.uk

Kind regards,
Emma Guttridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Booked a one night stay at Tigerlily after seeing a special offer on Facebook.
It was a lovely hotel, staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Our deal included an evening meal but we had lunch instead. Food was excellent and meal was very enjoyable.
All in all a lovely staff and we will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gill029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerlilyManager, Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your recent great feedback. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us both in the hotel and your dinner in the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Please feel free to get in touch directly regarding any future offers we may have.
Thank you,

Kind regards,
Emma Guttridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice bar and resturant, if you are looking for a lively 'young' place. Rather noisy in the evening, but having been forwarned by other reviewers, we asked for a really quite room and were given a room away from the noise of the music; We traded instead for the clanging of the bottles (we overlooked the back alley). Nice spacious room, lovely decor We found all of the hotel beds in Scotland a bit on the hard side and Tigerlily was no exception.

We had picked Full board and found the breakfast offering limited, unless you like the cooked traditional, but the service was very slow, especially one server who seem to make it her aim to ignore the dishes that were ready to bring to our table. One bad apple, among very attentive front desk staff, resturant staff and bar staff.

The staff made it their aim to be helpful and accomodative (except for the one server). friendly and aimed to please.

Great down-town location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tukwenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and i stayed here in June,but as i have been abroad with my work i have not had a chance to write a review. This is a very special Hotel,the moment you walk through the door you are transported to a world of opulence. Check in was handled wonderfully ,and the Gentleman who helped us with our cases to our room was most helpful in ensuring we got the best from our stay. We had plans to visit a few of our favourite Edinburgh haunts,but the atmosphere of the place meant we never left the Hotel.

The public areas are just splendid,and we enjoyed just sitting with our drinks and watching all go by,The eating experience was what you would expect,beatiful well prepared food served by caring and attentive staff. Very nice little touches such as small carpets put by the side of your bed in the Evening,GHD hair irons in the room (saved my wife using hers). Whoever was commisioned as the interior designer for Tigelily has performed a superb job in realising the Hotels mission, room layouts,lighting etc.

I used to be a firm fan of another Boutique Hotel on George Street (Le Monde).but it is a not in the league of Tiger lily. I would recommend Tigerlily to anyone who wanted to self indulge,but just have better willpower then myself and visit the local pubs ,I became a prisoner of this Gorgeous Hotel for our Stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerlilyManager, Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your recent comment; We truly love to hear great memories about trips that guests have at Tigerlily. We always try and make sure that all of our guests are welcomed in a happy manner and as helpful as possible along with our concierge to meet your needs. I look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon, along with family and friends that you may recommend. If you need information on any future offers we have please do not hesitate to contact us,

Kind regards,
Emma Guttridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Tigerlilly for one night while staying in Edinburgh. This hotel is so cool from the bar & restaurant to the room, even the staircase is cool! On arrival we had a drink in the bar then we were taken to our room where we were shown around and shown how the lights etc worked which is a first and very helpful. The room has a preloaded iPod and dock which is great (i stuck my iPhone in it with Spotify) and also GHD straighteners, a professional type hairdryer and a B&O phone.
We stayed in the Luxury double but found it to be similar to a suite as it had 2 really cosy armchairs and the flat screen tv at the base of the bed rotated 360 degrees so you could sit and watch it if you wanted. The furnishings and design of the hotel and room were brilliant! After going out for a meal at nearby Chaophraya (highly recommended) we returned to the hotel for some cocktails where there was a great atmosphere in the bar.
In the morning we went down for breakfast where we were offered a choice of Continental or Full Scottish Breakfast. We opted for the latter which was delicious including Haggis that set us up for the day.
All of the staff were very pleasant & helpful.
All in all an excellent stay and we would definitely go back. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerlilyManager, Assistant Reception & Revenue Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you very much for kindly reviewing our hotel. I am really happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with all the hotel amenities and extras we have to offer in the bedrooms and the hotel itself.
We are very proud of our restaurant and great cocktail bar and happily pleased that you enjoyed the variety of cocktails our bartenders have to offer. We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Emma Guttridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing