We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good second time i stayed there!”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night on business and loved it. So decided to take my husband for his 45th birthday. It was simply AMAZING. Very chic, fantastic food, great rooms and friendly service. Perfectly situated for shopping and exploring the city. I cannot recommend this hotel enough for a romantic chic night away. Useful tip. There are often deals going for this hotel so keep your eyes posted, especially if you are ok to stay Sunday to Thursday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 30 - very spacious, great bathroom and view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,280 - 1,286 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

We visited the Tigerlily as a birthday treat. What a great place,and the room,simply superb,It was like a home from home,all the quality and mod cons you need. Staff are extremely friendly. We ate breakfast at the hotel, and again ,great. Nice way to start the day.
Location is again super,with all the tourist attractions within walking distance.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dufc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Tigerlilly is definitely not a stuffy old-fashioned hotel, in fact quite the reverse. Everything is modern and stylish. Right from the king sized beds which feel taut and new to the iPod and atmospheric lighting systems. The bar/restaurant was constantly buzzing with people although the music could be a little loud for conversation. The food was equally brilliant and all the staff appeared to be local and more than willing to advise and assist.
Have no hesitation in recommending and would love to come back in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook George street which is never quiet yet have a better view than those at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moztech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Tigerlily hotel three nights and we were very pleased with the excellent service, the friendly and helpful staff, the spacious beautifully decorated rooms, the comfortable beds and mainly with the location. Five minutes walk from Princess Street. We like to walk when we travel in big cities and hate to hire taxis or use public transportation means. The location of this hotel suited us perfect. We would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We just love this hotel. We have stayed here twice now, both time for 2 nights. The rooms are fab, with a tv that actually works! An iPod, quality hair dryer and GHD hard straighteners! The comfiest beds ever, friendly and relaxed staff and service. also, beautiful breakfasts that set you up for a full day of shopping or sight seeing.
Whilst its not cheap, in our opinion it is well worth it. The bar is packed in an evening and there is a nightclub in the basement.

The staff have a vast knowledge of very tasty cocktails too, again you need deeps pockets though.

We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K4donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at most of the 5 stars in Edi and never here as its 4 star - but the service and rooms exceed most of the 5 star hotels! In Junior Suite which has every amenity you could think of including iPod with great selection of music and GHD straighteners.
Only point to be improved is position of reception - its a pinch point and you get crowded by restaurant goers! But all in all a top class hotel with best service in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Heard so many positive comments about this hotel decided to book it for some Xmas shopping, and to visit the German Market.No complaints about the room except we were at the back of the building,so no view at all. I requested when booking a twin room but was given a double with no explanation why. Room was spacious,complimentary water and fruit, 2armchairs which were comfy but a bit stained, large wet room,and pre-loaded iPod which was a nice touch. Had a couple of drinks in the bar which were quite pricey, overall a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roryboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,008 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $150 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing