We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salisbury Green Hotel
Ranked #118 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Athens
1 review
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel is located in a good spot less than 20' walk from the historic centre. Parking is more than ample, and security is there to keep you and your car safe. The room we got No2 (SB2, double+) was awesome. Spacious, decora-ted nicely, with tall ceiling, bed mattress was absolutely fantastic, big private bathroom with toiletries. Wi-Fi connection was fast and effortless, veryyyyy quite, clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good and enough to give you the push you need to start your day. Service is superb giving you the sense of a quite more expensive hotel. There is just one thing i would like something to be done about it. Windows (room & bathroom) tend to leave some cold air to enter. This doesn't mean the room was not warm,on the contrary. Just gives you a chill when you're standing in front. In total, not only i would recommend it, but i would also like to congratulate all people working there, for their professionalism and their politeness. Certainly i would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dimitrios C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    147
    52
    14
    9
See reviews for
33
195
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Looking at the pictures before booking we did not realize that this hotel was located inside a university campus. When we arrived we actually had to check in at one of the other buildings (a university dorm). Our building which is the castle that shows up in most pictures did not have a front desk and we didn't see any hotel staff until our second day there. Having said that, is not a bad hotel. The rooms look renovated and clean, the internet inside the rooms is great, the breakfast features a very complete buffet of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, freshly baked breads. Besides they also serve a prepared to order Scottish breakfast with eggs, sausage, baked beans and black pudding. The hotel had free parking and we never had any issues finding a spot for our car. The hotel is not too close to the city center (about 10 minutes by car). On The days when we didn't want to drive to the city center we took a bus which was also an easy access option. There aren't too many restaurants walking distance from the hotel but the location is a good option to save some money on pricier hotels in the city center.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SOBETraveler1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is located on the University of Scotland campus. The room we had was wonderful - spacious, comfortable, clean, view of the trees outside. The best part was the bathtub - is was big enough to float a flock of swans! My wife was in love and I was afraid I'd find it packed in her luggage when we got home! Breakfast was great with a great selection of pastries, fresh fruit, etc. or a chose your own hot breakfast.

Great place, would GLADLY stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morris91030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh1st, Customer Relations at Salisbury Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind and positive review of your stay in Salisbury Green Hotel.

It is always great to hear reviews such as this as all our staff work hard to provide the best customer experience possible for our guests. I'm sorry we couldn't provide you with a folding bathtub so it could be packed away in your luggage!

If you ever choose to return to Edinburgh we would be happy to welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a great little hotel at a reasonable price. It's a bus ride away from the Royal Mile and Castle but it's easy to do. Our room was huge and the bathroom was incredibly modern. Breakfast was good. Overall it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mopette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

On my first trip to Edinburgh, and one that would set the stage for many subsequent returns, I was fortunate enough to stay at the Salisbury Green Hotel. The hotel is very close to the foot of Arthur's Seat and thus provides an ideal starting point for a trek up to the summit. Situated in Pollock Halls, the hotel is within walking distance to all of the attractions found near the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle but distant enough to be without the hustle and bustle associated with those venues.

The rooms are a good size and come with all the usual amenities and I really appreciated the tall ceilings of my room. The hotel serves a wonderful breakfast that set the bar for breakfasts to come. The grounds contain wonderful gardens and are very well tended. I had none of the problems other mention re the keyless entry system or the lack of reception staff. I knew when they were on duty and when they weren't and that suited me fine.

If you're looking for a place to stay that is away from all the noise yet close enough to everything you need, stay at the Salisbury Green Hotel. I felt like I was staying in a small castle and loved my stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

On the university campus next to Hollyrood Park. 30-40 min walk from the city centre or 10 mins in a taxi. City buses run from nearby the hotel. Next door to Arthur's Seat which is well worth climbing. in amongst the University halls of residence it is a nice, clean hotel. There are no reception staff and check in is in a nearby building. The key entry system on the front door requires some skill to negotiate (as it turned out I do not have that skill) and it sometimes too several attempts to gain entry. Room was very clean and comfortable. I slept well in the bed. Breakfast was good with a good buffet of fruit, cereals, meats and cheeses plus a full Cooked breakfast for those with the appetite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiemannZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel that is always a luxury to stay in. The rooms are elegant and spacious whilst also being modern and clean. Breakfast is a mixture of buffet and cooked to order so you can really spoil yourself. Although a little out of town the hotel is a great place to stay to explore the city without the nighttime noise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alidma2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#116 of 148 in Edinburgh
418 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#88 of 148 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#14 of 148 in Edinburgh
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#131 of 148 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 148 in Edinburgh
960 reviews
The Thrums Edinburgh
#286 of 392 in Edinburgh
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Green Hotel

Property: Salisbury Green Hotel
Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salisbury Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Green Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing