We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, give it a go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salisbury Green Hotel
Ranked #122 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel, give it a go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was booked into this hotel by my company at the last minute and was very surprised by the accommodation and service provided. Check-in was very efficient and the staff very knowledgable about the area and dining options available. Free Internet was provided which was easy to use. The bedroom was modern and very clean, the only downside for me was that there was no separate shower just a shower attachment in the bath. Breakfast was first class and the staff were very friendly, I stay a lot in hotels and I can honestly say that the breakfast experience would put many 4/5 star hotels to shame. If you are staying in Edinburgh then give Salisbury Green a try and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jollybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    143
    52
    14
    9
See reviews for
32
188
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Not something I normally worry too much about but I was left so impressed by the way I was checked in @ 16:30 on Monday 7 January 2013!!! Very efficient, very pleasant and very helpful – well done that man!!

Reception is not in the same building as the actual hotel – providing you know that is the case then not a problem. The hotel is in the university campus grounds, again if you know that then not a problem.

The rooms are clean, great shower (rain shower) and was very quiet (not sure what it would be like in term time). I would think this was an absolutely brilliant place to stay when visiting your children at this university! You are overlooked by Arthurs Seat, but for me too far out from the centre of Edinburgh to make it a holiday hotel destination.

The breakfast was fantastic, really good and worthy of a special mention. I just love haggis for breakfast and it was great here – the fresh fruit was as good as any in a 5 star hotel. Very impressed!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1BDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdiFirst, Public Relations Manager at Salisbury Green Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review of Salisbury Green. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and our customer service. I will pass on your kind words to our reception team, who are always happy to help. We would be happy to welcome you again if you return to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked this b & b as a base to stay on New years eve. It is about 20 minutes walk out of the town which suited us as it was away from all the hustle and bustle, very easy walk to town with plenty of pubs, takeaways, shops on the way.We didnt stay in our room much with it been New Years Eve but as a base it was good value for money especially as other places were alot more expensive to stay in for the time of year. Booking in was abit slow as there were lots of other people and only 1 member of staff on duty. Room very clean, airy and exactly as we expected. Hot water, warm room and great base, breakfast service and staff exellent. Only downfall were the pipes banging in the night that sounded like a ship coming in but this soon stopped. Staff friendly and 24hr service. Early check out. Would recommend +++

Room Tip: One without pipes banging in the night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clair c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdiFirst, Public Relations Manager at Salisbury Green Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your New Year's stay at Salisbury Green and hope you consider us again if you return to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a lovely place this is. Large room however heating went off at night, got a bit chilly. Breakfast good and plentiful, staff very attentive. I would stay here again about a mile yto the city centre, a nice walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdiFirst, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Green Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review - I will pass on the issue you highlighted to the management team. We are very happy that you would like to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming f you return to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
318 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 697 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice little treasure hidden within one of the student campuses of University of Edinburgh.

It certainly has charm but please note - it is in the heart of a working Uni... full of students.

PROs
Beautiful old building that strike a great balance between celebrating the architectural charm while still providing all the mod-cons in terms of bedroom and a sensational bathroom. One of the best deep baths I've enjoyed for awhile with hot strong water pressure and handcrafted herbal liquid soaps. Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was one of the best I've enjoyed this year (despite visiting in excess of 20 odd hotels). The room is also incredibly clean. I mean really really CSI level clean.

CONs
It's run by the University and I suspect it's a historical protected building. What's this mean? It means that it looks like a hotel and presents like a hotel but in practice not really. There is zero room service, no laundry (unless you want to spend some quality time with students at the student laundry), the registration area for the hotel is in a different nearby building... but this is not clear and the visual directions are diabolical. All the signage looks the same as all the other Uni signage. There is free wifi in the room... but only if you sign some forms at the registration building... of which the guy registering us didn't advise us so back we went. The breakfast on the first morning was so outstanding that we invited our son, a resident student at the uni, to join us - meant to open at 7am but come 8am doors were still locked... no breakfast on second day.

The biggest thing you should be aware of is that there is no lift. So unless you can comfortably carry your luggage up flights of narrow stairs - this hotel is not for you. We were on the top floor and I nearly killed myself checking in and checking out. Still once inside - the room and ambience is lovely. You've been warned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThrillingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdiFirst, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Green Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your constructive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience at The Salisbury Green Hotel. We really appreciate all feedback and I will pass on all your concerns to the management team. Please consider us again when you next visit Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for the third (or possibly fourth?) time. Booked a superior room which was excellent - spacious, comfortable, full of character and lovely views. 10 minute bus ride into city. Parking right outside. Breakfast never fails to impress. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdiFirst, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Green Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind and positive review and continuous patronage. We are very happy you have enjoyed your numerous visits to Salisbury Green and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#118 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#134 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
The Thrums Edinburgh
#347 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Green Hotel

Property: Salisbury Green Hotel
Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salisbury Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Green Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing