We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lochend Serviced Apartments
Ranked #143 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just back from a nice stay in these apartments. They are a bit out of town but there is a bus stop just outside the apartments with 2 busses no49 and no34 going into town every 20-30 mins. The apartment was well equipped iron, hairdryer all kitchen utensils toaster microwave etc . It was quite spacious and the 2 bedroomed one we rented had 2 bathrooms . Nice quiet location and even though there were stag parties staying on the Friday night it was reasonabbly nice and quiet. Great parking right beside your apartment. Well equipped with towels and extra blankets etc.
As with all rented apartments it could do with some basic maintenance ,a light not working . window wouldn't close properly , cracked glass on wardrobe but nothing major or important. When in Edinburgh again we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: If booking a two bedroomed apartment check a few days before you to make sure they have given you on...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Lochend Serviced Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 178 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here as i was attending the concert at Edinburgh Castle for the torch light procession for the olympic games. We arrived early at lochend as we were hoping to get organised and get our bearings of the area luckily our room was ready and reception allowed us to check in early which was fab, the apartment itself was a nice size was very clean and as previous said comfortable beds. The local area looks residential but is quite with friendly locals.Tried the local pub food was nice. Went to the castle which was a short taxi ride away about six quid. Friendly staff and very good price which we also got a discount as we quoted the promotinal code on their facebook page.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hi after staying in these apartments with 26 Hens for my daughters hen night, I would like to commend yous as it must be tought to please 26 Hens with not one complaint. The girls loved the apartments and the location (a short taxi ride to the amazing night life).
I cant comment on reception as we didn't see any one, our keys were left with directions and on our leaving day we posted the keys back through the door. No problems.
The apartments were clean (except the full black bin bag the cleaners decided to leave in our kitchen) probably just an over sight.
The condition was good (not Great!) but I would have been nervous with a hen party if the decor was GREAT.
All in we loved them Thanks again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at lochend apartments for three nights a group of girls the apartments were exactly what we had hoped as I was the one that sourced the apartments I was hoping that they were nice. The apartment was clean modern very comfy beds which all the girls commented on nice touches like mirrors in the hall and also in the bedrooms hair dryer and iron with iron board. The showers were also very good. Nice sized kitchen very clean with fridge all plates glasses cups pans and pots etc. Town the city centre grass market was all very accessible from the apartments. Close to shops helpful staff. The apartments were exactly as described excellent stay and great price!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L-beij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Initially impresdion was that the apartment 149(3a) was tired looking and in need of refurbishment. Stains on carpet and blinds rust stains round shower, tv that came of the Ark, which only had 3 channels due to broken arial (only discovered after office closed) apartment smelt of stale smoke and double room backed onto a main road which was very noisy! TV in double bedroom was ancient and again no channel's and no TV in kids room. Went and bought DVD's as the tv wasn't working and DVD player also not working!!! Apartment's appeared clean initially but on closer inspection kitchen handles cooker and hood, sticky and grubby :-) very disappointed by these
apartments and they are defiantly not 4 star. Stayed in Oakhill just along from these ones last year and they are far superior.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharongnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexis l, Manager at Lochend Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear guest,

Firstly can i note i find this review to be somewhat suspisous due to the fact that apartment 149a/3 has not been let out for over 3 months due to a ongoing problem with boiler, i will however post a response, for the information of potential guests.

All of our apartments have flat screen Tv's yes they are not all plasma, however the majority are, we do not advertise that we have plasma screens we say that we have we have flat screens. I have since checked all the apartments in building 149a and no aerials are broken? If however you did experience any technical issues with the TV you can always call our 24 hour number which is posted on our reception window, and also in your welcome pack in your apartment. This is why we have a 24 hour phone outside reception, to enable guest to be be able to get in contact with our concierge 24 hours which would have been explained on arrival. We also do not bost that we have a 24 hour reception on all websites we inform guests that reception closes at 5.30pm.

Regarding -TV in double bedroom was ancient and again no channel's and no TV in kids room

Yes the TV in the main bedrooms are all being replaced, the tv's were all switched off during the digital switch over, however again we do not advertise any where that we have tv's in the bedrooms?

All apartments have DvD players however, this had not been reported broken and so we were not aware of this, however again you could have called our 24 hour number and we would have been happy to bring a new DVD player, or even noify us the next day.

Lastly can i just say, we are not of the same standard of Oakhill apartments as they are 5 star, we do not advertise that we are 5 star, Lochend Apartments are 4 star, something which we are very proud about and take very seriously. Again, i find this review very suspisous as if you have stayed at Oakhill a year ago and by the review of Oakhill which funnily enough you only put up the same day as you reviewd Lochend Apartments why would you not return there? Maybe due to the dramatic price difference?? With Lochend Apartments average night being between £65-£80 per night, and Oakhill being double that...Unfortunately you can not pay 3 star prices and get a 5 star apartment?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed at these apartments for 3 nights on business. I found them to be clean, comfortable and practical. They have everything you need for everyday living and I found the bed very comfortable after a long grilling day of meetings. They have parking and free wifi. If you don't have transport there is a local bus service which gets you into town in less than 20minutes. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. I will definitely be using these apartments again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Booked a stay at lochend apartments with a group of friends for the Edinburgh Marathon. Check in was quick and easy and the apartments were easy to find. There is ample car parking within the complex which was also free as I booked direct with Lochend apartments as I always find car parking tricky to find in Edinburgh. I booked a 2 bedroom apartment and was allocated apartment 149a/12. The apartment had a lovely view of arthur seat, was clean and tidy and had more than enough space for myself and 4 friends. The apartment was equipped with everything i needed and expected from a self catering apartment. I had a problem on the second night as I had lost my apartment key. I went to the reception however it was closed as they close at 5:30pm. I called the 24 hour number displayed on the window and the concierge was very polite and came to my apartment within 5 minutes with the spare key. I booked these apartments because of the cheap price and also location as they are close to the city centre and also close for the Edinburgh marathon. I would definately be recommending these apartments to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha12012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexis l, Manager at Lochend Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for submitting your review regarding Lochend Apartments, we are very greatful for all your kind words and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

Lochend Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#126 of 150 in Edinburgh
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochend Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochend Serviced Apartments

Address: 147/1 Lochend Road, Edinburgh EH7 6ET, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $111 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lochend Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lochend Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochend Serviced Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland
Lochend Serviced Apartments Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing