We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we have ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Victorian Town House
Ranked #36 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B we have ever stayed at!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in October and were highly impressed with Aileen's hospitality and attention to detail. From the moment we arrived we received a very warm welcome and good advice on the best places to visit in Edinburgh. The room was very spacious and spotless with plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. Aileen provided a super breakfast with lots of choice, nothing was too much trouble and she even left us some homemade cookies in our room as well as making sure we had snacks for our journey home. Fantastic stay, would definitely recommend and will hopefully be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guineapig86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
202
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived at this lovely B and B it felt like home from home. Our room, The Caledonian Room, was spotlessly clean and spacious and included everything we could possibly want. We were met by Aileen, who is a remarkable host. We arrived early but there was no problem leaving bags, so we could get off into the city. It is only a ten minute walk to reach the main shopping area. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice and thee 'Scottish' breakfast was cooked to perfection. We were encouraged to come and go as we pleased, which would have been handy if the weather wasn't so good.
Our flight left in the evening and Aileen allowed us to leave our bags after check-out. As no one was coming into our room, she even left the key with us and gave us cakes to go with our afternoon tea.
We would have no hesitation in using the Victorian Town House again and would thoroughly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: All three rooms looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The reviews are all true! Just stop searching and stay at The Victorian Townhouse.

First and very importantly, the lovely and wonderful host Aileen. She offered her greatest and warmest welcome to us when we arrived (even though she was busy preparing birthday surprise for the other guests) She let us rest at her office and offered us big cup of tea and milk and muffin as the room was not ready yet. She later on chatted with us very friendlily and introduce us our room (Scottish style room) in every detail. She was also very helpful to introduce us the ways to city center, dinner.

Room: Scottish style room. Spotless. Large. Cozy. We were touched by the complimentary small bottle of whiskey and a box of chocolate.

Location: 15 mins walk to city center. Not a problem to walk back to the BnB even at late night. Found several local supermarkets on the way which open until 10:30-11:00pm. 5 mins walk to bus stop n train station.

Breakfast: Oh breakfast.. Still missing Aileen’s breakfast! The breakfast was just GREAT! Big breakfast which start with fresh fruit crisps. Followed by full hot breakfast, toasts. End by muffins. Aileen even prepared bags for us to take away the muffins as she knows we probably cant finish everything! On the day we went to highland, she was so thoughtful to prepare us a big goodie bag which contained water, fruits, cakes, chocolates, snacks, candies etc… we never felt hungry during our stay with Aileen!

Love everything here and Aileen just made our stay soooo enjoyable. Her great hospitality , sincere enthusiasm just made us feel very welcomed and a very great start to begin our journey.

Room Tip: Room: Scottish style room. Spotless. Large. Cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eamyat903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arrived later than planned to be greeted by the lovely Aileen, who made us feel so welcome, She told us where to park etc and showed us to our beautiful room - The Colonial room!! Right up my street with all the animal print accessories!! We were greeted by a lovely box of chocolates and card and bottle of wine as she knew we were celebrating a birthday, this was a lovely little touch. Aileen advised us of where to go for the evening and told us what time breakfast was the following am. We arrived for breakfast and it was lush, fresh fruit on arrival, plenty of tea, coffee and fruit juices then came the big breakfast which came out piping hot and was all cooked perfectly!! As if this wasn't enough, Aileen then brought out a birthday cake and the other guests joined us in a birthday song, I was so touched!! Later on In the day, my partner and I had a shopping day and when we returned, he proposed to me in our beautiful colonial room!! Making this trip all the more perfect and backing up the fact that we will be coming back here again and again, staying in our perfect room! Aileen was aware of the proposal and once again showed great kindness towards us. Overall the hosting was supreme, the room was amazing, the townhouse - stunning and the food delicious, kept us going till the evening time!! Would I recommend others to stay there?! Hell yes, already have done before we even left Edinburgh!! My only advice - stay out of the Colonial room so that I can go back to my heavenly room again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed four nights in this Lovely B&B with the most wonderful hostess, Aileen. She spoiled us from day one. The room was nice and big with comfortable beds and our own bathroom. We had a very nice cooked breakfast every morning with fresh fruits. Aileen was helpful in answering any questions we had and was more than willing to share about sightseeing in Edinburgh.
The B&B is quite central. We walked to the main shopping street in just 15 minutes. The Airport bus took less than 20 minutes and from the stop it was only a 5 minutes walk to the B&B.
We both hope we will come back to Edinburgh and get to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I had our second stay there for a couple of nights 23 and 24 September 2013. Once again greeted and treated like old friends. We would recommend this B&B situated in a nice quiet area in the West End to one and all. Beware of the big breakfast, it can do serious damage to your lunch aspirations.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and well decorated. We prerered the Scottish Suite but stayed in the African Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a really great place to stay. The B&B is in the "basement", but do not let that deter you. Aileen is great hostess. She will give you a Scottish breakfast you will not forget. Every morning is like a mini UN with greats from all over the world.

If you are coming by train, get off the train at Haymarket. It is only a few blocks away. If you do not want to drag a bag, there is a convenient taxi stand at the train station.

Food and drink are available nearby. The West End Hotel offers a bar and restaurant. On the weekends, the West End Hotel is a magnet for hen parties.

The West End shopping area and the Hop On-Hop Off bus are a relatively short walk away. We used the Hop On-Hop Off bus as a virtual taxi.

This B&B is in a Georgian era building. Remember "Upstairs, downstairs." This is the downstairs, but it is very comfortable. There are three rooms all en suite. The front room where we stayed is filled with light. The two other rooms have wall-to-wall carpet. As someone else said, "This is the place to stay in Edinburgh." Spot on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatH95120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#18 of 392 in Edinburgh
438 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 392 in Edinburgh
498 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 392 in Edinburgh
668 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 392 in Edinburgh
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Town House

Property: The Victorian Town House
Address: 14 Eglinton Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is situated on two floors with the guest rooms situated in the garden flat which has its own private entrance. Guests are provided with a key to enable the flexibility to come and go as they wish. There are 3 Bedrooms all with en suite facilities, a sofa, colour T.V. (with digital Freeview box) and are decorated to the highest standard. Other featuers include; radio alarm clock, hairdryer, hospitality tray with a selection of teas, coffee and biscuits. A small decanter of whisky and crystal glasses awaits your return from a hectic day so you can unwind before retiring to your extremely comfortable bed. The en suite shower rooms are very spacious and finished to a high standard with fresh fluffy white towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Victorian Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Town House Hotel Edinburgh
The Victorian Town House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing