We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a weekend away!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victorian Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victorian Town House
Ranked #35 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for a weekend away!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for three nights while on a weekend away. We had such a great time! Aileen, who owns this B&B, was brilliant. She was so welcoming and friendly and gave us some great tips on what to do in Edinburgh.

The room we stayed in was really cozy. It was much bigger than I had expected, with a lovely sofa and fireplace.Everything was really clean and comfortable. Also when we arrived back from our first day in Edinburgh there was a bowl of sweets and some whiskey, compliments of Aileen!
The VictorianTown House is in a lovely area, really quiet and close to the city centre. We walked or paid £4 in a taxi to get home at night. Also the airport bus stops really close so you don't have to walk far with your bags.

There are only three room in this B&B so you really do get great attention to detail. The breakfast here was really yummy and Aileen will make you anything you want.

I would recommend this place for anyone looking to go on a romantic/ special weekend away in Edinburgh. I will be staying here next time I'm in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Hooded_Neon_Ion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
197
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in the B&B for a weekend and found it to be excellent value for money. Though there was not any dedicated parking, with the help of Aileen, we easily found free parking nearby. The location is wonderful and the walk into Princes Street and the bars and restaurants of the West End was short and very beautiful. The room we stayed in was very well proportioned and the decor was just right.
Aileen made us both feel very welcome and was happy to provide us with advice on where to visit and what was going on. Great hostess.
The breakfast was very nice indeed, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt and a well made breakfast all washed down with filtered coffee or a selection of teas.

Great stay and will definitely stay at the Victorian Town House on our next visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

It was our fifth time at Aileens Victorian Townhouse - and definitly not the last time ;-). We love our dear Aileen, the beautiful and lovely decorated rooms and Edinburgh anyway.
It's just like coming home when Aileen is waiting for us with a big hug for my husband me ;-).
Very, very recommendable!!!
By the way ... the breakfast is delicious!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Victorian Town House. Aileen was a generous host and even left a decanter of whisky and nightly chocolates for her guests as well as providing a hearty cooked breakfast each morning. We stayed in the spacious Caledonian Room and enjoyed returning after each day's sightseeing to comfortable, quiet and clean surroundings with a stylish roomy bathroom. Aileen is a genial host, very knowledgable about her city and engaging company, but knows when to leave you alone to enjoy your space. It is a grand Georgian house, full of tasteful furnishings and you will have a restful night's sleep. We would definitely return to the Victorian Town House the next time we come to delightful Edinburgh. The bus stop for the ever-present express airport bus is not far away. You won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Forget the car and use public transport and/or walk ... difficult to find a parking space in the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSMOnyaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Victorian Town House was clean, comfortable and very welcoming. A bit of a walk to town centre, but bus service very good. Well worth considering. Aileen, the proprieter, was a delight and very welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 588Bussie588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BS. AS. ARGENTINA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is one the best places we've ever been. When we arrived with my wife and look around inside the hotel we couldn't believe it was real. I think two words are enough to describe this incredible place: excellent taste. The rooms are amazing, breakfast prepare by Aileen Reeves is something you won't regret, location is wonderful, what else can I tell you? Just go to enjoy an unforgettable experience. We love you Aileen and we hope our child grow up quickly, because 12 years is too much time waiting to go again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIEGOAINLOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We didn't arrive until about 12am and Aileen stayed up waiting for us and still answered the door with a smile on her face! She treated us like we were long lost friends, opening her home up for a visit. We had the Caledonian room which was beautiful and there were treats, cookies, and chocolates along with a nightcap of whisky waiting for us to enjoy. Everything was very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely too! The place is within walking distance to city center, maybe about 10 to 15 min walk. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Kew House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#18 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#32 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
4Kt Guesthouse
#33 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Town House

Property: The Victorian Town House
Address: 14 Eglinton Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is situated on two floors with the guest rooms situated in the garden flat which has its own private entrance. Guests are provided with a key to enable the flexibility to come and go as they wish. There are 3 Bedrooms all with en suite facilities, a sofa, colour T.V. (with digital Freeview box) and are decorated to the highest standard. Other featuers include; radio alarm clock, hairdryer, hospitality tray with a selection of teas, coffee and biscuits. A small decanter of whisky and crystal glasses awaits your return from a hectic day so you can unwind before retiring to your extremely comfortable bed. The en suite shower rooms are very spacious and finished to a high standard with fresh fluffy white towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Victorian Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Town House Hotel Edinburgh
The Victorian Town House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing