We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get better than this --------- so pleasant, rare these days.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lindsay Guest House
Ranked #87 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Made to feel very welcome the second I arrived. Pamela and Keith are friendly, enthusiastic and dedicated hosts. My room was immaculate, the ensuit bathroom spectacular, the breakfast delicious and for me the walk into town along the canal was better than all the fitness centers I've ever seen! Lindsay Guest House is vibrant and delightful which is perhaps inspired by Pamela's involvement with Reike.
Nothing to dislike here just seamless devotion to the gentle art of making people feel at home and delivering a top class service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilbrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Lindsay Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 250 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2009

This place is different. You feel that attention is paid to all aspects. Jeff for sure was an interesting guy to talk to. I felt good there. Maybe that is because Pamela is a Reiki master, and that shows (although Keith told me he runs the hotel). Throw in the free internet and you have a pleasant stay guaranteed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank straubm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed here 15.08.09, and it was absolutely lovely. Pam & Keith made us very welcome, served us a lovely breakfast and kept a very clean hotel. You can catch the bus directly outside into the centre, and a day ticket only costs £3. I would recommend this to anyone, as it is also lovely and quiet. The owners are also very security concious, which is great.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micky290967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Stayed at Lindsay Guest House when visiting Edinburgh for a concert. Pamela and Keith made my wife and me most welcome and Keith advised us where to eat that evening' how to get to the restauran, what time to go etc etc. The guest house itself is spotless and the breakfast provided was first class.We would not hesitate to use this guest house again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadridCumbernauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We loved our stay at Lindsay Guest House! Keith and Pam were wonderful hosts and would do anything for their guests. They were very knowledgeable about things to see and do in the area and never seemed too rushed to chat with us. Our room was beautiful, the breakfasts were great, and the location was perfect, just a short bus ride to city centre and to the Mound which is very near to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. Yet, Lindsay Guest House is in a very quiet area, affording a welcome respite after a day of touring and we enjoyed peaceful walks along the canal. We will stay here again if we return to Scotland and highly recommend this bed and breakfast to others.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beneman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed in Lindsay Guesthouse for two nights. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the owner Keith who clearly and with a good sense of humor explained the facilities as well as providing information on current events and sites in Edinburgh. Keith insisted on carrying my suitcase upstairs to our spacious and comfortable room. In the morning we could select from a large variety of menu options which provided plenty of energy for our explorations of Edinburgh. Owners Pamela and Keith (and their daughter) were very welcoming during our stay and give a number of good tips to enjoy our stay in Edinburgh. In short: we were very much satisfied.

Ellen and Michel (the Netherlands)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Spent a weekend at the Lindsay. Pamela and Keith are very friendly. They advised us as we were making our booking that the weekend we were planning to be in Edinburgh was clan gathering weekend and recommended events and ticktets if we wanted to go. This turned out to be excellent. The service was fantastic and the rooms were lovely, clean and quiet. The Lindsay is a short walk along a quaint canal into central Edinburgh and the castle. I would definetely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTrav82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
4Kt Guesthouse
#25 of 393 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
Appin House
#88 of 393 in Edinburgh
135 reviews
Leith
Swan Lake Guest House
Swan Lake Guest House
#173 of 393 in Edinburgh
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glenalmond House
#62 of 393 in Edinburgh
248 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
839 reviews
15 Merchiston Gardens
#311 of 393 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindsay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindsay Guest House

Address: 108 Polwarth Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 1NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $95 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindsay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindsay Guest House is a red sandstone Victorian listed building of great character. Located in the highly desirable Merchiston area, it is on an excellent bus route which takes 10 - 15 minutes to make the journey to the city centre. For the more energetic it is possible to walk along the Union Canal to the city centre (approx 30 minutes). Car parking available (no cost). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindsay Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing