We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindsay Guest House
Ranked #77 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
1 review
“home from home”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

my wife and i stayed for a couple of nights. very welcoming hosts. Great rooms, very clean and fresh. Very spacious, great breakfast.

highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukdiverNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
109
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elgin
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2009

We've been going to the Lindsay for more than twenty years and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Edinburgh. Pam and Keith are the third 'Mine Hosts ' since we've been going there and they have spent a lot of money and effort in creating an excellent establishment. They are both very friendly and helpful. The rooms are of a high standard and very clean. Breakfasts are excellent. Would have no hessitation in recommending the place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugbycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2009

It was another enjoyable stay ay the Lindsay Guest House in Edinburgh. This is the sixth time I have stayed there and have enjoyed every visit. You are guaranteed a warm welcome and you are well looked after. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and tidy and you get a superb breakfast to start your day. I would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Liked — Warm and friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2009

I've now stayed in the Lindsay 5 or 6 times and each time the service, accommodation, and breakfast are faultless!! Without asking I was given the same room as previous, showing Keith and Pamela's attentiveness - almost feels like a home from home! Great walks along the Union Canal as well - perfect to ease pre-exam nerves! Thanks again for a great stay! Richie, The Far North (Aberdeen)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Spent New Year here this year, they were really helpful, especially as we had to change the dates as our flights were changed. Rooms were spotless, bathroom was newly refurbished and lovely. Pamela and Keith were excellent, even sending on our left items. Bus stop into town right outside B&B with two regular buses. Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheadle
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2009

A lovely place to spend our 3 nights over Hogmany.
Our hosts were very friendly and we started our day with
a beautiful breakfast.
The accomodation was first class and spotless.
What more could we ask for.

Stephen and Lesley Buckley.
Spring Cottage Guest House.

I know we never mentioned it, but all the best and thank you.

  • Liked — friendly, clean and good food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stephenCheadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2008

My now Fiance and I spent a weekend in Edinburgh and had a lovely stay at the Lindsay. The rooms are spotless and well maintained, breakfasts are great and Keith and Pamela gave us a great welcome. If you want any local info then ask Keith - he knows his stuff!! Though you need to practice your 'cutting in' Keith !!! (joke)
cheers
Jon and Clare - Liverpool

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonsco72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.2 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#101 of 392 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#35 of 392 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dorstan Guest House
Dorstan Guest House
#67 of 392 in Edinburgh
179 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 392 in Edinburgh
750 reviews
3.1 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#41 of 392 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindsay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindsay Guest House

Property: Lindsay Guest House
Address: 108 Polwarth Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 1NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindsay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindsay Guest house is a red sandstone Victorian listed building of great character. Located in the highly desirable Merchiston area it is on an excellent bus route which takes 10 - 15 minutes to make the journey to the city centre. For the more energetic it is possible to walk along the Union canal to the city centre (approx 30 minutes). Car parking available. (No cost) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindsay Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing