We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the Lindsay Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindsay Guest House
Ranked #75 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My stay at the Lindsay Guest House”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay with Keith and Pamela at the Lindsay. The house is stunning and the couple were ever so friendly and helpful. From the banter at the breakfast table to their knowledge of the City, they seem to know exactly the places that their guests would like to see. The standard of service and cleanliness is outstanding.
Unfortunately my visit was cut short but if ever I find myself working in the area again I will definitely be calling to see if they have room for me!
I enjoyed the walks down the tow path of the canal but didn't get to see as much of the city as I would have liked. Local buses are very regular and good value, stopping very close to the Lindsay.

Room Tip: The only reason my sleep quality was not excellent was because I was working nights so sleeping duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindsayEdinburgh, Owner at Lindsay Guest House, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Trevor
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Very much appreciated.
If you are ever in our area again we would be please to see you.

Keith Jeffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    34
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
112
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at this lovely welcoming guest house for 1 night. We didn't know the area at all and Keith was very knowledgeable not just about the local area but further afield which was very useful, including nice places to eat.

My partner and I stayed in Room No 3 and it was absolutely lovely. Surrounded by beautiful furniture, the room was extremely large with a very comfortable bed. The ensuite was very modern, clean and included everything we required.

Breakfast was very nice and would highly recommend this guest house for the above reasons as well as it is on a bus route that takes you right into the city in just a few minutes.

We will definitely stay here again when we visit next year.

Many thanks for your warmth, humour and hospitality at a very reasonable cost. We felt right at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindsayEdinburgh, Owner at Lindsay Guest House, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellant review. We would be pleased to welcome you any time you are in our area again.

Regards

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed over the New Year period the house was really quiet and a haven around the madness of the celebrations on the city. Pamela and Keith were so accommodating and helpful, they couldn't have done enough to ensure our stay was pleasant. Keith even offered to lend us some change for the bus (Pamela had cleaned him out again!). Both asked us our plans for the day and then told us some extra bits and pieces we should do to maximise our day. Pamela works for Scottish Tourism and is well clued up on the locality. Nice walk down the canal to the city centre and a 10 minute bus journey. Breakfast was fab excellent selection, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindsayEdinburgh, Owner at Lindsay Guest House, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello Andrew

Thank you for reviewing Lindsay Guest House. We very much appreciate it.
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and also your meal at one of our favourite little restaurants.

Best wishes

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Three years since I last stayed with Keith and Pamela.
Like returning home!
Lovely experience, highly recommended if your passing this way.
You will be well looked after and very handy for city centre. Lovely walk into town along the canal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindsayEdinburgh, Owner at Lindsay Guest House, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Neil

Happy New Year. Thank you for taking the time to place your review. It was good to see you again, as well as Jackie on this occassion.

Best wishes.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

having just stayed at the Lindsay guest house on arrival we were warmly welcomed and informed of buses, walks, places to visit etc. breakfast was very nice. our room, no4, was of a nice size with good storage, however the bed was extremely uncomfortable and shower area a bit mouldy, just a couple of minor points really but our overall say was nice. perhaps a general refurb and tidy up is needed but nothing drastic to spoil the character of a lovely house.

Room Tip: rooms to rear avoid the main road to the front, rear rooms have a nice view of canal and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redland City, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Looking for a good B&B in Edinburgh, this it it. Close to public transport into Edinburgh. Good sized room with great bathroom. Breakfast was well done. Great pub just down the road, look it up "The Kilted Pig. Our host Keith was helpful with heaps of local knowledge. Off street parking so close to the city was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sssmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A family run Victorian guesthouse by Keith and Pam who are very friendly and helpful to visitors.

Located at Colinton, the guesthouse is just few minutes away from Edinburgh City Centre and with easy access to the international airport, motorway, and other regional attractions. The guesthouse is also conveniently within walking distance to a bus stop with routes going to and from city centre. A nearby pub is also handy for a drink or evening meals.

The rooms are high ceiling and spacious. Decor baroque. Furnishings good. Housekeeping very good. Daily breakfast also good. The guesthouse has ample parking spaces ideal for visitors traveling with car. WiFi also available and free.

Obviously book early during peak season such as August during the Edinburgh festival. We stayed for two weeks and would certainly use it again.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onbarefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.3 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
168 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gladstone House
Gladstone House
#84 of 392 in Edinburgh
106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#34 of 392 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#96 of 392 in Edinburgh
46 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cluaran Guest House
Cluaran Guest House
#120 of 392 in Edinburgh
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindsay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindsay Guest House

Property: Lindsay Guest House
Address: 108 Polwarth Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 1NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindsay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindsay Guest house is a red sandstone Victorian listed building of great character. Located in the highly desirable Merchiston area it is on an excellent bus route which takes 10 - 15 minutes to make the journey to the city centre. For the more energetic it is possible to walk along the Union canal to the city centre (approx 30 minutes). Car parking available. (No cost) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Lindsay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindsay Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing